skip navigation
Alfred Hitchcock

Alfred Hitchcock

  • Under Capricorn (1949, September 27 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Strangers On A Train (1951, September 27 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • North By Northwest (1959, September 27 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Lady Vanishes, The (1938, October 04 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Mr. and Mrs. Smith (1941, October 06 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Alfred Hitchcock Radio Special.

    • Geoff Roberts
    • 2013-10-30

    Please forgive me if this isn't the right place to share this information. I just wanted TCM viewers and fans of Alfred Hitchcock to know that there is a 30 minute radio special on the life/career of Hitchcock airing Ocober 31st @ 4p.m. Eastern. It contains contributions from Ken Mogg who wrote the Alfred Hitchcock Story and created the MacGuffin Web site and Seattle film critic Sara Michelle Fetters. You can listen in at whistleradio.ca for the live stream. If you saw this posting after Oct. 31st it will be in podcast form indefinitely at whistleradio.ca/shows/front-row-centre 48 hrs after initial airing. Thanks for allowing me to share this information with your viewers.

  • Alfred Hitchcock

    • John
    • 2013-08-07

    Range-4/5 Influence/Legacy-5/5 Well Regarded in Private Life-3/5 Risk Taker or Innovator-5/5

  • Ultimate Class

    • Hillary
    • 2013-06-11

    Hitchcock movies have so much class, you don't see that anymore since then. The actors were larger than life, the clothes impeccable, the women perfectly coiffed, the men prefectly groomed with gorgeous suits with texture you could almost feel. Grace Kelly was the epitome of class. If you would like to see original stunning decoupage wine bottles covered in photos of Hitchcock movies please look here https://www.etsy.com/listing/119642302/original-hitchcock-movie-art-decoupage

  • greatest filmmaker ever

    • urmila
    • 2012-12-28

    I would just like to say oe thing dat is " hes the god of films" and no in world has power of thinking and imagination like him....he makes sure that his audience dosent loose their attention for even one second while watching his movie...

  • Simply the Best

    • Whippersnapper
    • 2010-05-18

    My favourite director, and certainly today we can see why. But i just absolutely dread how unappreciated Hitchcock was in his own time, nominated for the coveted Best Director Oscar 5 times and never won.....plus only one of his films (Suspicion) was ever nominated for Best Picture. Many of his films in my opinion surpass Suspicion in quality and brilliance, yet he never got the respect he so truely deserves. He is in my opinion, the greatest director ever to set foot behind a camera, and furthermore his films are all some of my favourites. The master of suspense was a true genious, artist, and innovator, and like all great talents he surrounded himself with only the best in other branches of film. He pushed (or prodded, as you would to cattle) career defining preformances out of much of his actors. And inspires so many modern filmakers, yet none achieve his excellence.

  • I love all Hitchcock films

    • Adam Emory
    • 2009-06-15

    Alfred Hitchcock is my favorite director. He was truely the Master Of Suspense. My personal favorite Hitchcock film even though I love all of them is Rear Window. This film has meant so much to me over the years. Jimmy Stewart and Cary Grant are my favorite actors and I think it was wonderful that Hitchcock used them so frequently four times each to be exact. In closing however I think it was a crime that Hitchcock even though he was nominated 5 times for an Academy Award he never won.

  • Truly a Master

    • Patty
    • 2008-10-04

    During his lifetime he was called "The Master of Suspense," but Hitchcock was so much more. "Rebecca," even with Selznick's meddling, is a wonderful mystery romance. "Foreign Correspondent," for all it's intrigue and adventure, is also quite clever and, at times, very amusing. "Notorious" is, I think, under-rated. It's one of his very best, start to finish, and reveals a facet of the range and talent of Cary Grant seen nowhere else. "Shadow of a Doubt" and "Strangers on a Train" seem curiously related - probably because Hitchcock put a similar villain at the center of each, the creepily charming psychopathic killer. Hitchcock hit his stride in Technicolor in the 1950's: "Rear Window" and "North by Northwest" were glossy and enthralling - neither has lost its luster over time. Even "To Catch a Thief" is a nicely crafted light romp. With Cary Grant and Grace Kelly who could resist? "Vertigo," though, is the masterpiece of this Hitchcock period. It's so strange, so complex and so completely mesmerizing. And then, in 1960, came "Psycho." Black and white, with only one bankable star who is brutally murdered early on, it is stark and shattering and gave birth to the "horror" genre. To emphasize his broad talent, I don't want to leave out Hitchcock's one comedy, a screwball comedy, "Mr. & Mrs. Smith," 1941(Carole Lombard, Robt. Montgomery). It's a delight and I can only imagine he'd be up there with Hawks and Sturges if he'd decided to concentrate on comedy. Hitchcock is the master's master.

  • Hitchcock The Master Film Director

    • Steve Burrus
    • 2008-08-02

    Yes Alfred Hitchcock was truly one of the masters in the whole field of Hollywood movie directing!!! I have been reading a biography on Hitchcock entitled "Alfred Hitchcock, Between Darkness and Light" or something to that effect. It is quite amazing to realize that he started his directing career back in the British silent movie era then after the so-called "talkies" came to Hollywood he did too in 1939. And wouldn't you know it, the first movie that he directed in America "Rebecca" won the Oscar for "Best Movie" or "Best Production" as they used to call it back in those days. And to this day it remains quite curious that he never actually won the "Best Director" Oscar as many times that he was nominated for it. Go figure. :)

  • The greatest!!

    • JSFan
    • 2007-05-23

    I am glad the world has known the one and only Alfred Hitchcock, without him we wouldn't have some of the greatest films ever made and the most inspiring, influential, referenced movies ever! IMO, "Vertigo" IS his masterpiece, and to that, I give thanks!

  • THE GREATEST FILMMAKER.

    • KEITH EVANS
    • 2007-01-25

    In my opinion, there is no one who made the kind of movies the way he his. His abilities to make audience enjoy what they are seeing and squrm a little at the same time. He is the greatest filmmaker who ever lived.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.