skip navigation
Charlton Heston

Charlton Heston

  • Ben-Hur (1959, April 18 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • MGM: When the Lion Roars, Part III: The Lion in Winter (1992, April 19 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Greatest Story Ever Told, The (1965, April 20 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Greatest Story Ever Told, The (1965, April 25 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • 55 Days At Peking (1963, June 16 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A GREAT ALL TIME ACTOR

    • Shahed A
    • 2013-10-06

    One of the greatest actors of all time, be it Biblical, Western or Action Films. Would have been 90 Years old this 4th October 2013. I have a collection of most of the movies and they don't make 'em like they used to...

  • three violent persons

    • sandra
    • 2011-03-01

    I am looking for a movie and I think charleston heston played the lead role. I can't remmember the name of the movie, but he sent off for a bride and he wanted her to be a virgin, but later found out she had been married before, was that Heston?

  • Charlton Heston

    • Martin Hart
    • 2011-01-02

    I had been a big fan of Charlton Heston since my grandparents took me to see "The Greatest Show on Earth". I didn't know his name but that circus manager really impressed me as a five year old kid. In 2000, I had the pleasure of meeting Heston and his wife Lydia at a showing of "Ben-Hur". I've never met a more gracious and giving celebrity in my life. Charlton Heston was a class act all the way. Whether or not you agreed with his politics, there's no denying that he was really one of the good guys.

  • Charlton Heston

    • Cher
    • 2010-04-27

    Just because I don't agree with a person's politics, I would never let that stop me from viewing really good performances.Always admired his work in "Ben Hur", "Will Penny", "The Ten Commandments" and "El Cid".To name but a few.Loved those epics.

  • THE GREATEST ACTOR OF ALL TIME!!!!!!!!

    • Hrvoje Domić
    • 2009-08-03

    To me, Charlton Heston was the GREATEST OF THEM ALL. I know that a lot of people won't agree with me, but I don't really care. His movies are AMAZING & EDUCATIONAL. Love "Ben-Hur, The Ten Commandments, El Cid, The Greatest Show On Earth, Soylent Green...." He deserved to be nominated for more Oscars. So, THANK YOU FOR ALL THOSE MOVIES.

  • Perfection

    • Nadine
    • 2009-07-23

    Why can't we some of Chuck's classics, such as "The President's Lady, "Lucy Gallant" on TCM ??

  • One of my Favorite Actors

    • Donna
    • 2009-07-20

    Charleton Heston was an extremely great actor.I still watch his old movies all the time, especially Ben-Hur. In my book, he will always be remembered as one of the greatest actors that ever lived. As far as his political views, everyone has a right to their own beliefs, which may or may not be pleasing to others.I loved him as an actor and always will.

  • Moving Right Along

    • NJMB
    • 2009-04-30

    Backwards is backwards. That's the direction I experienced Heston's life going, both on and off screen. Gving the devil his due, I think he may have meant well enough but couldn't comprehend the dangerous consequences that came from using his former fame for political profiteering. We parted ways at that point and I will not be going backwards.

  • A Welcomed Silence

    • DavidaH
    • 2009-04-29

    We used to block Heston so that our family couldn't hear or watch him. Fortunately, his films and politics haven't passed the test of time. Thus, his absence is a most welcomed silence.

  • Holier Than Thou

    • 1899bogie1957
    • 2009-04-27

    Even my grandmother can't stand his films because Heston's hypocrisy's too much to sit through. Maybe in old Hollywood there were audiences for his type of acting one way then doing another. His and Gibson's junk can get packed into the same box and shipped on a slow boat to the Orient. Maybe they'll fall for it there. But not here. Not now.

  • Unimpressive Might Without A Mind

    • GeorgiaR
    • 2009-04-26

    Big money in the hands of big production companies tried to make big men bigger than they were in life. Heston was part of that illusion. All the producers' scenery, all the directors' fancy foot work, all the camera crew's angles & lighting couldn't 'rope-a-dope' enough of us to be bothered with theirs or his epics of organized religious myths. His movies attracted the back woods, fearful men who believe what they're told to believe. Those into might instead of mind. Ho hum doldrums, packaged for popularity. Not fooled by it.

  • "Earthquake"

    • Justin
    • 2009-04-21

    Don't forget Chucks disaster flick "Earthquake" from 1974 with Lorne Greene, Ava Gardner, Lloyd Nolan, Victoria Princeple, etc....A great disaster movie up there with "The Towering Inferno" and "The Poseiden Adventure"...Keep up the good work, love Turner Classic Movies

  • Thanks for NOT Broadcasting Heston Often

    • ASingerSings
    • 2009-04-14

    Guess that once a year "Ben Hur" has to be given a nod (for some reason). It's terrific not to have to switch TCM off when Heston comes on, because he rarely does. Gratefully. His silence and absence is a pleasure.

  • PERFECTION

    • Anthony
    • 2008-07-09

    A God among Men and he will be missed...

  • King of Epic Film

    • Nadine
    • 2008-06-16

    Charlton Heston had an amazing career looking back, with many epic well-remembered films. One of my favorites though was The Naked Jungle, he and Eleanor Parker had excellent chemistry. He will be missed.

  • God bless you, Mr Heston

    • DHarrison
    • 2008-04-13

    Thank you for portraying characters with values and for giving us a better sense of life and the world around us. Ben Hur was the first non-antimated movie I ever saw, but it made an impression on me that lives on to this day. I had an opportunity to very briefly meet the manin 1995, to get my copy of "In the Arena" autographed. Although we were told not to engage him in conversation, I was able to say that much and was pleased to see that, for a moment, he was real. I will hold that as one of life's pleasant memories. Thoughts and prayers go to your family, but you are with God now. Thank you!

  • Charlton Heston

    • Rhonda Carsten
    • 2008-04-12

    A wonderful actor, a wonderful man. I once met Mr. Heston and he was most gracious. What a great voice.

  • Great Actor

    • Sheryl Morgan
    • 2008-04-12

    I just love him. I haven't seen all of his movies, but my favorite is "The presidents Lady", and "Ben-Hur". I hope to see more in the future. Sorry to see him go. Sheryl Morgan

  • A Truly Great Actor

    • Parker
    • 2008-04-10

    I have always liked Charlton Heston and I cannot remember one movie or performance on tv that I did not enjoy his presence. A great personality!

  • Charlton Heston

    • Barb Lombardo
    • 2008-04-10

    The world has lost another great legendary actor. Mr. Heston was a class act. He will be remembered for his many films, and for his roles he took outside of the acting world.

  • ONE OF MY TOP TEN

    • Wayne Ward
    • 2008-04-09

    Heston was a classy guy. He made some of the most memorable movies and performed some of his best roles in the 50's and 60's. His best performance ever was "Will Penny". I've watched his movies many times over and I will continue to do so. He's one performer that I never get tired of and never will. Although he was no longer acting, he will be missed very much.

  • Truly A Legend

    • RUBY O'QUINN
    • 2008-04-08

    Hollywood has lost a great actor. He was one of my favorite actors of all time. I'm a true classic movie buff and he was one of the last of the great ones. The Ten Commandments was my favorite one of all time. He was outstanding.

  • Heston's Outstanding Ethics and Passion

    • Brenda Aucutt
    • 2008-04-07

    Charlton Heston, in his "Private Screenings" interview, 1998, through Turner Classic Movies, is at the top of his game. He manages to be candid about his efforts, in saying "no actor has ever done a perfect performance." Yet, Mr. Heston is realistic and pleased in his depiction of many great men. I had the pleasure of shaking Charlton Heston's hand at his book signing for "The Actor's Life", in Dayton's, downtown Minneapolis in the late 1970's. I thanked him sincerely for all the work he had done to enhance the lives of so many viewers. I cannot effectively relay the look in his eyes after my comment. He had heard me, and now, after he's gone, I'm grateful to have had that opportunity. May God hold Charlton Heston in the palm of His hand.

  • Charlton Heston

    • Mel
    • 2008-04-07

    I will truly miss Chuck Heston. I've watched his movies since I was a child. He carried himself with such grace and authority. He was truly a man of integrity, a patriot, and a man of God. I pray that the Lord will comfort his family and friends in their time of loss. Mel

  • charlton heston

    • lynda barclay
    • 2008-04-07

    i love to see this man play. i was so shocked about his death. i hope you will play lots of his movies in honor of him. thankyou, lynda

  • charlton heston

    • lynda barclay
    • 2008-04-07

    i love to see this man play. i was so shocked about his death. i hope you will play lots of his movies in honor of him. thankyou, lynda

  • R.I.P. Moses from Ten Commandents

    • Jeff Anderson
    • 2008-04-06

    I do have lot of respect for great one Moses Charlton Heston. I following his career from my time(1965)until that day he died. He had very remarkable work of actor and perfect roles as Mose and Ben Hur. No one can not be replaces like Charlton Heston ever know. I didn't know how's tough he was when he was in NAFTA to say "In My dead cold hand" when he held rifle. He had lot of courageous careers in his own times. We do love him as greatest actor of all time.

  • Charlton Heston

    • Craig Brewster
    • 2008-04-06

    Good Bye to one of the best actors. Many memories moses, Major Dundee, Plant of the Apes. We have movies to remember by.

  • Farewell Dear Dear MR Heston

    • reazoniam@yahoo.com
    • 2008-04-06

    Now that you have entered the pearly gates and met the savior, and other saints, Have you and Old Moses laughed yet about how you and he were "twins"? God Bless You and Be with you beloved family and fans as we adjust to your physical loss!

  • ONE OF MY FAVORITE ACTORS

    • Kathy
    • 2008-04-02

    Charlton Heston has always been a favorite of mine. He makes me forget that I'm watching a movie he does his job so well. He is such an amazing man. I only wish TCM would schedule the movie The President's Lady he made in 1953 with Susan Hayward. I was just a kid the first time I saw it and would love to see it again.

  • Wonderful man

    • Brando4ever
    • 2007-08-11

    He's not only an amazing actor but such a sweet, generous loving man. I really look up to and respect him.

  • one of my favorite actor

    • jey
    • 2007-02-13

    to me heston is a great actor. i thought he can only do heroism but vow! he also proved himself playing anti roles. hats of to you.

  • one of the top 5 actors/movie stars of all time

    • jim busher
    • 2006-09-01

    great actor & man - has perhaps the greatest resume in movies, even greater than john wayne's. i don't recall tcm giving him a month. this man should be honored by hollywood & tcm while he is still with us.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.