skip navigation
Louis Hayward

Louis Hayward

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Agree He Is Fav Actor with Basil Rathbone

    • Hayward
    • 2013-08-09

    I agree with Hannah,love these 2 So Africa-born actors and love Feather In Her Hat cuz both are in it.Doesn't bother me if he hd relationship with anyone in show biz,he didn't act superior to anyone and he should've been able to admit to being with anyone he chose.Thought him a gentleman.

  • The Scarlet Pimpernel and Other Things

    • Barry Lane
    • 2013-02-20

    Louis Hayward did not do The Scarlet Pimpernel. Both Son of Monte Cristo and Pirates of Capri have some elements but other than Leslie Howard, Barry K. Barnes, David Niven and Marius Goring all had a run at the part. In 1982 Anthony Andrews seemed at home opposite Jane Seymour. Now, about Louis and Noel, Repetition of gossip does not make it so. I am pretty certain you did not know these people, but I knew one of them, Louis Hayward, and I can assure you this is inaccurate and inappropriate. Not only that, but the source is certainly not Noel, who was if anything, discreet. His acolytes, Graham Payne and Cole Lesley, not so much, but nothing like the Barry Day crowd, slanting and interpreting to suit their preconceptions. The pictures are a lot of fun. Treasure them. No need to have a go at personal places.

  • Love Louis Hayward

    • Hannah
    • 2012-11-22

    He is my second favorite actor of all time, after Basil Rathbone, and my absolute fave film is A Feather in Her Hat which stars them both. They are both fantastic in it too. One thing I have to add is anyone who thinks less of Louis because of his gay relationship with Noel Coward, or tries to "defend" him by denying it, is not being respectful IMO. You don't have to defend him, because it's not an "allegation." Louis' love affair with Noel is just a fact of his life and his fans should all be happy for him.

  • Louis Hayward as the Scarlet Pimpernel

    • Ray Grubbe
    • 2011-12-29

    When I was a child, Louis Haward was my favorite actor. Does anyone know why the filmographies listed in IMDB.com and TCM.com do not list The Scarlet Pimpernel? Why is is not shown on Turner Classic Movies?

  • My favorite actor ever!

    • Chels
    • 2011-07-04

    Louis Hayward was such an amazing man and actor! I have only seen one movie to date of his that I haven't fallen in love with and that was The Rage Of Paris. I have become such a great fan that I even made a fanpage for Louis on facebook! www.facebook.com/ pages/Louis-Hayward -Fans/308644440078 I love to find tons of photos to add to the page so there's a great big selection! My favorite film will always be And Then There Were None but I also really loved The Son Of Monte Cristo and Dance, Girl Dance!

  • Hayward fans

    • Patricia
    • 2011-02-05

    Hi, Christina: Did you find out any more about your relationship to Louis Hayward? Are you related to the Little family (Louis' mother)? I represent a group of Hayward fans who enjoy sharing info and opinions about Louis. If interested, contact me at pat.roberts2534@att.net.

  • hayward

    • christina
    • 2010-12-14

    my dad told me i am related to louis hayward distant cousin or something i will try and find out some info and pic.

  • Little-known but suave actor

    • Annabelle
    • 2009-07-26

    Louis Hayward is one of my favorite actors too. I remember watching And Then There Were None (1945) for the first time and staring at him on the TV and thinking "He is so classy and sexy...like James Bond." which he indeed was. He even played the detective "the Saint" in a few movies actually. He was a talented actor and though he frequently acted in B-movies his acting elevated them. In my opinion, he gives the performance of his life in Fritz Lang's gothic gem House by the River (1950).

  • Louis Hayward was born at Seafied Grant.

    • Wendy
    • 2008-11-30

    My father-in-law was born at Seafield Grant. That was not a aka....this oversight is annoying.

  • Louis Hayward Biography

    • Patricia
    • 2008-07-30

    I completely agree with Karen. Trying to find biographical info on LH is like putting together a puzzle, and you are not sure which pieces fit (i.e. what is true or not true). I wish someone who knew him would write a good biography (with lots of pictures). He led an interesting but very private life.

  • My favorite actor

    • Patricia
    • 2008-07-27

    Handsome and charming, Louis Hayward is my all-time favorite actor.

  • Louis Hayward is superb!

    • Tootles O'Reily
    • 2008-04-24

    Louis Hayward is also one of my favorite actors and I would like to see more of his films on TCM. I have 'And Then There Were None' (1945)on VHS and must have watched it at least a hundred times. No kidding. I play solitare and watch the movie late at night. As much as I like author Agatha Christie, Rene Claire's movie version of her book 'And Then There Were None' is far superior to the actual book and Hayward, supported by an outstanding cast, is superb.

  • Louis Hayward.....my favorite !!!

    • Peggy
    • 2007-08-22

    Louis Hayward has always been my favorite actor....especially in films like The Scarlet Pimpernel......and The Man in The Iron Mask......He was sexy and down to earth and very believable in all the rolls he played.....I cannot believe it is so hard to find old movies in which he stars!!!

  • Louis Hayward

    • Karen
    • 2007-08-16

    Yeah, what Allison said too!

  • Louis Hayward, Actor, Marine & Director

    • Karen
    • 2007-08-16

    Would like to have had more information on this actor and a PHOTO! I found some info in other places, but it is like putting together the pieces of a puzzle. It's hard to believe there is so little information on Mr. Hayward. I have a hard time believing he was so forgettable, especially by women.

  • what an actor!

    • allyson
    • 2007-06-21

    this man is so underrated as an actor and so under-appreciated! He was a highly decorated war hero, as well. I wish more people knew his name, and I wish that there was a biography on him, as he is such a colorful character! "The Man in the Iron Mask" is perhaps his best acted role, though he is equally enjoyable in "And Then There Were None". Handsome, debonair and utterly sexy, this man should get his own biography!

  • underrated

    • donna albertsen
    • 2007-01-31

    Super forgotten actor. Enjoyable viewing of his films from 1935 to early 50`s. More of him please on TCM

  • Louis Hayward

    • Bob Darkey
    • 2006-11-21

    Dear Sirs, I enjoy seeing Louis Hayward. Could you please try to have more of his old films shown on TCM in the future? Many Thanks.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.