skip navigation
Stewart Granger

Stewart Granger

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • scaramouche

    • harry
    • 2013-06-28

    I missed it. hope it plays again soon

  • I miss the good clean movies

    • Nancy Waller
    • 2013-05-06

    Stewart Granger was just on TCM in "King Solomon's Mines" and though I missed it, I have seen it many times and would watch it again. How I love TCM for showing the "old" movies. I remember that I could not see "Gone With the Wind" because it had a "bad" word in it. Of course, I was only 5, so it wouldn't have enjoyed it as much as I did when I was 25. Stewart Granger managed to make acting effortless and was a gentleman. Loved him.

  • A Man's Man

    • Carl
    • 2012-11-21

    Stewart Granger was undoubtedly the premier leading man of the costumers of the 40's and 50's. He was more at home in an 18th century wardrobe than a modern day suit. His Scaramouche is still the ultimate sword fighting movie with a spectacular climax. Prisoner of Zenda is far superior to Ronald Coleman's earlier effort, and much prettier. Gun Glory, Green Fire, Bowani Junction, Salome, Beau Brummel, King Solomon's Mine, and Moonfleet team him with the most beautiful leading ladies of the screen. In his autobiography, Sparks Fly Upward, he tells of how he got the look on Grace Kelly's face in the final scene of Green Fire. He had an affair in the early 40's with Deborah Kerr while in his first marriage. Ironically they starred together in several great movies after they both came the US. He tells of an afternoon with Hedy Lammar in a New York Hotel that did not go well (you have to read the book.) Ava Gardner would call him from her Paris home when she was drunk and near the end of her life and remember earlier days. He and Mike Todd were great friends and they were married to beautiful women, Liz Tayler and Jean Simmons. They also became enemies of Howard Hughes which ultimately did great harm to his career. Lawrence Olivie and Vivian Leigh were very close friends from their days at Rank Films in the 40's, and he starred with her in Cleopatra. His voice, profile, and stature, make modern day male stars look almost effiminate.

  • Stewart Granger, Actor, Husband, Father

    • Trish
    • 2011-06-22

    I loved watching Stewart Granger as an actor, a mans man, as well as extremely handsome from a Woman's point of view. It's sad that his marriages did not complete the destiny they were meant to be. Actor's lives are challenged from the get go and it's hard to deal with when two are in the same industry. That goes for anyone in the limelight doing commercials, radio, TV, you name it. There is always one upmanship. jealousy or just plain stupidity... when you deal with the media and try to live a normal life which is not in the norm, no matter how hard you try, it is a true challenge! Adoring friends who are really not, but like to be associated with the hipe! The women/men who find you attractive want to break up the life you strive so hard to achieve, because they want a piece of the action. I admire the Paul Neuman's, Hestons, Hopes, and I'm sure I'm missing quite a few others that lasted. It's amazing, must have been a lot of give and take. My Mom will be 99 and it's hard to believe that Stewart would have been 90 had he lived and Jean died at 80. I think they were electric on the screen- that was carisma personified. Age has no barriers/boundaries, if you love someone for every quality they possess when you get married. Keeping it, with all of the obstacles, is a real test.

  • finding stewart granger

    • virginia white
    • 2011-06-10

    dear kind friends i totally agree he is a great actor and very handsome and they need more like him he could be very romantic and still have morals for him self and the lady he was with in the movies. and i think they need a lot more of that in movies now. of course that will never happen all of the good ones like him are gone and the future of good actors and good films went with him and ones like ray milland cary grant, james stewarts and gary cooper and of course john wayne and alan ladd. and i read some where they were going to do a marathon on stewart granger in july i hope it is right wow stewart granger. a friend virginia

  • liking stewart granger

    • virginia white
    • 2011-04-11

    i think stewart was a very good actor and i loved watching him in his older films i like him better as a good guy though he was to good looking to play a bad guy and so i search around for all his good guy film i read he was to be honored in july would it be possible to get a list of his movies that they will be showing then. its a shame they don't have good actors like and others on the screen anymore i could keep it up with more on stewart but i guess i better close with this sincerely virginia

  • Hound Of The Baskervilles

    • Queen Patty
    • 2011-01-24

    He was the only actor besides Basil Rathbone that could play Sherlock! I really wish that this would be made available on DVD or at least show it on television! He was great in The Hound Of The Baskervilles.

  • sexy and intelligent

    • M.C.O.
    • 2010-04-02

    Jimmy was so confident and self-assured without being conceited. He was also very funny. Try to get "adam and evelyne" (1949) The first film he made with Jean Simmons. Beau Brummel was great but a sad ending. To see his comical side check out "North To Alaska" (1960) The last film he made in America.But, if nothing else get to see "King Solomon's Mines" (1950) his first film in America. You'll get weak kneed. The man was gorgeous!....

  • excellent actor

    • Donna
    • 2009-12-29

    not given enough credit for being an excellent actor just because he is tall dark and handsome people can't get past that and see what a good actor he is and the different expressions displayed on his face when called for

  • MORE!

    • Paula Neel
    • 2009-08-15

    Please make more of his movies available on DVD - would love to have Gun Glory, Beau Brummell - all of them. He was a wonderful romantic actor - very much underrated.

  • WHO NEEDS FLYNN WHEN YOU CAN WATCH GRANGER!!!

    • Roberta Gansz
    • 2009-08-06

    I first saw Stewart Granger in King Solomon's Mines and have been in love ever since. TCM needs to show more of his wonderful escape films, they don't make them like that now, romantic adventure fantasies.. Blanche Fury an old English romantic film should be aired people would love it , I read the blogs and everyone seemed to enjoy these historical films.

  • New Discovery

    • Jenny Curtis
    • 2009-08-03

    As a lover of historical fiction and romantic adventure, I loved the movies of Stewart Granger. Thanks to TCM for showcasing one of the great stars of the fifties whose talent I believe has been greatly underrated.

  • Last of the Great Swashbucklers

    • Melinda Robertson
    • 2009-08-03

    He was a true movie star in every sense of the word, but, as a drama and film teacher, I think he was greatly underappreciated as an actor. He was the last great actor in a classic American movie genre, the swashbuckling adventure, made so popular by the great Douglas Fairbanks Sr., Douglas Fairbanks Jr., and Errol Flynn. Those lips, those eyes, but most of all that voice!!!!

  • Lasting Ability

    • Donna Graham
    • 2009-07-21

    I first saw Stewart Granger in King Solomons Mines and I was 13 I fell in love with him as everyone did. Found him again on TV and fell in love all over again 60 years later

  • stewart granger: debonoir swashbuckler

    • robet beatty
    • 2009-07-08

    stewart granger the movie star heir to errol flynn of the 1950's. granger was tall, virile, handsome with a deep british voice who appeared in action films, swashbucklers and westerns. among his best films are "king solomon's mines", "scaramouche", "prisoner of zenda", "the last hunt", "all the brothers were valient", "salome" and "north to alaska". he was a good natural actor who became a popular mgm star of the 1950's.

  • One of the most sexiest actors in a long time

    • donnaj1014
    • 2008-07-11

    I watch his movies over and over and never tire of them

  • He would have made a good King

    • Irene Stawn
    • 2007-05-08

    Granger was the best "Prisoner of Zenda". This movie should be show often and to young people. It has adventure, sword fight and a lesson in loyalty.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.