skip navigation
Greer Garson

Greer Garson

  • Scandal at Scourie (1953, August 03 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Mrs. Parkington (1944, August 03 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Julius Caesar (1953, August 11 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • When Ladies Meet (1941, August 16 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Mrs. Miniver (1942, September 21 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • That Forsyte Woman (1949, October 02 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Greer Garson: Beautiful and Classy Lady

    • Michael Shea
    • 2014-06-26

    I bel;ieve that Greer Garson and Gene Tierney were the most beautriful and greatest actresses of the 1940's. I only wish that I could have met both of them. Their films were far different from each other, but they had an aura and class that couldn't be matched.

  • Filling in details on two earlier comments.

    • Leslie Fox
    • 2013-07-30

    One person asked why there were so many dates for her birth year (1904). Likely, that is because she was 'discovered' rather late compared to many of the stars of that Golden Age. She was already 35 in her first film in 1939 and 36 when she played a much younger ingenue in "Pride and Prejudice" with Olivier. No, unfortunately, Greer did not have any children. In a comment she made which appears in the biography by Michael Troyan, she uses the word "withheld" where she says that it would be ungrateful of her to complain about that which had been 'withheld' when so much had been given to her. You can read the comment at the end of the book in the last chapter, I believe. Obviously, the 'timing' never worked out. Her first marriage was a big mistake..but it was not until 1941 that she got an official divorce. By then she was at the height of her career - and that was also her ambition. When she married again, to Richard Ney, she was by then at the apex of her stardom..making film after film..and he was away at sea for 3 years. Also, this was in the mid-1940s near the end of what could be considered her natural childbearing time. The marriage fell apart shortly after his return and they divorced in 1947. By the time she married Buddy Fogelson in 1949 she was past childbearing age. In that era there was not the advanced reproductive medicine that we have today in 2013. The irony is that she played a mother with so many obvious maternal instincts in so many films. Interviewers often referred to that when they were speaking with her. Those continual references must have been difficult for her. Read the last chapter of Troyan's book. Recommended.

  • no more TCM!!!!!!!!!

    • margaret
    • 2012-12-26

    Television is not worth watching any more, now that TCM is no longer telecast in India.

  • Greer is tops!

    • Dar
    • 2012-02-02

    Greer Garson was a marvelous actress and it's good to see TCM is playing several of her movies this month. There are still a couple of her movies I haven't seen, but I own most of those that are out on DVD. It didn't seem to matter how bad the movie was, Greer was always good. I agree with those who have said that it would be nice if TCM would do an hour-long bio of Greer. She, along with Irene Dunne, Myrna Loy, and Deborah Kerr had such class and grace. Thank goodness we still have them on DVD!

  • Random Harvest

    • Monique K.
    • 2011-07-16

    I just saw Random Harvest for the first time last night and I am going on a Greer Garson marathon! I love her! She is such a warm, luminous actress. She's beautiful and you can't help but feel for her in this character. I see now why this is one of the one's my Grandmother highly recommended. What I can't understand is why I never saw it before! Now that I have it will always be a favorite and the movie that introduced me to one of the Golden Era's finest!

  • Greer!

    • Christine
    • 2011-02-11

    God I love Greer Garson! What a beauty, what an actress. I'm really enjoying TCM's tributes this week to Miss Garson. I've never seen an actress who can use her eyes to look so deeply into the souls of her co-stars. Truly amazing.

  • The Valley of Decision

    • Clarence
    • 2010-06-18

    This is my first experience of Greer Garson. I was captivated. Her beauty, acting and the character of Mary sealed the deal for me. To be so moved by her so many years after her demise is sad and wonderful.

  • Greer Garson (Erin B.C.)

    • Rebecca T.
    • 2010-03-30

    Erin, you became a fan of TCM while you were in middle school too? So did I. I used to watch some films with my grandmother, but I never knew the channel. I think it was in 8th grade when I started watching TCM actively and I also believe the first film I saw starred Greer Garson. She is one of my favorite actresses. I can't say favorite, because I've seen SO many different kinds of films. But, she's up in the top. She IS tops.

  • Greer Garson

    • Erin B.C.
    • 2010-02-25

    i also agree with Henriette. I became a fan of classic films and TCM when i was in the 6th grade. One reason for that was Greer Garson. Random Harvest was the 1st old movie i watch and i just fell in love with her. She then became my absolute favorite actress. Unfortunately, her films do not get played very often. In fact, i waited 5 years to see her film Adventure again. I would love for TCM to play her movies and would defintely love to see a biography for her.

  • Second Henriette's suggestion

    • Paula
    • 2009-10-06

    Amen, Henriette! A tribute show to Greer Garson such as the ones that have been done for Bette Davis and Myrna Loy would be so welcome!! Greer was such a beautiful, talented, gracious LADY, such a show would be most appreciated.

  • A Program Presenting Greer Garson's Biography

    • Henriette
    • 2009-10-04

    I adopted Greer Garson as my favorite actress some time ago. In my opinion she is the epitome of graciousness, beauty, talent, and gentility. In addition from what I have read or heard said of her, she also combined all of the above with a generous spirit and generousity of her material wealth. Also there can be no doubt that she is sexually appealing as evidenced by the many men who have taken the trouble to write moving comments about her, and my own litmus test - my husband will watch a Greer Garson movie with me, without changing the channel. She obviously was, and still is beloved by many. It would be a wonderful tribute to her, and a delight to her admirers if TCM were to have a special presentation of a full biography of this memorable actress.

  • i agree with kthomas

    • yvonne
    • 2009-09-12

    please show more of her fims and show more than once a week show the same movie at different times and days of the week month u get the picture ha ha

  • any thing she did was wonderful in

    • yvonne
    • 2009-09-12

    she was alway a lady in film and in this movie u fall in love with her all over again

  • She was the best

    • kthomas
    • 2009-07-09

    Please schedule more of her films. Never get tired of seeing her in any movie.

  • GREER GARSON

    • SUNSHINE
    • 2009-07-01

    SHE IS A WONDERFUL ACTRESS. I LOVE WATCHING EVERY MOVIE SHE'S IN.

  • A Real Class(ic) Act(or)

    • JemimaR
    • 2009-06-23

    Mrs. Miniver, Goodbye, Mr. Chips, Random Harvest, Scandal at Scourie...just to mention a few of Greer Garson's films that she held the lead in. Wow! Very impressive. Not only was she lovely and seemingly sweet and kind, Greer Garson was a fabulous actor. I could listen to her speaking voice all day long, there's something so soothing about it. I love the types of women she chose to portray. Her characters had a great influence over how women were viewed. "Random Harvest" is still my favorite of Garson's.

  • Noble Grace and Charm

    • DrMD
    • 2009-06-08

    I'm glad to see that "Random Harvest," starring Greer Garson and Ronald Colman is programmed to be on TCM this month. It's one of my favorite classics. I could argue this one into a film preservation batch if I had to! It's the end of WWI on the night a wounded veteran (Colman) who's lost his memory simply walks out of an asylum during the mayhem of the victory celebration in the streets. A gorgeous bar entertainer (Garson) finds him and recognizes his need. She takes him under her wing, they fall in love, have a son, and Colman goes off to the city for a job interview. While crossing the street he's struck by a vehicle and regains his older memory but forgets his newer one. So the rest of the film's about Garson and Colman finding each other. Oh the acting, what a marvel, this is an exquisite Greer Garson film. She'll pair up with Colman for "Mrs. Miniver" and win an Oscar for Best Actress. If any woman actor can get under my skin, its Greer Garson. She always seems like a natural in every part.

  • another comment for the Duchess

    • April
    • 2009-05-16

    for the comment listed before this, I think the one who commented meant, "Walter Pidgeon" rather than "Ronald Colman" But nevertheless, she is right! Greer is a talented actress, and even though she starred in some flops, her acting ability was appreciated!

  • A Very Classy Leading Lady

    • My_Mahalo
    • 2009-04-05

    Greer Garson didn't have to use her sex appeal to become known as a great actor. When she won her Oscar for the title role of "Mrs. Miniver" (1942), the only part of her persona she needed to rely upon was her magnificent acting ability. Given that she & Ronald Colman co-starred in several very successful films, there as a special on-screen romantic chemistry that they could project. I wish TCM would diversify the Greer Garson films they air. Aloha

  • The One I'd Like to Have Known

    • Grouix
    • 2009-04-01

    Of all the leading ladies from the golden era in films, Greer Garson is the one I'd like to have known well enough to have lunch with. Watching her share a sandwich while stuck on a foggy mountain with Robert Donat in his 1939 Oscar-winning performance as/of "Mr Chips," is right where I'd want to be with her. The TCMDb photo doesn't do her justice. She was gorgeous. in her 1942 Oscar-winning performance in the title role as "Mrs. Miniver," I was green with envy for Ronald Colman, who plays her husband. But, my favorite film of Greer Garson's is "Random Harvest," with Ronald Colman. She rescues him. The part I like is when she's dancing and singing in a bar in a kilt. She seems like a lady who was so gentle and kind-hearted.

  • STUNNING ACTRESS

    • marilynne
    • 2009-03-23

    LOVED HER EXPRESSIONS, ACTING, MANNERS, WHAT A SURPRISE WHEN I SAW HER FIRST MOVIE MRS. MINIVER. THEN I LOOKED FOR HER IN ANY MOVIE...THEY WERE ALL TERRIFIC!

  • Great

    • Ruby
    • 2009-03-20

    I really like this actress i think she was really good

  • A Great Actress Miss Greer Garson

    • Ninna
    • 2009-02-11

    I dont remember the first movie I saw her in, but I do remember I became a fan for life. I have had the great pleasure in seeing all of her flims. I never tire of any of her work.

  • Class and Charm

    • Bob
    • 2008-11-03

    When I found Greer, it was Mrs. Miniver, I became an immediate fan. She completely captured me. The Miniver Story, an afterthought to many, I think showed such control, quiet and deep intimacy, intelligence and stature in the presentation of a very believable character, that I find myself drawing more out of it each time it is revisited. And could their be anything better than Random Harvest. When I want my world to be refreshed with character and dignity, I return to Greer Garson. And that is often. Bob

  • Greer Garson - Perfect Lady

    • Paula
    • 2008-10-22

    There were two real ladies of the movies in the '30s and '40........Irene Dunne and Greer Garson. While Greer could do comedy, she wasn't allowed. Still, she starred in some of the finest movies ever made....Mrs. Miniver, Goodbye Mr. Chips, Random Harvest (my personal favorite) Although I think Julia Misbehaves was considered a flop at the time, it's fun to see Miss Garson in a different type role for her. Well worth watching. Greer Garson is highly underrated and under appreciated...more's the pity. But for those of us who are fans, we know what a great lady she was!!!

  • Happy Birthday!

    • Jordan
    • 2008-09-29

    Greer is 104! Happy birthday to a fabulous, talented and truly spectacular actress!!!! <3 :D

  • Better! Much better!

    • April Sanz
    • 2008-09-25

    She's a class A leading lady and she did her best in all. What more can I say? She's one of the best!

  • An Absolute Actress!!

    • L. Aryn
    • 2008-08-24

    Ms. Garson came across the screen as such a talented individual. Her abilities were extremely ranging. I truly wish the World had more people of her caliber. I so enjoy viewing her films, especially Random Harvest. Thank you so very much Ms. Garson for taking the paths that you did in your life. And THANK YOU!! TCM for bringing her films to this TIME for these generations to enjoy. Sincerely, Ldy. Aryn Culbertson

  • A Great Lady

    • Petrita Dixon
    • 2008-08-20

    She was a First Class actress, with great talent, beauty and finesse. You could say that she was 'Royalty' with gifts of warmth, dignity, compassion, and generosity. Truly a great human being, a role model for today's young starlets!!

  • Greatest Lady

    • Sharolyn Miller
    • 2008-07-17

    Greer Garson was just a great lady. She could sing, dance and could she ACT!!

  • I have to agree with Hannah

    • Erin Conner
    • 2008-04-25

    Greer was born in London but being so proud of her Irish and Scottish heritage she told people she was born in Ireland. I know this for a fact because I read her biography.

  • Greer was born in London.

    • Hannah
    • 2008-03-19

    Well, Aurie, you are right and wrong. Greer's parents, Nina and George were Scottish, but Greer was not born in Ireland. She was born in London. Her birth certificate proves that.

  • Greer Garson was Scottish, NOT Irish

    • aurie lambert
    • 2008-03-07

    yes, Greer Garson was born in Ireland, but to Scottish parents. she was quite proud of her Scottish heritage, even serving haggis at her glamourous parties in Dallas. She was a Presbyterian.

  • Classic Lady

    • Pat
    • 2008-03-02

    Great actress of her time

  • Greer Garson

    • Barbara
    • 2008-02-18

    I believe that Greer Garson was one of the best actresses in her time. It is a pity that she is virtually unknown to most. I don't think I have one friend who had ever heard of her before I made a comment about her. Thank you for playing so many of her wonderfully uplifting movies.

  • beauty and more

    • JackW
    • 2008-01-19

    She wasn't just extremely beautiful and talented. She had such a warm heart, such a delightful voice, such an infectious smile, all of which came through in the wonderful movies she made. Random Harvest, what a movie. They say Myrna Loy played the perfect wife. Seeing Greer Garson in movies, she would get my vote for the perfect wife.

  • Tea Time with Greer!

    • theresa
    • 2007-12-16

    for all those greer fans out there, i have a forum, if anyone would like to take a visit! :) http://greergarsonrose. proboards57.com/index.cgi? i have already posted a comment a couple years ago here, but i will do it again! i looove greer and she is my favorite actress ever. i feel she was so exquisitely gorgeous inside and out, and i think no other actress could ever compare to her talents and versatality.

  • Truly beautiful

    • Mary Melinda Kinnaird
    • 2007-12-12

    Greer Garson had a true beauty that shone through in all her films. She was one of the most talented actresses in her day, and her films are still some of the best that I have ever seen. I absolutely adore Mrs. Miniver and Madame Curie, just 2 films she made with the equally wonderful Walter Pidgeon, and Goodbye, Mr. Chips is still one of my favorite films ever. She was the epitome of grace and beauty, both in her films and in real life. Actresses today cannot even begin to measure up to her.

  • A lady in every way.

    • paula lloyd-james
    • 2007-11-11

    Greer is my favorite actdress and mentor, so beautiful inside and out. I love her movies with a passion, and she is sorley missed. she will live on in my heart and memory forever. RIP Ms Garson.

  • STRANGE LADY IN TOWN

    • Monica G.
    • 2007-09-25

    I have seen all Greer Garson movies with the exception of Strange Lady in Town and Sunrise at Campobello. Do you plan to show these 2 movies in the near future which I would like to add to my Greer Garson collection as I feel she was the best actress ever.

  • GREER GARSON

    • MARGARET JORDAN
    • 2007-09-05

    I ESPECIALLY LIKE GREER GARSON IN "STRANGE LADY IN TOWN". IT WAS WONDERFULLY DONE AND THE ACTORS AND ACTRESS CHOSEN FOR THIS MOVIE WERE EXECEPTIONALLY SUPERB IN THEIR PERFORMANCES.

  • Delicate and stunning actress

    • Homero
    • 2007-09-02

    I first saw Ms. Garson on screen watching her performance in the 1945 production The Valley of Decision co-starring Gregory Peck, I felt it was a great performance and fortunately I was able to watch on TCM a few other of her films like, Pride and Prejudice, Random Harvest, Mrs. Miniver and another film she did with Robert Mitchum, which I cant remember the title, beautiful dramatic actress.

  • Questions...

    • BravesGal
    • 2007-07-06

    Why are there so many different dates and places listed for her birth?

  • THE BEST ACTRESS OF ALL TIME

    • JOY BOSCHE
    • 2007-05-04

    I STARTED WATCHING GREER GARSON MOVIES ON TCM. I THINK SHE IS THE BEST ACTRESS OF ALL TIME. I AM IN THE PROCESS OF COLLECTING ALL OF HER MOVIES. I LOVE TO WATCH HER AND WALTER PIDGEON PERFORM TOGETHER. THOSE TWO HAVE SUCH A CHEMISTRY TOGETHER.

  • My favorite!!!!

    • theresa
    • 2007-04-10

    Greer Garson is my favorite actress and i want to thank TCM for playing her movies. she is one of the most beautiful women ever. anyone who watches one of her movies will be totally hooked on her for life.

  • My favorite thanks to TCM

    • Bev
    • 2007-02-19

    Watching all of the old movies over the years it didn't take long for me to realize what an amazing actress she was. Back in the mid 70's I sold her some beautiful American Indian jewelry. I imagine she had a nice collection and if that is ever auctioned off I hope I hear of it! An Irish/ American Indian/ Texan/ New Mexican/ funny beautiful etc. If variety is the spice of life, then Variety is her name.

  • What a beauty!!

    • Randy
    • 2006-10-14

    I love the sound of Greer Garson's voice. She is such a beauty. Garson fans: you have to see her in "Blossoms In The Dust". Based on a true story, it's about a woman who faces many tragedies but does not let them destroy her. Very uplifting. The only movies I have not seen with Greer are "Adventure" with Clark Gable, and "Remember" with Robert Taylor. I am looking forward to seeing these on TCM. I will wait patiently. Greer is one of the best actresses of all time! Very few women have been Oscar nominated seven times. I think only Davis, Hepburn, and Meryl Streep.

  • Janet is right! Homage to Greer!!

    • Texas Garson Fan
    • 2006-09-09

    Janet is right on. Greer Garson was a FASCINATING person and led a wonderful and interesting life. TCM should work with Michael Troyan who wrote the biography of Greer Garson. (It is the best biography of anyone I have ever read.) TCM did such an astounding job on the Bette Davis biography. I'd like to see them give the same level of effort to Greer. I love Bette Davis, but the difference would be watching a train wreck versus watching the sun rise over a beautiful paradise. Greer Garson deserves the tribute more than anyone I can think of.

  • Why has TMC forgotten Greer Garson?

    • Janet
    • 2006-08-31

    Why doesn't TMC do a biography or at least a segment where other actors talk about them as you did for Ingrid Bergman by Patricia Clarkson and Barbara Stanwyck, which aired today, August 31st. Greer Garson was the only actor in the history of movies along with Bette Davis who received 5 nominations in a row. Why is she forgotten by TMC? When TMC shows various pictures of old movie stars, her picture is never included. Also, you list her year of birth as 1903. If you check her gravestone, it is actually 1904-1996. She was the Queen of MGM for 10 years and should be remembred along with Bette Davis, Joan Crawford and Ingrid Bergman.

  • THE BEST ACTRESS

    • peter
    • 2006-08-04

    THIS ACTRESS IS BY FAR MY FAVORITE !!! SHE BROUGHT SUCH FEELING TO HER ROLES , IT UNBELIVEABLE. SHE , IN MY VIEW WAS SUPERIOR TO ALL OTHER ACTRESS OF HER TIME . HER ROLE IN GOODBYE MR. CHIPS AND VALLEY OF DECISON ARE THE BEST I HAVE EVER SEEN . IT IS REGRETABLE THAT SHE WAS NOT AWARDED MORE HONORS FOR HER ROLES. PETER RAHAS

  • One of the best !!!

    • Ashley
    • 2006-07-25

    Miss Greer Garson is a wonderful actress with a great gift.She's a true legend and one of my favorite actresses ever since I saw Random Harvest.She's simply the best.

  • Garson as Julia

    • gigi
    • 2006-07-07

    The first time I watched a movie of Ms. Greer Garson is "Julia Misbehaves" and I enjoyed her performance! I now look forward to see her in her other highly-acclaimed movies at TCM.

  • Greer Garson

    • Jennnifer
    • 2006-06-30

    The best actress I've seen performed

  • Greer Garson-A Beautiful & Superb Actress

    • Michael W. Hall
    • 2006-06-07

    A charming, beautiful and powerful actress that had me mesmerized in the movie Random Harvest. Her moving performance and stunning appearance brings this incredible story to life. I hope you'll see this movie as soon as possible. -Michael

  • Simply the best at having Grace and Guts.

    • Mzmarlo
    • 2006-05-31

    I've only recently seen a couple of Greer's movies: Mrs. Miniver, Julia Misbehaves and Mrs. Parkington but they are all wondeful films made more entrancing to watch with the lovely Greer Garson. There were alot of female actresses back then that had either grace or guts, but Greer was the only one I've ever seen to possess both and make it so believeable.

  • beauty & spirit

    • Peter
    • 2006-05-17

    GREER GARSON was beauty & spirit. deep & pure, a pleasure to watch

  • One-of-a-kind

    • Hannah
    • 2006-04-30

    The greatest actors make their way into your heart in role after role no matter the type of role. I believe Greer Garson did this each screen performance. I wish every single motion picture and TV appearance she ever made were on home video. I would buy the entire lot. Thank you, Greer Garson for such a great body of work.

  • GREER GARSON

    • THERESA
    • 2006-04-24

    I THINK SHE WAS ONE OF THE GREATEST ACCTRESSES, I WOULD ENJOY SEEING MORE OF HER MOVIES ON TCM.

  • Children

    • Marcella
    • 2006-02-25

    I was wondering if Greer Garson ever had any children? I think she was one of the most talented actresses of all time.

  • A Great thespian

    • Byron Ware
    • 2006-01-19

    Greer Garson a very beautiful Irish actress. Her grace on the screen was memorable. Nominated for seven Oscars. Only won one in 1942. For Mrs Miniver 1942, a great film. This where she would meet her future husband Robert Ney. The marriage didn't last long. Her career during World War two was very good but after the war ended her career slowed down. But her beauty continued until her death. Greer was a very elegant and considerate woman. She gave to two universities her donations were generous. Greer Garson for awhile was MGM Queen. Taking after Norma Shearer. She was great. Her Legacy will live on in Turner classic Movies.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.