skip navigation
James Garner

James Garner

  • Americanization of Emily, The (1964, September 24 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Action On The Beach (1964, September 24 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Man Who Makes The Difference, The (1968, September 27 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Boys' Night Out (1962, October 11 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Joan Of Arc (1948, October 26 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Shoot-Out at Medicine Bend (1957, October 30 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Likeability

    • Diana
    • 2014-07-28

    I have watched James Garner on TV and Film for 50 years. The one true thing about his acting is that somehow, you just knew that he was a "Nice Guy". Despite any gruffness of the role, you just felt that if you met him in real life, he could be your "close friend", "beloved father", "charming confidant" or "sweetest romance". He was a "Duke" kind of character, part of my American Escape growing up. I am saddened by his passing as if he was a family member from The Deep South, that I could drop in unannounced, welcomed with open arms, sent to a warm bed with a plate of fried field corn and fresh tomatoes as if none of our time had passed between us. My favourites They Only Kill Their Masters The Great Escape The Art of Love

  • Great Actor

    • Judy
    • 2014-04-03

    I've always had a huge crush on James Garner - from the time he was doing the Rockford Files - extremely charming, exceedingly handsome, and just seems like a very decent, nice guy. I always thought his on-screen chemistry with Doris Day was quite special; and I never grow tired of watching one of his films whether as a lead or supporting role.

  • James Garner is a fantastic actor

    • Slim
    • 2013-04-07

    Hello, Today is James Garner's 85th birthday so I thought now would be a great time to recognize his talents. My favorite movies of his are the Americanization of Emily and one of the best comedies of ALL time Support your local Sheriff. He has been a joy to watch and laugh with for many years.

  • James Garner is an A-1 "Class Act"

    • Karen Mogan
    • 2009-04-07

    I have always admired this gentleman for his craft as an actor rather than as a "star" even though he's a truer star than most of what constitues Hollywood's roster these days. Then there is the sentiment--my late father was from Kansas and Oklahoma with the same rugged good looks as Garner which are almost too good to be true. Real men, both, instead of all the fosterized boys climbing the ladder now. I am very glad that the latest reports have him recovering from the 2008 stroke. Too bad we cannot clone him!

  • Love James Garner!!--the rest is history!!

    • diane
    • 2006-11-28

    James Garner has been a wonderful actor and brought much joy and happiness to his audiences over the years. Loved him in the Americanization of Emily in particular and all of his television and theater performances--was so happy to see him again with Julie Andrews who he was with in the Americanization of Emily -- in the movie "One Special Night"--shown on Lifetime network, which takes place at Christmas time--and which she calls him 'Charlie'!! We love you James!!--THANK YOU FOR ALL YOU HAVE GIVEN TO US!!

  • Yes sir don't me maybe

    • NO
    • 2006-09-02

    I like pork and Dr. O'Malley!

  • Original Fan

    • Suzanne Moore
    • 2006-07-18

    I must be one of Mr. Garner's original fans, having been one since the first Maverick was broadcast in 1957. My admiration for him - as an actor and as a person - have only deepened over the years. Thank you, Mr. Garner, for all the wonderful memories, and for the future ones as well.

  • James Garner Fan (Baumgarner?)

    • Tom Mangus
    • 2006-04-15

    Dear Mr. Garner, Our paths have crossed at the Univ. Of Oklahoma. I attended 1954-56. I was a sales rep for a drug company 1956-66. One of my customers was a drugstore in Seminole at which I met a cousin of yours that was working during her highschool days. We chatted about you during several of my sales calls. I have been a tremendous fan ever since. I just passed my 70th BD and continue to watch reruns of "The Rockford Files". Possibly my favorite. What may I be able to see you in soon? Ever, Tom =save

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.