skip navigation
Jane Fonda

Jane Fonda

  • Klute (1971, August 01 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Any Wednesday (1966, August 01 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Tout va bien (1972, August 01 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Tall Story (1960, August 01 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Period Of Adjustment (1962, August 01 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Family Business

    • Marjorie.Campbell
    • 2009-05-15

    Now that Jane Fonda is the matriarch of the Fonda dynasty it is time to consider her contributions made to film history. The first question I ask is, "Did she take advantage of or surpass her father's towering shadow?" In more ways than not, Jane Fonda rebelled against her father, Henry. If not for Miss Fonda's production genius, Henry Fonda may not have ever won a competitive Oscar. Jane Fonda is the first Fonda to win a competitive Oscar. The film's she's performed in, especially "Julia" (as Lillian Hellman), are mainly of the old kind of classic quality. They started with "Cat Ballou."

  • On Beyond Acting

    • ZZane
    • 2009-05-06

    Once Jane Fonda became a producer, it was clear that her knowledge of filmmaking had transcended just being an actor. Miss Fonda's skills had progressed beyond being on screen to selecting what would be in theaters and on media. Even though I'm glad about that, I still want to see her on film as she is today: better than ever. I'm celebrating that she's back into acting on screen and on stage. Jane Fonda's so charismatic that her personality leaps off the screen, grabs hold of my bearings and takes me along where she wants me to go with her. Love it!

  • On a Leading Edge

    • 1899bogie1957
    • 2009-04-27

    To be the current matriarch of the Fonda theatrical US dynasty must be quite an awesome position for Jane Fonda today. Considering that she hardly had a real family life as a child, then was harshly ridiculed for being on the leading edge of the anti-Vietnam wave (while Donald Sutherland seems to have been spared the same mistreatment for doing the very same things with Jane Fonda), and had a towering father actor to break away from, it's amazing she's made it big and in our own style and time. Today, Jane Fonda's acting career's on the leading edge, at last. Brava!

  • Not in her Father's Footsteps

    • GeorgiaR
    • 2009-04-26

    More like leaps ahead of Henry Fonda (although he was great too). I'm in agreement with what's recently been written here, so I'll add to that. Jane Fonda has her own unique style of acting. It's changed as she did. Now that she's begun to consider acting "a career," I'm looking forward seeing what her next projects will be. Her latest have been swell. But as Gloria Swanson's Norma said in "Sunset Blvd." "the scripts got smaller." By that, I mean, screenplays aren't as good as they once were. Maybe Jane Fonda will write one.

  • Being Henry's Daughter was No Free Ticket

    • soulforcee
    • 2009-04-25

    In fact, growing up a Fonda child was emotionally rough. With a mother who suicided & father who could only perform his emotions as other characters, Jane had to become the girl who had her own. Her father's shadow was just that. Every role she's played, she earned herself. Fact is, she made it possible for her father to win an Oscar after she'd already won 2. Role reversal. Jane Fonda didn't have to express herself through characters: she's been freely expressive as an other American can be. I've enjoyed following her life & her acting career.

  • Range of Roles

    • Cal
    • 2009-04-25

    Whenever I think about Jane Fonda, there's no type-cast image that pops to mind. Consider the range of roles she's played (thus far!). Her performance & role in "Monster-in-Law" certainly do stand out. She seems to be excelling over time. Younger Jane Fonda wasn't so sure of herself. Self-confident Jane Fonda is a brilliant actor. Every time I look at her she reminds me of her father. My favorite early film of hers is "Walk on the Wild Side," with Barbara Stanwyck. I love her singing in the new release of "FTA"!

  • More than an Actor

    • DC_DR
    • 2009-04-24

    The lifetime achievements of Jane Fonda are remarkable. Buying the rights to and producing "On Golden Pond" has got to be the most touching effort a daughter made for her famous father. Her Oscar performance in "Coming Home" after being persecuted for taking a very strong public stand against the Vietnam slaughter is priceless. Beginning an industry of home workout videos started a different kind of health revolution. Being the driving energy behind bringing "9 to 5" to film's phenomenal.

  • On Jane Fonda's Achievements

    • soulforcee
    • 2009-04-18

    Unless folks study the history of Jane Fonda's film contributions, they may think of her as an actor. Jane Fonda created "9 to 5," brought Dolly Parton into films for the first time and Lilly Tomlin on the the team trio. Jane was determined to see to it that her father, Henry, was finally awarded a most overdue Oscar for his "On Golden Pond" performance, by producing the risky film. As a producer, Jane Fonda has accomplished as much or more, can't decide, as she had by acting. He workout videos transformed many women's lives.

  • Awesome

    • f2008ilmzzz
    • 2009-04-17

    When J. Fo played mother-in-law to J. Lo, it was so daggone obvious what a magnificent actor Fonda is now and has been for a long career. There's no comparison between the great actors and the new so-so ones. TCM give us the historic J. Fo films because you know we won't be seeing them on any other network since they all play the repetitious top 40 (nots).

  • Style and Class Personified

    • zzziz
    • 2009-04-16

    Glad that Jane Fonda's acting career's on a roll. Her early films are scrumptious, hilarious, titilating, sensuous and uniquely variant. Glad that FTA's finally out on DVD. It's an amazing tribute to all of the Vietnam veterans who weren't pro-war, at the very least. I can't decide whether I like her newer or older films better. Can't get enough of Jane Fonda, no matter which era.

  • Better Today Than Ever Before

    • ASingerSings
    • 2009-04-14

    The return of Jane Fonda to the silver screen is a joy. That she's contemplating going on stage is even better. The performances she's turned in since her comeback are delightful. Welcome back where you belong. TCM, get my point? Show Jane Fonda's films.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.