skip navigation
Irene Dunne

Irene Dunne

  • Awful Truth, The (1937, August 13 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • My Favorite Wife (1940, August 13 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Theodora Goes Wild (1936, September 10 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Awful Truth, The (1937, September 14 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Stingaree (1934, October 14 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • This Man is Mine (1934, October 15 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Simply the Best

    • Lisa Brooks
    • 2014-06-22

    Like Mama Hanson in Miss Dunne's superlative "I Remember Mama," the women folk in my family were never idle--except when an Irene Dunne picture came on TV. Then they would stop what they were doing and become very wistful over that girl from Louisville. "She was from here you know." They would all say. And so that was how I was introduced to the best actress who never won an Academy Award. Oh well, I bet Irene didn't really mind. I mean her life and legacy continue to be much more than any statuette can ever reflect.

  • A real gem!

    • Kim Witte
    • 2013-09-23

    Irene Dunne is like an unexpected glass of champagne. It's bubbly and sweet but it can still carry a wallop. What a beautiful American gem.

  • Popularity

    • Joan
    • 2011-08-12

    Irene Dunne, the beautiful, talented Actress would want to be remembered as the wonderful wife, mother and grandmother that she was first! A great Actress second! She is so popular today, she would be amazed and happy! People are searching for goodness and reality and that always seemed to show through in every Character she played. I am still amazed at the young people that are so drawn to Irene Dunne, they so admire the work and "the woman" she was! You are still letting the "Net" down, Irene!

  • irene dunne

    • Tom
    • 2011-02-05

    Irene Dunne was fabulous! One question. Why didn't she win an academy award?

  • Show Boat

    • Rita
    • 2011-01-10

    Once you see the Irene Dunne version of Show Boat you know it's the best - support actors are wonderful. It's a shame the Dunne version isn't available on home video. In fact, with the variety of her roles, I think an Irene Dunne Collection or two would be most welcome to vintage movie fans like myself. Her smile and laugh make me want to spend more time with her movies.

  • Irene Dunne

    • David Burleigh
    • 2010-07-26

    I just recently watched two wonderful films starring this beautiful actress, whom I'd never seen before. Both movies co-starred Cary Grant, My Favorite Wife, and The Awful Truth. She was amazing in both of them, and their on screen chemistry and comedic timing was excellent. Looking forward to seeing much more of her work in the near future.

  • Irene is IT !!!

    • D.J.
    • 2010-06-19

    For my money Irene Dunne was the BEST...she'll always top my list. It's easy to throw around superlatives but she truly was one of a kind!

  • My favorite Actress of all time!

    • Michael Allen
    • 2010-02-19

    I love Irene Dunne. She is my favorite actress of all time!!

  • Madison's Lady of Film

    • Ted Sullivan
    • 2010-01-17

    We have our own movie star in Madison. Irene Dunne was a lady and a citizen of Madison. We honor our Lady of Films at the local "OHIO THEATER" on Main Street by displaying a historical plaque about her and in honor of her. When the theater shows Irene Dunne films, everyone comes to see our Lady of Films. If you are an Irene Dunne fan, come to Madison, Indiana and see our tributes to our Lady of Films.

  • Fan of Irene

    • Sharon
    • 2009-03-01

    I just loved Irene Dunne. What a great contribution to Hollywood history. She was very capable and enjoyable to watch.

  • ahhh...

    • carrie mosier
    • 2009-01-29

    irene is amazing..only a year ago i saw my first moive starring irene and since then i have been in aww of her wit, beauty and sass...movies today do not capture the talent and entertainment that the older movies possess.. i adore her..come to find out i live only 30 min from her childhood home which still stands..amazing....

  • Admiring Fan

    • Jeannine Shoup
    • 2009-01-25

    I have been a fan of Irene Dunne's for some time. I enjoy watching and listening to her. Every movie that I have watched of hers she has always performed the part as if she were the real person she was portraying. She has a wonderful voice when she sings. I wish TCM would show more of her movies more often. I didn't know until reading just now about her work with the United Nations. I don't find that hard to believe either. Just by her acting she seems like she would have a good soul for helping others.

  • Irene Dunne Biographies

    • Vern
    • 2009-01-01

    There are two excellent biographies on Irene Dunne. There are: Irene Dunne: A Bio-Bibliography, by Margie Schultz, New York, 1991. Irene Dunne: First Lady of Hollywood, by Wes D. Gehring (Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2003). Both are available from Amazon or ebay.

  • WOW!

    • Patty
    • 2008-10-08

    Over the years I'd seen Irene Dunne in several films and admired her - I'm thinking particularly of "Penny Serenade," "I Remember Mama," and "Anna and the King." I didn't see "The Awful Truth" until a year or so ago. Wow! In it, she and Cary Grant are - what - scintillating? Perfect? What a pair! I understand it was this film that made Grant a star and introduced the wonderful character he perfected over the years - elegant, charming, self-effacing, very clever and amusing. But the two together, Dunne and Grant - unbeatable. I've since seen "My Favorite Wife" and really don't understand why they didn't do more many films together. I can't write about and do justice to Irene Dunne in "The Awful Truth." She is incredible and is at least as good or better at screwball comedy as/than: Hepburn, Lombard et al. Really, there's no one better.

  • She's Underrated!!

    • Nancy Morgan
    • 2008-08-31

    As a follower/fan/admirer of 30's and 40's movies, I believe Irene Dunne is very underrated as a talent in her movies. She acted in a range of film acting from drama (I Remember Mama) to her wonderfully funny performances with Cary Grant in My Favorite Wife and the extraordinally, cannot be duplicated, role in The Awful Truth. I have attempted to find an autobiography or biography of her life but have had no luck. If someone can direct me to this material, I would appreciate it - TCM and PBS are the only 2 channels I watch - Thank you for what you do!

  • A true Lady...with a capital L

    • Pete
    • 2008-08-18

    A truly gracious, talented and thoroughly entertaining performer. She was able to excell at whatever role she was in. Above all, she was a lady, and always portrayed a very down to earth humanity. It seems like a forgotten quality in today's films, but she had in undiminished quantities. She was totally believable as Cary Grant's wife in several films, and they looked so well together. His respect for her was obvious, and deserved. The fact that she never won an Oscar does not diminish the consistently excellent performances she always gave. That she never won was the Academy's loss, not her audience's. I don't think we will ever see her kind of acting again, but she was always real in ways that today's actresses can certainly benefit from...that is, a real Lady, with a Capital "L".

  • Very fine Actress

    • Allen
    • 2008-07-12

    This is a superb and funny Actress. The Awful Truth was a very funny and well done movie. This was the first time I have seen a movie with the Actress Irene Dunne. Now I can hardly wait to see any movie she is in. I hope TCM will show more?

  • My Favorite Actress

    • Michael
    • 2008-05-01

    Irene Dunne is my all time favorite actress. She was equally great in screwball comedies as she was in tear-jerker soap dramas. I do believe she is underated. She is the star of several of my all time favorite movies; "I Remember Mama", "The White Cliffs of Dover" (which I wish was on DVD), "My Favorite Wife", "Theodora Goes Wild", "Sweet Adeline", "Penny Serenade" " Joy of Living" My list could go on... Also I find it amusing that Irene Dunne was also my Great Nanna's favorite actress!!

  • Great

    • Ellen
    • 2008-04-16

    Irene Dunne is a wonderful actress. She is beautiful,classy, funny and a pleasure to watch. I want to see more please play all 44 of her movies.

  • Reply

    • BravesGal
    • 2008-02-06

    Ginger: The movie you are thinking of is "Random Harvest" which stars Greer Garson. It's not Irene, but it's great nonetheless.

  • One of my favorites!

    • PML
    • 2007-12-30

    It was a great Christmas present to have the opportunity to watch those wonderful movies with Irene Dunne. I never get tired of them and hope to see more next year. Thanks!

  • I don't Know!

    • Ginger
    • 2007-12-29

    Help! I can't find this movie that Irene Dunne plays in! I only saw a part of it, or about an hour of it, and I can't find it! She rescues a man from an asylum, and then they get married. They have a son, and then he goes off on a business trip....He gets hit by a car only to remember his life before he got married to Irene Dunne, and forgets all about her. He goes to his previous girlfriend...and that's where I missed it all. I only saw the middle part....

  • You were sooo great!!

    • Michelle
    • 2007-12-23

    Irene Dunne, was an exceptional beautiful actress. She had talent, grace and sophistication. I'm glad her resting place is 10 minutes from my house. I think I'll go take her some flowers. Thanks Ms. Dunne for all your hard work.

  • Irene Dunne

    • Ginger
    • 2007-12-18

    Along with her striking beauty, she has such classical comedy, and captivating emotions. He acting is so....so...real! She seems to always know exactly what she's doing, and has such a calm sense of acting. Her beauty would not be as striking if it was not for a lot of her acting. Irene Dunne is a wonderful actress. Yes, she lives on even today, in every movie you watch she lives with you, even though it was years and years ago. She acts like either a friend to you when she acts, or an enemy. In The Secret of Madame Blanche, I was right there with her. She takes you along with her in every movie. Bravo, Irene!

  • The Awesome Truth

    • Steve Abel
    • 2007-11-18

    What a great year from TCM! Jean Arthur for January, Irene Dunne for December, and just a ton of great programming in between, too! Thanks, TCM.

  • One of the best

    • Tom
    • 2007-11-14

    Simply one of the best ever

  • Thanks

    • BravesGal
    • 2007-11-04

    Kudos galore to TCM for making Irene Dunne TCM's December Star of the Month!

  • First Lady and Great Lady of the movies

    • Paula
    • 2007-10-12

    Irene Dunne was everything a movie star should be: talented, versatile, glamorous, graceful. She was always a joy to watch, even if the movie wasn't. In addition, she was a wonderful human being: faithful to her husband, family and God. It's too bad there aren't more people in the world like her.

  • Irene was the First LADY of Hollywood!

    • Wendy
    • 2007-02-19

    Of all of the women of Hollywood, how many can say they never had any lovers and had only one husband? I can't think of anyone besides Irene Dunne! And the woman never aged! What a beauty she was, we need more like her! She truly was the First Lady of Hollywood!

  • The Most Engaging Actress of Her Time

    • Irene Dunne Fan
    • 2006-12-21

    I love Irene Dunne - her facial expressions, her smile, her sensitivity and tenderness, her comedic timing, her silliness. I've seen about 10 of her films and in each one, her character always grabs me whether it is Terry McKay or Lucy Warriner, Marta Hanson or Anna Owens. She was a graceful yet down-to-earth lady. She was and still is sorely underrated.

  • Nominated for 5 Oscars and Never Won!!

    • alice
    • 2006-12-11

    She can do it all....drama, comedy and musicals! I recommend all of her movies - she never made a bad one. It's a shame that so many of them are not available on DVD or VHS. Thanks TCM for reintroducing Irene to a new generation of fans! I can't wait to see the rarely seen "Stingaree" ('34) coming in April 2007!! No one can match her charming screen manner and nobody will ever top the duo of Irene Dunne & Cary Grant!!

  • Deserves more attention!

    • Todd
    • 2006-07-04

    I haven't seen all of her work, but everything I've seen so far has been great, and when there have been other parts of a film that I didn't think were great, she more than made up for it. She has a great presence and wit on screen.

  • Great Actress/Singer/Person

    • Vern Duckett
    • 2006-04-11

    Irene Dunne was a terrifically talent actress and singer. Her grace and charm in her movies was always a delight to watch. Please play more of her movies!

  • Teriffic Actress

    • Sean McGittigan
    • 2006-04-07

    I have seen only a couple of this actress' movies, and my mom was right shes great. i wish TCM would show more, even though the movies are old they are great.

  • FIRSTladyofhollywood

    • Joan McGittigan
    • 2006-02-26

    What a terriffic actress. It seems a wonderfuf person is shining through in each character she played. I am so gratefuf to have discovered Irene Dunne. Thank you TCM. Nothing to compare in entertainment today with this great lady.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.