skip navigation
Eve Arden

Eve Arden

  • Obliging Young Lady (1941, August 27 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Ziegfeld Girl (1941, September 15 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • That Uncertain Feeling (1941, September 17 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • At The Circus (1939, October 03 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Unfaithful, The (1947, October 07 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Eve Arden

    • Picabolee
    • 2013-07-25

    I became aware of Eve Arden when I was a kid watching Our Miss Brooks on televison. I wanted her to be a teacher at my school. She was so honest and so cool. And she did it all during the time when women school teachers were, what shall I say... less. Eve Arden/Connie Brooks was a single woman who knew what man she wanted; Mr. Boynton. It was such fun watching the show. As I grew older and began watching some of Eve Arden's earlier films, I began to appreciate her acting abilities. Who can ever forget Eve Arden as Ida in Mildred Pierce? Ida: Don't look now, Junior, but you're standing under a brick wall. Monte: I don't get it. Ida: You will - when it falls on you. Eve was great! and then there was Eve in Anatomy of a Murder, so sardonic when talking about the missing typewriter keys (P and F). The ''Party of the first part'' sometimes comes out ''arty o the irst art.'' Classic!

  • Truly Superb and One of a Kind

    • Kathy
    • 2012-01-21

    I'm only in my 20's but I love Hollywood Classic Movies and during those movie marathon nights on cable I couldn't help but notice this actress who have played supporting and second lead in many of the movies. She may not be as popular as the lead actresses such but she certainly can steal a scene whenever she is in it. Most comediennes are a slap stick but not Eve Arden. She's a smart comedienne. It becomes funny because of her wit and delivery. She has proven that even a pretty face can pull a comedy without making yourself look dumb or stupid. Back then you have to be a femme fatale type to get somewhere but she did it with her awesome talent. She can be a smart and sophisticated office executive or a down-to-earth secretary. If she wasn't so good in those wise-cracking supporting characters she may have been given other character roles or out of the box lead roles that could have displayed her versatility. Too bad she was type-casted but she certainly made her mark and entertained millions which made her truly unforgettable. Enjoying Our Miss Brooks and The Eve Arden Show on the internet. Glad she got a lead part which she deserved.

  • My All-Time Favorite

    • Linda Brunn
    • 2010-05-29

    Eve Arden was my all-time favorite actress. I first became aware of her when I was about 8 years old and my parents used to watch "Our Mis Brooks". I didn't really get hooked on the show until a few years later when it was in reruns. Then I became obsessed with watching it. In the days before DVRs or videotape, I had to plan my day around being able to watch the show. She was unique. There was no other actress like her. I became aware of the fact that she had been in movies before "Our Miss Brooks," and I began to scour the TV Guide, looking for old movies in which she had appeared and stayed up late at night to watch them. I think I saw most of the ones she made. I loved "Stage Door," "The Doughgirls", "The Voice of the Turtle," and "The Lady Wants Mink." I watched "The Eve Arden Show" when it came out although it wasn't nearly good as "Our Miss Brooks". I was so excited to learn that she was going to be in a movie "Anatomy of a Murder," and I couldn't wait to see it, but alas, when it came out it was "adults only," and they wouldn't let me in. When I got to high school, other interests distracted me from Eve Arden, and I kind of forgot about her, but when I went to college, I think it was partly due to her influence that I majored in English and education. On "Our Miss Brooks" she made being an English teacher seem like so much fun. Occasionally I would see her in "Grease" or on some TV show and be reminded of how much I had loved her as a child, but it wasn't until I discovered her autobiography and read it that I discovered how much we had in common with our beliefs. She and I even shared the same religion, Science of Mind. Finally when my students were doing a project writing to famous people, I decided to write her a fan letter. Alas, she probably never got it, because a few days later I was saddened to learn of her death. There are other actors and actresses that I like, but none can compare to Eve Arden. ------------------------------

  • Eve arden

    • allen chard
    • 2009-09-14

    I thought she was great.

  • More than a Supporting Actor

    • Goldie28
    • 2009-06-09

    The roles Eve Arden played are a credit to how women are depicted in film. She wasn't just a secretary or high school principle. Arden's characters used cutting hummor to put people in their places. When lead actors played women in very unfavorable ways, Arden's performances presenteda stronger, more sophisticated woman. Thank goodness.

  • Great Sarcastic Delivery

    • Michelles
    • 2009-06-07

    I remember Eve Arden as the scene-stealing sarcastic comedian who made it seem effortless to do such roles. She had such strong facial features and gorgeous curly lips that it was nearly impossible to miss her playing a supporting role. She was a real actor who played many different characters even though she was typecast.

  • Eve Arden in "Stage Door" (1937)

    • Jakweline
    • 2009-06-05

    One of my favorite best supporting actors is Eve Arden. During the golden era, Arden appears in some of the most notable films: 20 of them in 3 years! Of them, her performance in "Stage Door" is my favorite. There were fine leading performances in that film; even so, Arden's stands out. If not for her Oscar-nominated performance, as Ida Corwin, in "Mildred Pierce," which sorely lacked a good leading actor, that film would have been miserable. That wasn't the only time when Eve Arden's performance made a important contribution to the total outcome of a film. She could really act, especially delivering amusing lines with very sharp edges.

  • Such a Fine and Funny Lady

    • Noriko
    • 2009-06-04

    Every time I turn around to see who's making the funniest remarks in a film that's got another leading lady, it seems like it's Eve Arden. She was in so many really great movies as well as several classics. Her roles weren't just a line here or there either. In a way she made the other leading lady look better. I often wonder if she wasn't cast to support a not so good leading lady actress.

  • Mainly the Bridesmaid...

    • Eliza.beth
    • 2009-06-02

    ...so to speak. Among the finest supporting actors on the 20th century Hollywood Golden Era, Eve Arden stands out because she's in numerous classics, like "Anatomy of a Murder," with Jimmy Stewart, "Night and Day," with Cary Grant, "Grease", "My Reputation," with Barbara Stanwyck and George Brent, steals the show in "Mildred Pierce," makes an early appearance in "Stage Door" with Katharine Hepburn, Lucille Ball, Ginger Rogers and Adolphe Menjou and is most famous for her character in "Cover Girl," with Rita Hayworth and Gene Kelly. She's best known for perfectly timed delivery of satirical comic lines like these: Jean Maitland (Ginger Rogers): "Hey, you're not gonna catch the opening tonight, huh?" Eve (Eve Arden): "No, I'm going tomorrow to catch the closing." Eve Arden has a style of playing off of the leading actors that made them look good.

  • Very funny Lady.

    • Deborah Ritch
    • 2008-08-09

    Eve Arden, was a fuuny lady and a great actress her timing was wonderful. And she was a very pretty classy woman. I love her smart talk and intellgents. I miss her and all the other great classic actors.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.