skip navigation
Marion Davies

Marion Davies

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Missing movie on Marion Davies Biography

    • kathy
    • 2013-10-18

    The sweet movie, The Floradora Girl 1931 with Marion Davies and Lawrence Grey is missing from her biography...Ive seen it on TCM only twice in the last several years but is no longer even on data base list...Hope it can be found and played once again.....

  • TCM's Marion Davies' birthday movie presentations

    • LB Hicks
    • 2012-01-03

    I have been quite interested for a number of years about the movies of Marion Davies. It so happens today I have spent the better part of the day looking at her films. Unfortunately I must say that I am not in the least bit impressed. Even with great actors like Robert Montgomery, Leslie Howard and James Gleason, she made no impact. Although a beautiful blonde, her body was shapeless and the wardrobes were not complimentary. Whatever William Randolph Hearst saw in her must have been kept secret by them both for she was not a good dramatic actress or comedian in my opinion. I think I'll skip her next birthday tribute.

  • I consider her the most brilliant actress of all

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2010-02-07

    Marion does something in her performances on film that no other actor does. She lives inside the world of the character. Watch carefully and you will see that everyone else either acknowledges or is inhibited by the 'fourth wall' of acting; many actors are restricted in their roles and uncomfortable, and they break character to look off at a director or crew member or the camera itself. But Marion Davies never does that. Why not? It's because she is so busy living inside the moment of the character that it is as if she is not aware she's being filmed and that we're watching her. She takes make-believe and makes it real. That's how great her level of concentration is. And this is a phenomenal accomplishment, especially when you consider her on-set work habits and how 'easy' W.R. was always trying to make her life. These are not easy performances, but yet she makes it seem that way. Probably her best job is in 'Peg o' My Heart.' I hope you have a chance to see it and to enjoy all her great film roles.

  • Dynamic actress and person!

    • Lisa Reed
    • 2009-11-07

    Marion Davies was way ahead of her time. She was the best actress of her time and her genuine comedian and serious roles were dynamic in silent movies and speaking. Also being a very loving lady to be W.R. Hearst one true love and his best friend through his life. W. R. Hearst being an astounding genius with his newspaper, magazine and movie businesses playing him to be the most astute business man of his day and continues through the present day. W. R. Hearst gave his major contribution to the world "The Hearst Castle". LCR

  • Marion Davies was delightful!

    • elaine
    • 2009-09-24

    Marion Davies could do anything! In dramatic roles she was convincing and genuine; in comedic roles she was a sparkling delight. My 20 year old daughter watched "The Patsy" with me and she laughed all through it at Marion's humor and spunky persona. I hope they show all her pictures!She was also gorgeous!

  • Marion Davies was a true gem.

    • Mena
    • 2009-08-05

    I saw the Marion Davies movie marathon on TCM and I could not stop watching. What a talent. I laughed out loud at her comical performances. I can't believe I have gone this long without watching one of her films. Thank you to TCM for introducing me to her performances.

  • Marion Davies

    • Anthony
    • 2009-08-03

    Today was the first time I ever saw a movie with Ms.Davies and I like what I saw.She was a very good actress and I rate her a 10 out of 10....

  • Amazing and talented actress.

    • CharlieG
    • 2008-07-04

    Marion Davies was one of the screen's funniest comediennes. Her comedies are hilarious to watch, and at the same time, she also proves adept at dramatic roles when needed. Now, after years of being extremely underrated, she is finally getting the praise and attention that she has always deserved.

  • She will always be my 10 out of 10.

    • Dave Murphy
    • 2008-01-08

    Talented, wonderful human being like all of us - just plain leaves in the wind of life storms. Had a kind heart and was loved and sometimes disliked but in the end more good than bad. she could do everything better than most - sing, dance, act etc. But most of all she entertained us with her creativity. Marion was just a little actor that was 50 feet tall on screen nd she knew it.She had power, money and knew how to pay the game of life. Her lovers were the best and she was the best for her lovers. Her heart was made of gold

  • A Funny and GREAT Actress!

    • Tina
    • 2008-01-03

    Marion Davis is, in my opinion one of the best silent stars. She was pretty good on the sound films too. I not sure why she didn't play in alot of sound films. But I am glad TCM put her movies on today.

  • What a Sweetheart

    • Charles Bell
    • 2008-01-03

    What a sweetheart she is. I am enjoying the second silent movie today with her as leading actress and have discovered a brand new favorite actress. Thanks so much to TCM for this web site with all the info on these stars I never got to see most of my life. Coming to this web site and reading more about the movie and the people behind them is really terrific. The story of her life is heart breaking. It was good to learn that she did not take her stardom so seriously. I can tell she was brought up in a real nice family and I hope she is remembered for her true self. What a sweet heart she is. She caught my heart today.

  • Charming and Funny

    • Anne
    • 2007-08-17

    Her films should be shown more on Tcm and should be relased on dvd. She was one of the screens great comedic actresses.

  • Miss Davies

    • GL
    • 2006-09-12

    Charming, a real class act! A delight to watch.

  • Marion Davies- funny, beautiful, talented

    • Bill
    • 2006-03-09

    Marion Davies had that rare combination of beauty and comedic talent

  • GREAT STAR

    • Ed
    • 2006-02-05

    the most underrated star of the 20s and 30s.....

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.