skip navigation
Jeanne Crain

Jeanne Crain

  • Guns of the Timberland (1960, August 31 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Hot Rods to Hell (1967, November 07 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Margie

    • Janice Leos
    • 2013-08-26

    Thank you for Margie. Haven't seen it in years. It is a cute good ole movie.

  • Margie (1946)

    • Bijou
    • 2011-12-25

    Margie, I have been waiting to see this film since childhood and I could not remember the title but I kept it in my memory in hopes of finding such a film. I saw "Margie" back when I was a little girl and could not remember who or what happened in the end of the film. But one important clue I could recall is that of a young girl, who fell on the ice and her bloomers slipped off and the embarrassment on her face said it all. And after all these years, I finally got to see the film that I longed to watch and have searched for many years. Jeanne Crain is a wonderful and beautiful actress and her portrayal of Margie, as an intellectual young girl with a crush on the new teacher is convincing and delightful. Thank You TCM for airring the film of my childhood.

  • Margie

    • Patricia
    • 2010-05-27

    I SEE I AM NOT ALONE IN SEARCHING FOR "MARGIE" JEANNE CRAIN. ALAN YOUNG MOVIE JEANNE PLAYS A HIGH SCHOOL GIRL WHOSE BLOOMERS ARE ALWAYS FALLING DOWN AT INOPPORTUNE TIMES, NOWHERE TO RUN AND FIX THE ELASTIC , HEH! POOR GIRL! BUT IN THE END SHE DOWES WIN THE HEART OF THE FRENCH TEACHER AND MARRIES HIM. THIS MOVIE IS SET IN THE 20'S AND HAS SOME VERY CUTE SUCH AS " ACUP OF COFFEE. A SANDWICH AND YUUUU OOOO".I LOVED THIS MOVIE AND HAVE ONLY SEEN IT ONCE ON TCM, SEVERAL YEARS GONE BY. PLAY IT AGAIN SAM! PATRICIA

  • Margie and Centennial Summer - FAVORITE FILMS

    • Kathy
    • 2010-05-09

    These are two of my favorite films. They are wonderful feel good films that the studios don't make anymore. I hope that they not only show these two films soon on TCM but also release on DVD!

  • Jeanne Crain-A Star to Remember

    • Martina
    • 2009-08-18

    I am a huge fan of Jeanne Crain. Some of my favorite movies by this great star are: Margie Apartment for Peggy Pinky and People Will Talk. I am hoping that Margie and Apartment for Peggy will be available on DVD. It would be wonderful to see a day of Jeanne Crain air soon on TCM.

  • Margie and Pinky

    • kathy
    • 2009-07-13

    These are two ofmy families favorites. Very different roles but played by Jeanne Crain so well that they still bring joy to all our family and friends. Please show a few more of her films for her fans like me. Kathy

  • Margie starring Jeanne Crain

    • June Cornelius
    • 2009-02-28

    My sister and I love the movie, MARGIE, with Jeanne Crain, and we would love to see it again on TCM. Is there some way you could resurrect this movie? I know it is old, but a beautiful story about a lovely teenager in love with her teacher, and the story keeps us guessing who it is she marries until the very end. A great wholesome movie. Please play SOON!!

  • Margie

    • Sheila
    • 2008-09-18

    I will love Jeanne Crain she was a great actist she played a lot of different role, my daughter and I used to watch all of her movie together friday night were classic night and her favorite was Margie (1946) when will you be playing that please play that soon. There are a lot of fans out there that would love to see this classic again. For all the fans out that remember when you could turn on the TV and watch something good and decent. Thank you TCM

  • The love of my life

    • steve
    • 2008-07-04

    A good actress, a beautiful woman and a fine human being. I am writing a story and using her as a face and person to help me write. I have emailed to a relative of her and she was some kind of woman. I wish I had known her.

  • Sadly Underrated

    • Nadine
    • 2008-06-16

    Jeanne Crain was a very beautiful and underrated actress. I absolutely love her in Margie, but she is good in anything I've watched her in.

  • Underrated Actress

    • richard hegedorn
    • 2008-06-14

    I have been a fan of Jeanne Crain ever since I saw her in 1945 in "State Fair". As a kid I was forced to go see the film but fell in love with her immediately. Have seen all of her films and think she is a very underrated actress. Most of her films have not dated at all and it is a pity they are not shown more often. She would have been in "All About Eve" had she not become pregnant again. It's fascinating to think how diferent that great film would have been with the initial intended stars: Claudette Colbert and Jeanne Crain. I'm sick of hearing that a black actress should have been cast in "Pinky". As talented as they were, Lena Horne, Dorothy Dandridge, etc. could never have passed for white. They needed a major star and Crain was it and she did very well for the studio and director Kazan. The studio and Zanuck thought so highly of her in 1950 that they would not loan her out for "Quo Vadis" or to Paramount for "Carrie". Her career should have lasted much longer than it did but she was a major star from 1944 until 1957 when she made "The Joker is Wild" in which she gave a very tender and moving performance. Her films after that were poor and sporadic but seven children kept her more than busy. TCM should try to find and show "Winged Victory", "Margie" (a real neglected classic), "Centennial Summer" (Crain and Darnell unbelieveably beautiful in this), "The Fan" (a flop at the time but a film that has improved with age), "Apartment for Peggy" (another neglected film that has never been shown on TV in a decent print) and "The Model and the Marriage Broker" (a great Cukor film with a terrific performance from Thelma Ritter that needs rediscovering).

  • Jeanne Crain's Movie.. "Margie"

    • Eva Bomar
    • 2008-06-09

    I've loved all of Jeanne Crain's movies. My favorite has been, "Margie." It was during my teen years that I saw it and I was captivated by it because it was about first love experience. I've waited for it to show on Turner Classics but it didn't happen. I also tried to find the DVD. I then tried the web site and was so thrilled when I finally after all these years found my special movie. Please show it on TCM,It's such a wonderful film!

  • Jeanne Crain

    • connieandgeo
    • 2008-05-29

    I've seen most of her movies. My particular favorite was Centennial Summer. I believe it's not shown because it's not politically correct. My reason for loving it is the escape and beauty of it. She would be remembered more,but seven children and not enough quality scripts were our lost.

  • Jeanne Crain's Movie.."Margie"

    • Nancy Jimenez
    • 2007-08-06

    The movie "Margie" in which Jeanne Crain starred in 1949,was one of the most delightful,heartwarming movies about life years ago, that I have ever seen..I have only seen it on television a couple of times through the years..It would be so wonderful to see it once again on TCM,my favorite channel.as it as been a long time since it has been shown anywhere on television..What a delightful movie for everyone to watch..Wont you "PLEASE" show it on TCM..Thanks..

  • Before Her Times.

    • Terry
    • 2007-07-06

    I love Jeanne Crain in everything she has done. I love her quick wit, her beauty, and her many talents. My favorite of all times is Apartment For Peggy. I look all the time for it to show on TCM with no luck. Please dig this one out of the archives and show it a couple of times.

  • Wonderful Actress

    • Debbie Crawford
    • 2007-02-05

    I love everything Jeanne every played in, she was so beautiful and talented. She had an innocence about her. Her movies were so colorful and entertaing, they all made you want to curl up in a cozy blanket and eat Popcorn and just enjoy! Great Actress!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.