skip navigation
Joseph Cotten

Joseph Cotten

  • Petulia (1968, September 25 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Under Capricorn (1949, September 27 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Portrait of Jennie (1948, October 09 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Shadow of a Doubt (1943, October 12 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Steel Trap, The (1952, October 12 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • F for Fake (1973, October 25 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • WHere are his films on DVD?

    • Effie
    • 2011-01-05

    Why isn't there a collection of Cotten films available on DVD: September Affair, Love Letters, Magnificent Ambersons to name a few. I know there must be other Cotten fans who agree.

  • Love Letters

    • Effie
    • 2011-01-05

    During WWII a soldier writes love letters for a buddy in his unit. The twist is that the writer falls in love with the girlfriend of his pal who eventually marries her. A tradgey occurs and through his guilt at his part by writing the letters he is able to contact the girl and the love is revived. This is a wonderful movie and I am terrible diappoingted it is not available on DVD

  • best acter

    • terry swindasz
    • 2009-05-15

    love his work would like to see more of it

  • Underrated Actor

    • Bruce Reber
    • 2008-12-10

    I have seen most of Joseph Cotten's films and in my opinion he is one of the great underrated film actors. He may have been overshadowed by many other actors of his era, but he gave very good performances in all kinds of films. My favorite Joseph Cotten films are "The Third Man", " Shadow of A Doubt" and "Portrait of Jennie". Also, I noticed there was one film missing from your Cotten filmography, the 1973 sci-fi thriller "Soylent Green". In it he plays the lawyer William Simonson who knows the secret behind the food substance soylent green and is killed to keep him from revealing it. He only appears briefly, but it turns out that his role is vital to the film's plot. Please add "Soylent Green (1973) as William Simonson" to his filmography.

  • An actor's actor!

    • JT
    • 2008-07-14

    Don't forget Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte. No matter the "story" you can always depend upon Joesph Cotten to pull it all together and make it beleivable. There was the one about Edgar Allen Poe... forgot the title.

  • Movie

    • R. Austin Healy
    • 2008-04-14

    Saw no mention of Joseph Cotton's part in The Third Man in your credits. That has to be one of his more memorable movie roles. And, of course, it featured Orson Wells.

  • Joseph Cotten

    • angela c.
    • 2008-01-30

    Can't take my eyes off of him. Joseph Cotten was and is one of America's most talented actors, the guy could make any part wonderfully exciteing!

  • Joseph Cotten

    • Angie Fields
    • 2007-10-19

    One of the greatest, if not the greatest actor of all time. I would love to have all of his movies on vhs or dvd, but some are not available. I think he deserved more recognition.

  • Joseph Cotten, Vanity Will Get You Somewhere

    • Shelley S.
    • 2007-09-23

    Joseph Cotten's book "Vanity Will Get You Somewhere" is an all-time must read. It is very inspiring and heartfelt. I became familiar with Cotten while recuperating from a series of knee operations a couple years ago when TCM was running Alfred Hitchcock movies around Halloween. "Shadow of a Doubt" was an amazing film, but had it not been for Jo Cotten, I don't feel it would have been as suspenseful. After that, I was hooked!

  • Mr. Joseph Cotten

    • Carol A Richardson
    • 2007-09-16

    I think Joseph Cotten was one of best actors of the nineteen forties and fifties or maybe the best, it was not fair to him that he was so under rated he was just a natural, and so very handsome I loved his movies especially those with the beautiful Jennifer Jones. what more can one say. thanks for letting me have my say.

  • Someone I'd like to watch over me.

    • Mary Melinda Kinnaird
    • 2007-04-19

    Joseph Cotten was always one of my Mom's favorite actors, and he's become one of mine as well. He was always so handsome and caring in all his films. He strikes me as someone I'd want to watch over me and do the right thing in my honor. I'm surprised he never earned an Oscar for his work, he was very good. I always look forward to watching his movies on TCM, and he will always be a favorite of my Mother's and myself.

  • Fantastic Actor

    • Pat
    • 2006-10-02

    Where is the film Niagra with Marilyn Monroe? I really enjoyed that movie. Didn't see it listed and can't find a copy.

  • JOSEPH COTTON, GREAT ACTOR

    • blanca
    • 2006-08-22

    I love all the movies that he has starred in. He was one of the greatest actors that I have ever seen. I love watching all his movies over and over again. Ihave not seen them all, so please, please keep showing his movies on TCM especially the less known ones.GREAT ACTOR, NEVER GET TIRED OF SEENING HIS MOVIES. THANK YOU !!!!!

  • JOSEPH COTTON

    • ELLEEN CHAPMAN
    • 2006-08-06

    I THINK JOSEPH COTTON IS AN UNDERRATED ACTOR. HE WAS A GREAT ACTOR. EVERY FILM I SEE HIM IN I ALWAYS LIKE HIM. HE ALSO WAS CAST WITH OTHER GREAT STARS. MY FAVORITE MOVIE WITH HIM IS "SINCE YOU WENT AWAY", BUT MOST PEOPLE WILL REMEMBER HIM IN ''CITZEN KANE'' AND THE THIRD MAN, WHICH ARE GREAT MOVIES TOO!

  • Joseph Cotton

    • Hannah
    • 2006-04-16

    I believe Joseph Cotton did an excellent job in this movie. I believe he has done well in all his movies no matter the charater he portrays to be. He is truly an enjoyment to watch. Shadow of a Doubt is by far my favorite movie ever!

  • Vastly Underrated

    • Jess
    • 2006-03-28

    Joseph Cotten was an incredibly wonderful actor who is all too often forgotten. With the amazing work he did, it saddens me that he is not more readily known.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.