skip navigation
Cyd Charisse

Cyd Charisse

  • East Side, West Side (1949, July 31 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Harvey Girls, The (1946, August 17 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Meet Me In Las Vegas (1956, September 03 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Singin' In The Rain (1952, September 13 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Words And Music (1948, September 15 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • THERE IS NO ONE LIKE CYD CHARISSE

    • jean bridges
    • 2011-01-02

    Cyd Charisse is the most fabulous dancer to ever appear in movies. Her performance in 'Singing in the Rain' and 'The Bandwagon' is awesome. 'Meet me in Las Vegus' is the only movie l don't have in which she dances to 'Frankie & Johnnie'. For some odd reason it is available on youtube. A release of this movie would be an ideal opportunity to include her biography.

  • Cyd Charisse

    • Lucille Holmes
    • 2008-08-13

    Cyd Charisse will remain for all times one of the most beautiful dancers on film. She was extremely beautiful, elegant and talented. Her dancing was superb, especially in the movie The Band Wagon. I was deeply saddened on hearing of her passing. She will always be in my heart and I will continue to watch her movies.

  • One Last Dance

    • Bu Villanueva
    • 2008-07-17

    I first saw Cyd Charisse movies in the late 70s during my teen years. (Classics / musicals were finally in VHS tapes for rent!) Bandwagon, that dancing bit part in Singin' in the Rain, Meet me in Las Vegas and Silk Stockings were the movies that definitely left a lasting impression on me on Ms. Charisse and from then on i was totally hooked on her. She's the best dancer ever, endowed with grace and a beautiful face and body. I grieve on her passing until this very day. I hope that her other movies will be restored and released as tribute to her great artistic contribution to the film academy.

  • The End of an Era.

    • Marion Wilson
    • 2008-06-25

    I am saddened by the passing of this beautiful and talented woman. She was my childhood my idol since I was 12 and has never disappointed. I am so happy that she had such a long and loving life with Tony Martin and her children. She was the best and last great film dancer of all time and a wonderful example for young dancers everywhere. Thank-you so much for doing a tribute to her. No one is more deserving.

  • Goodbye Cyd Charisse

    • Cathy
    • 2008-06-18

    I was saddened this morning on hearing of the passing of Cyd Charisse. My thoughts and prayers are with her and her family. Thank you TCM for having a tribute 06/27/08 to such a lovely and amazingly beautiful dancer. She will be greatly missed.

  • Beauty, Style & Grace Personified

    • Frank
    • 2008-06-18

    The death of Cyd Charisse marks yet another passing legend of the golden age of MGM musicals. My sympathy to her husband, Tony Martin, and her sons.

  • beauty & talent

    • ralph perpetua
    • 2008-01-20

    My opinion; Cyd Charisse & Grace Kelly should be considered the two most beautiful women of the fifties, period.Cyd Charisse having the most talent.

  • Great dancer!!

    • Gloria
    • 2008-01-04

    I agree with all the reviews. I think Cyd is one of the best dancers I've ever seen. I spent New Year's Day watching all the "That's Entertainment" movies and my favorite scenes were the ones with Cyd; especially "Singin' in the Rain". I have an aunt in CA who resembles Cyd and she is always flattered when I tell her this. Cyd is #1 and Eleanor Powell is #2 in my book.

  • cyds the greatest

    • chuck
    • 2007-02-27

    cyd "to me" is the top of the heap in talent as a dancer & in appeal as a woman. I never am bored when i see her perform " which is often as i have over 2000 movies , of many kinds & she is in several .If i could only watch one female dancer, she would be it. chuck

  • Best dancer!!!

    • Yvonne Larkin
    • 2007-02-18

    I agree with Michael York that her legs should be declared national landmarks. I also wish there was a biography program made about her. She deserves a 2 hour program just with her film clips alone much less her life. She is the best. most graceful dancer I have ever seen. I watch movies she is in for her! All this and she's gorgious as well! TCM, I wish you would do a private screenings program with Cyd, it would be great!

  • I'm speechless!!!

    • Cyd Pryor
    • 2007-02-10

    In all the pictures and movies i've seen her in, Ms. Charisse has a cooly sophisticated and sexy attitude. She could work a leg like no other! Ms. Charisse is an inspiration to me and I look up to her, because she has class and grace like no other. Thanks for being a role model for me!

  • wow!!

    • michael york
    • 2006-10-09

    her legs should be declared national landmarks always fascinating to watch and so beautiful despite the studio setting who can think of central park and think of the dancing in the dark number she could also surprise you with a dramatic performance here and there i really liked her in east side west side and party girl

  • Cyd Charisse-a beautiful dancer

    • Ashley
    • 2006-03-13

    While Gene Kelly inspired me to push my body, as a dancer, to its fullest extent-even if it meant bleeding feet and sore muscles, Cyd Charisse gracefully displayed the result of that effort. She was beautiful all of the time, and the way she danced was so moving. Anyone who watches her dances on film is immediately caught in a trance by her lovely charisma. In 9th grade I wrote her a letter telling her how grateful I was for her talents and films, and she very generously sent me back a personalized autographed picture! Two years later I am still starstruck every time I see that photo on my wall.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.