skip navigation
Lon Chaney

Lon Chaney

  • Phantom of the Opera, The (1925, September 22 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Monster, The (1925, October 26 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • London After Midnight (1927, October 31 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • He Who Gets Slapped (1924, November 10 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Wow!

    • Minxy
    • 2013-01-12

    I have such a crush on this man. From his rare early films to his last nothing but a sexy man.

  • My favorite actor of all time

    • Wes Wall
    • 2012-01-02

    Lon Chaney has been my favorite actor for a long time now. Ever since I was a kid, he thrilled me with his amazing portrayals. What always sticks out to me is his sympathetic roles of people who are deformed. I have a deformity of my own, and I always am able to identify with Chaney. Some people claim he tended to over act, but I see it differently. He was very expressive with his hands and face, and when he was overexpressive, it was like he was showing us what was going on inside the person. I've never seen a performance by Chaney that I was disappointed with. I too want to be an actor one day, and Chaney is my biggest inspiration.

  • THE BEST!

    • Laura J
    • 2011-02-02

    I must say that Lon Chaney,Sr is THE BEST silent film actor I have had the pleasure of watching on film. The child of deaf mutes, he used that experience in conveying his emotions though eye and hand gestures. I look forward to watching his films and truly appreciate when TCM plays the oft forgotten ones, which I might add are not very often. TCM please play some more of this great actors films.

  • One of the top 3 greatest actors to have ever

    • Mark
    • 2010-10-04

    graced the silver screen. He conveyed more in a silent film than any actor could verbally portray with sound. I was lucky enough to find a collection of his films online, not all were of perfect quality, but just to be able to view some films that are so difficult to find, ie While The City Sleeps (1928) has made me feel like I didn't waste a cent. I hope TCM plays more and more and more of his films. My favorite of the ones I've seen, so far, is 'He Who Gets Slapped'. Great film with great emotion. He did so much with that role. LOVED IT. He was great in 'Tell It To The Marines', as well. Pulling for a silent film month, to help ease in a possbile silent screen star month, as well. There will never be another Lon Chaney Sr.

  • Never Again

    • Joey
    • 2010-08-01

    Lon Chaney is often lost in the idst of comedic slient actors and heroes, such as Douglass Fairbanks, Chaplan, Valentino, and Laurel and Hardy. All of theese actors were happy go lucky, and went along with the optimism of the 1920's. Chaney, went against that very optimism by playing characters who were miserable, and deformed. Chaney was able to convey a sense of pathos like no other, and his "Phantom" make-up is still as startling as ever. It brings tears to my eyes when I hear about the Chaney legacy, because there will never be another "man of 1,000 faces".

  • Lon Chaney Box Set #2

    • Kevin
    • 2010-02-01

    I agree with other posters hoping for a second Chaney box set. With all the waste being released every month to home video (by all not TCM) it's practically a crime not to release more Lon when you have it! Don't make me go bootleg! I give a nod to Paul Mercer for music to The Unholy Three. His work on Hands Of Orlac was excellent.

  • Leonadis Frank Chaney

    • Misty
    • 2010-01-09

    The best silent film actor, and arguably the best actor ever. Lon Chaney didn't only entertain us, but give us lessons, teach us, and show us that "The dwarfed, misshapen beggar of the streets may have the noblest ideals." - Lon Chaney Sr. He had the right ideas, and was modest about his work as well. "That's all there is to life. A little laughter... a little tear." - Lon Chaney Sr. The Unholy Three, 1930 and 1925 I don't think that there will ever be another Leonadas Frank Chaney. And even though he may be dead, his spirit is still with us, and his movies bring us reminders. One of the greatest actors in history!

  • Lon Chaney

    • J. Gordon
    • 2009-10-19

    I've heard that TMC was coming out with a Lon Chaney box set Vol.2 If so, when!!! There are alot of his movies still not on DVD!!! Why do Chaney fans have to wait! Put them out already!!!Please!!!

  • Lon Chaney

    • Becky Deline
    • 2009-03-31

    Lon Chaney was (and is) without a doubt the best actor ever. It is great to see how skillful he was at becoming a whole new person with his makeup and making that character his very own. We really don't have that kind of talent anymore. I love his movies and I'm really glad that these movies (or quite a few of them) are still around for us to enjoy.

  • Lon!!

    • Joe G.
    • 2008-07-20

    Lets Go TCM! We want the Lon Chaney box set Vol. 2! I heard it was coming out in 2008! Well!!! This is one actor who's complete filmography should be on DVD!!!! It's a crime, that the only way to get Lon's films, are on bootleg DVD's!!TMC Please Hurry!!!

  • Chaney

    • Joe
    • 2008-05-04

    I loved the Lon Chaney Vol. 1 box set! Is there going to be a Vol.2. I hope so! TCM is the one who cares about lon's old movies. Thanks! Long Live Lon!!!

  • a true artist

    • Sean
    • 2008-03-28

    Lon Chaney was in over 150 movies, from his first role (probably in 1914), until his death in 1931. Unfortunately, less that twenty of these are readily available for the home library. Many are completely lost, no known copy exists (eg. The Miracle Man, London After Midnight, All The Brothers Were Valiant). But many more are just not for sale anywhere. If you admire the works of Lon Chaney, you can vote on this website for TMC to release DVDs of them.

  • Timeless Talent

    • Sharon Quinn
    • 2007-09-24

    I have been enjoying all of the silent films presented on Sunday nights. I am most impressed with Lon Chaney and his compelling performances. He is a modern actor in every sense of the word. T the lack of dialogue makes his characterizations even more compelling. He never oveacts and manages to make even the most lurid material palpable. HIs impact is still considerable and even in this age of unimaginably gruesome cinema, he conveys more horror through his physical and psychological characterizations than any contemporary performer. I suppose the greatest tribute to him is the fact that I cannot write of him in the past tense because he remains such a vital talent.

  • Lon Chaney Halloween 2007 marathon.

    • Brook M. Benedict
    • 2007-08-05

    Ryan's idea sounds great to me. This Actor really knows how to make whatever film he starred in come to life.

  • Lon Chaney halloween 2007 marathon please!!!!!!

    • Ryan
    • 2007-07-13

    Lon Chaney is the one of the best actors in the world and I would love to see the phantom of the opera (1925)version and London After Midnight (1927)Reconstructed movie be placed on Turner Classic Movies Halloween Lineup for 2007 this year. thanks!

  • Lon Chaney Rocks!

    • Crystal
    • 2007-06-04

    He has never let me down in any of his performances. He acts with every fiber of his being. Just great. Few actors can compare.

  • Lon Chaney: Simply great.

    • Sara Mattson
    • 2006-09-11

    And not just in the 'biggies' either. ie 'Hunchback' and 'Phantom'. 'The Unholy Three' is one of the coolest silent movies I've ever seen. One of the coolest movies, period. Largely because of his performance. Yes he was incredibly talented with make up, but he was SO much more. Check out 'He Who Gets Slapped' and 'Tell it to the Marines'. Two of his best.

  • Lon Chaney: The man with many Talent.

    • Gregg
    • 2006-04-19

    I have to say Mr. Chaney was a brillent actor during the silent film era. With him in the movie, the silent film can't be boring. It's sad that he left this world so soon at the age of 47, but his memory still lives on in the films he work on such as 'Phantom Of The Opera' 'Hunchback of notre Dame' 'Laugh clown laugh' and many many more. It's a shame that there are some movies of his are lost. But still at least we got some movies that he made still around and not lost that we all can enjoy watching.

  • The Man of a thousand faces..

    • Mike
    • 2006-04-18

    Lon Chaney is my favorite movie actor of the silent screen. His acting as the "twisted" characters he portrayed are in some of my favorite movies. I suggest anyone who is a fan of horror to see his movies. His roles in "The Pantom of the Opera," "Laugh Clown, Laugh," and "The Unknown" are in my opinion, some of the greatest horror preformances given in Hollywood. Lon Chaney's wide variety of rolls is what makes him more known then most forgotten silent stars today.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.