skip navigation
Jack Carson

Jack Carson

  • Two Guys From Milwaukee (1946, October 01 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Mr. and Mrs. Smith (1941, October 06 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Blues In The Night (1941, October 09 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Bringing Up Baby (1938, October 13 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Mr. Doodle Kicks Off (1938, October 14 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Love Jack Carson, too!

    • Carol G
    • 2014-01-24

    I'm always so happy when I watch a new movie and discover Mr. Carson is in it. He was one of the most talented, energetic, quick, delightful and handsome, movie men. I love that he would leave the hectic pace of Hollywood, to become a clown, that must of been such a joy for him! I just saw his movie, earlier today, where he played himself as a ham actor! What a treat! Thanks TCM for bringing us such great stars, in superb movies!

  • love jack carson

    • learning richard
    • 2013-07-29

    I agree with a lot of folks that Jack Carson never received the recognition he earned and well deserved. I wish I knew more about him... He seems like the kind of guy I'd like to have a beer with to be sure. Any recommendations on biographies on Mr. Carson? It would be awesome if TCM did something on him.

  • Jack Carson has *It*

    • muriel
    • 2012-04-30

    Carson could sing and dance, comedy or drama. Charming or scallawag. He was loaded with sex appeal. He can put his shoes under my bed any time.

  • Jack Carson

    • Kendra
    • 2010-06-21

    I loved Jack Carson from the very first time that I saw him on screen. He's expressive, funny and handsome. It's a shame that he died at such a young age.

  • Great Actor

    • Martha Armstrong
    • 2009-06-15

    I think you need more Jack Carson movies. I miss watching his old shows. He was a hoot. I enjoyed him with Dennis Morgan, Doris Day, etc. I realizse Hope and Crosby were the duo at the time but these guys were definitely 2nd. Please show moreo Carson shows.

  • JACK CARSON_ MAGNETIC STAR

    • al
    • 2009-06-14

    Jack Carson had a career that goes way back but,his style is very modern ,indeed.

  • jack carson- very impressive

    • donna harris
    • 2009-06-08

    Please have more Jack Carson films on your wonderful station.

  • Jack Carson Retrospective

    • John Bellew
    • 2009-05-31

    It would be great to have a special with Jack Carson movies. He was a great character actor whose talents were many and varied. He should be remembered.

  • Early Death Of a Truly Memorable Super Star

    • jeannemarie
    • 2009-05-28

    Jack made an imprint in films even though he died so young.I request a Jack Carson month..

  • REMEMBERING JACK CARSON ON MEMORIAL DAY

    • cafow
    • 2009-05-23

    I REMEMBER JACK AND HIS WONDERFUL APPEARANCES IN FILMS THAT SHOULD BE SHOWN EVERY MONTH OF THE YEAR ESPECIALLY IN OCTOBER>

  • Bring on a jack carson festival

    • patricia
    • 2009-05-18

    When i see a Jack Carson movie. i am always impressed with his looks and talent.Lets set aside a month for his movies.

  • A STAR TO REMEMBER JACK CARSON

    • gene
    • 2009-05-15

    Jack Carson performed at many studios. His best films were produced at Warners. He was always counted to deliver a fine performance and he always did turn in a perfect performance. Please TCM tell us more about this fine performer of a more gentle time.

  • Please give us a full bio for Jack Carson

    • jude
    • 2009-05-13

    Jack Carson was certainly a very versatile performer. request for a full bio on Jack.

  • TCM SHOULD GIVE MORE LITERATURE ON JACK CARSON.

    • paige
    • 2009-05-12

    Many of the stars TCM has literature on have columns but very literature on Jack Carson. Since Jack was a prominent star you should have aricles and columns on Jack. He never is more modern day as in the current era. Be fare to Jack Carson.

  • Run Jack Carson again

    • tianine
    • 2009-05-10

    I just caught Mildred Pierce with Jack Carson Again . i just like looking at him. sooo sexy.

  • Make Room George Clooney

    • Tori Goldsmith
    • 2009-05-10

    They say George Clooney is handsome and they are right. But i just saw Jack Carson in Mildred Pierce. My Gadd he is such a hunk.

  • What a good actor he was

    • Bonnie Brooks
    • 2009-05-10

    Here on Sunday May 10, 2009, I watched Jack Carson in Mildred Pierce. This man was a handson man with lots of class. It is a shame that he died at an early age to cancer. Whatever he acted in he was a great actor. He was just great. He should have gotten an award for acting in Mildred Pierce. He was great great great. Can't say anything else but great. Bonnie Brooks of WV.

  • Jack Carson October Month

    • Jill
    • 2009-05-10

    I like the Jack Carson films tcm shows. why not bring them all on in a month.

  • Jack Carson every Sunday

    • dori
    • 2009-05-10

    I just watched Jack Carson in Mildred Pierce. Please show Jack Carson films every Sunday. Jack is such a versatile actor - comedy, musicals ,drama. Jack always did it well. Perfection and talent and impressive.

  • A Jack Caron month on TCM - I'm there!

    • Keith Moore
    • 2009-05-09

    Jack Carson is one of my favorite character actors and it is about time he be given the respect he is due. Not only a great comedian, buthe was a great dramatic actor as well. And don't under estimate his chemistry with Eve Arden!

  • PLEASE GIVE JACK CARSON A MONTH OF MOVIES>

    • Christy
    • 2009-04-30

    PLEAse Give JACK CARSON A FULL MONTH OF MOVIES

  • did he ever take a break

    • aurson
    • 2009-04-30

    while watching my favorite station and a great movie(mildred pierce) i noticed jack carson again and wondered what wasn't he in and how much i really love his characters. i know if i see his name in a movie i would really be enjoying myself. i rated him up there with some of my favorites william powell, cary grant, james stewart

  • PLEAse GiveJACK CARSON A FULL MONTH OF MOVIES

    • frank
    • 2009-04-15

    PLEASE GIVE JACK CARSON A MONTH OF MOVIES>

  • Handsome is the word for Jack.

    • Lee Anne Holt
    • 2009-03-15

    Jack always turns me on especially in Mildred Pierce.

  • TALL DARK AND HANDSOME.

    • donna micco
    • 2009-03-15

    Jack Carson makes todays leading men all look like pantywaists.Its so apparent in such films as Mildred Pierce and The Bramble Bush.

  • A heavenly man...

    • nancy
    • 2009-03-15

    Jack Carson is a classic man's man (and woman's man) Whenever I see him on screen...I just wish I could have a cup of coffee with him or a martini. He's fantastic! Mesmerizing. Handsome. Smooth. Get the picture?

  • MILDRED PIERCE AND JACK CARSON GO TOGETHER

    • pattie
    • 2009-03-14

    Wally was a perfect role for Jack and he did so well. Bravo.

  • Jack Carson was great on friday night.

    • sally
    • 2009-03-14

    Jack always impresses bring him on every friday night.

  • MR. Muscles

    • wllow
    • 2009-03-14

    Was Jack Carson ever A football player. He has some build.

  • Jack Carson handsome in Mildred Pierce

    • nancy fulcher
    • 2009-03-14

    Jack was some handsome guy.

  • Jack Carson sexy in Mildred Pierce.

    • sherrie
    • 2009-03-14

    Jack Carson was ssssoooo handsome in Mildred Pierce.

  • VERY FUNNY DUDE

    • Nancy Gentile
    • 2009-03-13

    I Just caught Jack in a comedy Joan Leslie And Olivia Dehaviland. it was on TCM. He spells sex.

  • Sexy Guy

    • myrna mertz
    • 2009-03-12

    I find Jack Carson to be just about the sexiest film star of all time.

  • A Month Of Jack Carson

    • william
    • 2009-03-04

    I dont think Jack carson ever made a bad performance. In each film he seems to be perfection. Canada must be proud of him.

  • Actor Jack Carson

    • Robertalopez
    • 2009-02-25

    I agree with these peoples who reqested a month of Jack Carson movies for a Month, every other Star get a month for all there movies so should Jack Crason. Thank You Robert A. Lopez

  • I became aware of jack carson only recently.

    • denise buckley
    • 2009-02-21

    Its through old movies that i became a fan of Jack Carson. Please give us a month of Carson films.

  • Funny Jack Carson

    • maureen
    • 2009-02-18

    Jack Carson could do any kind of role. But i especially liked him in his comedy roles. Please give us a month of Carson.

  • Can we please have Jack Carson for a month.

    • kelly brooks
    • 2009-02-12

    The more i see Jack Carson on your tcm channel the more i come impressed with the channel. Can we have Jack Carson for a month.

  • Jack CArson deserves a full month of screenings.

    • Rex
    • 2009-02-11

    Jack Carson was an interesting performer in musicals, comedies and drama.Lets have a full month of Jack Carson.

  • Excellent in Mildred Pierce and Roughly Speaking

    • pat
    • 2009-02-09

    Jack Carson just always is remarkable in his motion pictures. Please have a month of his films.

  • JACK CARSON MONTH

    • ray
    • 2009-02-03

    Jack had a fine career long before i arrived . I think giving him a month would be a nice salute to this talented man.

  • A MONTH WITH JACK CARSON

    • nick
    • 2009-02-02

    hIS CAREER WAS SO DIVERSE. SO MANY DIFFERENT CHARACTERS IN SO MANY DIVERSE ROLES. JACK COULD DO ANYTHING.PLEASE RUN A MONTH OF JACK CARSON FILMS. THE PUBLIC WILL BE IMPRESSED BY EXTRODINARY TALENT..

  • all around film personality

    • murphy
    • 2009-01-30

    jack carson could do any kind of role and he did them all well. i think tcm should show a month of his films.

  • a month of jack carson

    • jan
    • 2009-01-30

    i was not around when jack starred on the big screen and became a fan long after he passed away. i think tcm should remember this terrific talent with a month of his films. he was the sexiest character star of all time.

  • a month of jack carson movies

    • mitch
    • 2009-01-19

    Considering his short time on earth, he managed to give wonderful performances in a batch of warner films including a star is born. mildred pierce,the male animal, the good humor man, the hard way, roughly speaking, blues in the night, bright leaf, bramble bush, april showers, romance on the high seas,arsenic and old lace etc. etc etc.Jack also did some wonderful films at rko, mgm, universal , paramount, fox etc etc.He could and did every kind of role. Now is time to put him in the limelight. he was a standout performer.Give jack a month.

  • This man's work should be remembered

    • Kevin S.Burler
    • 2009-01-18

    Mr.Jack Carson was one of Hollywood's most unsung performers. He did alot of great performances in numerious films and radio and tv shows. But? He was neevr recognized a a truly talented and versitle entertainer. His work has been ignored by the industry and oftimes by some historians as a minor character performer. Many forget his work in dramas like Cat On A Hot Tin Roof. Where he played the greedy and manipulative shyster Grooper. Next to Ms.Taylor and the late Mr.Newman... Mr.Carson's performance was the most outstanding. He was also funny as a likeable bumbler in films like The Good Humor Man and Strawberry Blonde. And Mr.Carson go also sing and dance and play a romantic type wooing Doris Day in MY Dream Is Yours. Since TCM has honored other unsung performers with an all day film marathon that remembers their work? I'd like to ask the heads of TCM to please screen the following films that will best remember the screen efforts of this forgotten talent:Strawberry Blonde, My Dream Is Yours,The Good Humor Man,A Star Is Born(The 1954 color musical remake) and Cat On A Hot Tin Roof.

  • Let's have a Jack Carson month.

    • Frances Redmond
    • 2009-01-17

    Jack Carson has got to be one of the most underrated actors ever. He was just perfect - that's why I have this site: jackcarson.atspace.com and that's why I would really want a month of Jack Carson movies - he's worth it.

  • This is during my "era"

    • Lois Putzier
    • 2009-01-13

    I was in my teens to late twenties when Carson was making movies, and I always though he was under-rated and under-used.

  • I am jack's daughter with Kay St. Germain

    • Catherine Carson
    • 2009-01-11

    I think a Jack Carson movie month would be wonderful! He has 3 grandchildren(twin girls and a grandson) and 6 grandchildren all of whom were born after his early passing.....to see him on TV for a full month would be fabulous for them. Over the years I have been so touched by the many websites and awesome comments from fans all over the world that have made their way to both me and my brother. I thank TCM for their various, wonderful tributes to this great man through the years. As for the survey below, some of the questions are going to be very difficult for me to answer - especially the one on "sex appeal"...grins.

  • jack carson deserves a full month on tcm

    • michael boyle
    • 2008-12-20

    jack carson always a standout even in is early films when he was doing support. his films with denis morgan are more entertaining than the crosby -hope films. women liked his sexy looks. he could sing, dance, act,and dance. he could be hero, villan or even just an average guy.he ventured into films, radio, tv, stage and even nightclubs.he did lots of summer stock. he had just about the last variety radio series.he projected great warmth in his good guy roles. his imprint in films require that he be given a full month treatment on tcm.was he a comedian, an actor , a character actor star, a song and dance man? he was all.,

  • Jack Carson

    • Dorene
    • 2008-11-28

    I watched Mildred Pierce tonight. Jack didn't get the girl. He was SSSOOOOO HANDSOME in the movie. I hope you will do a day (like today of Bette Davis and Joan Crawford) of Jack's movies. i want to see more of him on TCM. Seeing his biog., that he was married so many times, he sounds like he was quite the charmer too.

  • Great and talented actor

    • Marilyn Cunningham
    • 2008-08-10

    Enjoy his movies and his ability to change character.

  • Great character actor

    • Ralph
    • 2007-09-07

    Stellar supporter, with testosterone to spare. Always likeable, and easy to recognize with that big whole moon of a face and that sly grin. Bright and physical. Hail-fellow well-met, an antique, Golden-Age type. Even as a heel he was gallant.

  • Easily underrated

    • Lisa
    • 2007-08-11

    Lead or supporting role, Carson always stands outs in his films, in part, for being able to become whatever character he is playing.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.