skip navigation
James Cagney

James Cagney

  • These Wilder Years (1956, July 16 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Taxi! (1932, July 17 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Winner Take All (1932, July 17 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Footlight Parade (1933, July 17 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Hard To Handle (1933, July 17 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • More Cagney

    • Fran
    • 2014-06-12

    Since I have just finished reading on your site that there are at least 82 James Cagneys films out there, I am hoping that I can convince you to show more of his films more often. You seem to favor certain actors and while that is fine since it is your channel, I really get tired of all the reruns each 2-3 months. I personally consider "Classic" movies to be of the 20s, 30's, and forties. Please reconsider your recent changes that include much too recent films that are rerun over a 2 month period and all year. I love Classic and I adore James Cagney. Please show more and aquire more of his films.

  • Cagney is (and Always Will Be) "All the Fudge"

    • #1CagneyFan
    • 2013-11-27

    I'll never forget the second time I watched Strawberry Blonde. I say second because the first time I was five and didn't pay attention...for shame! But I was absolutely captivated the next time. I asked my mom and dad, "Just who is the guy playing Biff?" And my father told me it was James Cagney. The only other Cagney movie we owned was Angels with Dirty Faces, and I watched it straightaway. I've now seen it numerous times, and I still cry every time at the end. Only Cagney could make you sympathize with a guy who's just shot down about nine cops AND Bogart. My invariable greeting amongst all my friends is now "Whadda ya hear, Whadda ya say?" I love tough guy gangster Cagney, but his dancing is impeccable! I once saw a meme that said "Forget Fred Astaire for a moment...James Cagney is dancing on air!" I wholeheartedly agree. It's not just Cagney's screen presence that's so great; it's his presence off the screen that really endears him. He was a real stand-up guy; uncorrupted by the foibles of Hollywood. He's one actor (of what seems to be extremely few) to have had a successful marriage. His love for animals also makes him that much more personable. If you have never watched a Cagney movie, I implore you to do so! Yankee Doodle Dandy is a great place to start, or really any Cagney movie for that matter. I am eighteen years old, and my only regret about being a young fan is that I didn't have the chance to meet this one of a kind gentleman.

  • James Cagney

    • Terry
    • 2012-05-25

    Jamres Cagney's the most amazing! can you please dedicate a month to him and play angels with dirty.faces? Thank you.

  • yankle doodle dandey

    • pat
    • 2011-03-06

    i am a big fan of James Cagney. He was a talented actor. funny and full of sparks. Yankee Doodle Dandy is one on my favourate films.i have not seen it for quite some time.

  • James Cagney

    • Mobile
    • 2011-02-07

    A tough guy and a song and dance man ~~ need one say more!

  • James Cagney

    • David Muscatello
    • 2010-08-26

    I love old & classic movies, especially when James Cagney is in it. He has to be one of my all time favorite actors. I watch his movies over & over again. They forgot to mention he was also a great dancer. You just gotta love him. I doubt if there will ever be another one like him.

  • James Cagney

    • Eric
    • 2010-06-07

    Hes is a great classic actor with absolute screen presence.

  • James Cagney!

    • Terry Suarez
    • 2010-05-26

    The everyday man plus more! Look at all the professions he worked....but most of all...in my opinion he was a greater dancer than Fred Astaire or Gene Kelly. What an actor......broad scope! I wish I could have met him in person.....

  • I<3JAMES CAGNEY (: !

    • taylor
    • 2009-12-28

    I LOVE JAMES CAGNEY!! HE WAS A BRILLIANT ACTOR. HE WILL BE FOREVER MISSED BY HIS FAMILY,FRIENDS,COWORKERS & FANS. HE IS ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVORITE ACTORS. HE IS ONE OF THE GREATS OF HIS ERA. I LOVE ALL HIS WORKS, THAT HE HAS DONE OVER THE YEARS. I DONT THINK MANY ACTORS CAN COMPETE WITH THIS LEGENDARY ACTOR. HE HAS ROSE THE BAR ,FOR ALL FUTURE ACTORS AND ACTRESSES. ANDI THINK HIS TIME ,CAME TO QUICK. BUT IN REGARDS TO EVERYONE, SORRY FOR THERE LOSS, BUT WE CAN STILL CHERISH OUR MEMORIES OF HIM, THROUGH HIS CLASSIC AND LEGENDARY FILMS. <3 (:

  • he'll never be forgotten!

    • d.j.ambrose
    • 2009-10-04

    i have admired james cagney for many years, i've always said that if i could live my life over, i'd love to live in his era. to have known him must have been such a pleasure. he was a great man.

  • A great all around actor!

    • Josephus Sayer
    • 2009-09-29

    The first time I seen a Cagney movie I was only 10. Angels with Dirty Faces was showing. After that I was hooked I stayed up for 24 hours watching Cagney movies. The thing I loved most was you never see him hit a person who was smaller than him. And as I watched I noticed he wasn't a big guy in the first place and nether was I. I truly felt like I could relate to him.

  • My favortie actor of all time

    • Hope Larkin
    • 2009-07-30

    James Cagney has always been my favorite actor of all time. I started watching his movies with my parents when I was a child & have not yet encountered anyone I think is a better entertainer. TCM should allocate more air-time to James Cagney's movies. Movies such as "The Roaring Twenties" and "The Strawberry Blonde" have not been aired in a long time. TCM should devote one whole evening to nothing other than James Cagney movies. TCM should also consider "Yankee Doodle Dandy" for "The Essentials".

  • cagney was a great entertainer

    • margaret nolan
    • 2009-07-22

    I remember watching Cagney movies when I was younger. I loved every one of them. One of my favorites was "Mister Roberts." He was great!

  • Not really a review, a request

    • Kat
    • 2009-07-21

    James Cagney was one of a kind. Song and dance man, but played comedy and gangster, well, he could do anything. One of the most unique and quirky guys to grace the screen. Unfortunately, his movies can be REALLY hard to come by. PLEASE post his movies for "Suggest A Movie." I've never seen The Strawberry Blonde or Ceiling Zero, which seem about impossible to get. Or anything else. More Cagney!!!

  • Cagney was Great!

    • Jman
    • 2009-06-29

    If you want to know how great Cagney was, ask John Tavolta. A lot of people don't know or have forgotten Cagney's abilities as a dancer. The way he moved and carried himself were first rate.

  • james cagney: the best

    • robert beatty
    • 2009-05-26

    james cagney was the greatest of all movie stars. a great natural actor with the tough guy persona. cagney starred in many classic warner bros. pictures through out the 30's and early 40's. he portrayed gangsters, cocky heroes, song and dance men etc. classic pics include "the public enemy", "g-men", "angels with dirty faces", "the roaring twenties", "each dawn i die", "the fighting 69th", "white heat", "mister roberts" and "love me or leave me". cagney was the king of gangster films, but he played a wide range of roles including not only in drama but comedy. cagney is warner bros. simply the best who influenced tons of other actors to follow. he had early on in his career the good looks and raw sex appeal that made him a instant star. the baby face bad boy of the movies.

  • Probably the Greatest Actor of them all!

    • Charles G
    • 2009-04-01

    No other actor, who, made a mark in films has the versatility of this performer. From hard hitting gangster roles, musicals, serious drama, and to pretty good comedy too. I can't think of any other actor in the history of filmdom, who is this versatile! No one.

  • the great cagney

    • george
    • 2009-03-24

    cagney was the best

  • The Cag

    • Kai
    • 2009-03-11

    Cagney kills Bogie in every film they did together; that knocks me out. He was always on his toes being a real song and dance man. Any actor who has chops is a dancer for real. Love his style. Dread his fists. Certainly.

  • Another James Cagney Month on TCM

    • Jenny
    • 2008-11-14

    Can you guys have another James Cagney month on TCM, preferably in January, May, or June? I missed the last Cagney month because I didn't really care about him and was unfamiliar with him then. I only really cared about the Marx Brothers then.

  • the best

    • rocky
    • 2008-09-22

    When there was a vote for best actor of all time. Humphrey Bogart won. He was great but second banana to jimmy. From the first film I remember seeing him in angels with dirty faces. to love me or leave me to rag time the best actor. hands down was James Cagney. He could make you cry, laugh,put fear into you all the emotion a actor can have he had.no one is close to him dancing,singing he held is own with the best.

  • James Cagney

    • Lorraine Zollo
    • 2008-07-09

    James Cagney never uttered an obscene word, did a nude scene or appeared with anyone that did. He was the consumate actor and could do anything..make you laugh or make you cry. I wonder if the films of the so called actors we have today will still want to be seen and still enjoyed 25 years after they are gone! It doesn't take much talent to use four letter words or take your clothes off. Imagine becoming a great actor without doing any of that. Amazing!

  • Can't Touch Cagney

    • Theresa
    • 2008-05-19

    Having viewed actor James Cagney in many of his 60+ films, having studied his life and relationships with fellow actors, friends, and co-workers, I feel qualified to say that he is one of the most appealing and talented of men. On film, he is honest and moving as a portrayer of the human condition. He is unpredictable and innovative; ahead of his time. I have been exposed to no other actor -from the classics to today- who moves me like he does or who incites my gaze to be riveted on him when he is on the screen. His personal life - as a philanthropist, a faithful husband, a humble, kind, and generous man - sets him apart from, and above, the aloof, self-centered, elitist, so-called celebrities of today. None come close. James Cagney is one of a kind.

  • Jimmy's a legend - so talanted and unforgettable

    • Jill
    • 2008-04-17

    such a rare talant, appealing - tough, yet a gentleman, confident, sophisticated, great example of a leading man on and off screen

  • Jimmy Cagney will punch you hard in the face .....

    • bzerkr
    • 2008-03-25

    Jimmy is the manliest man in film history ...... PRAISE HIM .... };>{>

  • The Best

    • Stacy Pulliam
    • 2008-03-15

    Period.

  • Cagney is inimitable!

    • Theresa
    • 2008-03-06

    James Cagney was creative, innovative, and inimitable. It's so great to see James Cagney's movies being shown on TCM. Thanks for introducing him to a whole new generation of Cagney fans!

  • THE GREATEST ACTOR OF ALL TIME!!!

    • Dottie benedict
    • 2008-02-12

    James cagney is by far my all time favorite actor My grandmother was also a hugh Jimmy cagney fan. we had just about every movie he ever made. we tried collecting the posters from our Fav. movies yankee doodle dandy and angels with dirty faces but never could find a store that sold them. could will always be the best actor. we even saw his final movie terrible joe moran which was pure cagney. we need more actors like him. dottie benedict

  • Thank you for Cagney month

    • Karen
    • 2008-02-07

    I would like to thank TCM for making James Cagney the star of the month in January. I have become an ardent James Cagney fan and so has my thirteen year old son. Prior to the past month, I was not familiar with James Cagney's movies. Because of your efforts, you brought joy and inspiration to not only me, but to a member of the young generation (my son). In this way, James Cagney will certainly carry on in the memory of generations to come. I now know why he was a legend. Cagney month also made a TCM fan out of me. Thank you.

  • The Best!

    • Brandi
    • 2008-02-02

    I've enjoyed TCM's month of Cagney & I can't tell you how sad I am that its over! Cagney was the best actor of his time, or any time for that matter! I've never been glued to the screen like I am when one of his movies is on. "Angels With Dirty Faces" is one of my favorites and the last scenes always make me cry like a baby. Jimmy just had that certain something that made you fall in love with his characters. He was gorgeous, he was hilarious, and he was talented. I only wish the actors of today could even come close to comparing!

  • Pre-Hays Code Cagney

    • art
    • 2008-01-25

    Been watching the early Cagney films on TCM and am amazed at Cagney's great naturalism and charisma for the era! I think that these early films (like Winner Take All, The St. Louis Kid, Blonde Crazy, etc) feature some of his best work. Catch the funny little bits of business he works into scenes, the athleticism he shows (jumping off/over things in St. Louis Kid, w/o a stunt guy!)... While I like ALL his work, I was never that big a fan of YDD as some are, but I feel that the BEST of JC is on display in these early films.. Besides, you get to see him work with Bette Davis, Edward G. Robinson, and Joan Blondell! I feel that he would've been a star in ANY era.

  • The MOST REAL actor that ever lived

    • Joie Fulton
    • 2008-01-23

    He gave you unbelievable realistic personnas on the screen. He gave the bad guy a conscience; the good guy every reason to love 'em, and the musical man a reason to sing and dance. He wasn't afraid to shed actual tears and he wasn't afraid to put 100% of him on the screen. If he had any fears about whatever role he played on screen, he knew how to make the fear make his character [at the time] even more believable and genuine. I just wish I had gotten to know him the way Burt Reynolds got to know Spencer Tracy.

  • MOst Versatile Actor of His or any time

    • Gregg
    • 2008-01-18

    There was nothing he could not do as an actor. Drama, Comedy, Musical . Everything he did he excelled at with a versatility unmatched . Even today there is no one who can compare to this legend .

  • The Most Versatile Screen Actor of All Time

    • Roxy
    • 2008-01-16

    There was nothing this man couldn't do better than anyone else on the screen. He is a joy to watch - in comedy, musicals, or in melodrama - he made it look as effortless as taking a breath. I have been a fan of his since I was a small child and first watched him in "The Public Enemy." I never looked at a grapefruit without thinking of Mr. Cagney! I am thrilled that TCM is honoring him as "Star of the Month" - it is long overdue. May his film legacy continue to inspire and entertain cineastes and film lovers. He was one in ten million, that's for sure!

  • Real Cutey!

    • amy
    • 2008-01-15

    I think James Cagney was so cute. He wasnt like some of the other actors of that era that couldnt act. He could act no doubt!

  • Cagney - The greatest actor of his or our time

    • Gregg
    • 2008-01-15

    There was no one as versatile as James cagney . Be it Drama, Comedy, Musical's he could and did it all. The actors of our time even consider him the best . Pacino, DeNiro, Hoffman, Brando , Travolta , Eastwood have said the same. He comes on the screen and you are just immersed in his acting, personality and vitility. He was really the first method actor. Just va brilliant actor who was ahead of his time. BRAVO TCM for honoring his extreem talent !

  • James Cagney: My Hereo

    • Holly Ward
    • 2008-01-06

    I would love to have known James Cagney. His movies are the greatest; regardless of the person he played gangster or lover, he was my hero...and still is. I'm working desperately to buy or collet all of his movies. This article on James Cagney, like Turner Classic Movies is the best. Holly

  • James Cagney

    • laura
    • 2008-01-03

    Thanks very much for the great tribute in January for my all time favorite actor! Please remember - his birthday is in July and it would be great to see a birthday salute to him!!! Would love to see more of his movies more often.. I have been a fan of his for a very long time and just love him! Thanks!!!

  • The Most Electrifying presence in American Film.

    • edward decker
    • 2007-08-11

    James Cagney has been my favorite actor since I first saw him at the age of 8 in "Angels with Dirty Faces". I don't believe any actor of his era brought to the screen the same originality of acting style. This was totally unique to Cagney. Although I certainly feel that actors like Cary Grant, Henry Fonda and James Stewart were equally as good, something about Cagney caught my imagination and has held it for 40 years. I think is is a testament to his talent as an actor and his staying power in the film medium that actors from Gene Hackman, Clint Eastwood and Robert Redford to John Travolta, Michael J Fox and Carrol O' Conner have cited him as a major influence on their careers.

  • WONDERFUL ACTOR

    • Jake Rogers
    • 2007-07-17

    James Cagney James Cagney,what does that name mean?It means just more than actor,it means a hero.He is in my top five.He made wonderful pictures of our days.

  • The Man

    • Alex
    • 2007-04-26

    The best actor of all-time, period.

  • UNFORGETTABLE!!!

    • Minnie
    • 2007-03-16

    This is my favorite #1 movie of all times, know it by heart....Everytime it is shown, my sister calls me to tell me to go home from work to watch it...She plays it for me over the phone when the songs and dance (especially the dance scenes) come on. I just love James Cagney in this movie....What a "Heart Throb"!!!

  • Huge talent

    • Angela
    • 2007-03-13

    James Cagney is always such a joy to watch, whatever his role. He could play a variety of roles and never fails to amaze. A giant of classic cinema, and one of my absolute favourites. Love you, James!

  • Dynamite comes in small packages

    • Karen
    • 2007-03-09

    Mr. Cagney may have been a small man, but his talent and his personality was enormous. This man could melt a movie screen with his explosive charisma and luckily for the world, he left his mark in several outstanding classics. Check him out in films like White Heat, The Roaring Twenties or Yankee Doodle Dandy, and witness what a great star is capable of doing.

  • Most Talented Actor Ever!

    • Jel Lewis-Jones
    • 2006-12-10

    My opinion is that: James Cagney was the most talented actor to ever grace a stage! Watching him performance is so real and alive until it's more like looking through a window into someone's private life than watching a make-believe film.

  • I love James Cagney movies.

    • Lanita
    • 2006-11-03

    James Cagney is one of my all time favorites

  • Greatest Ever

    • Diana Kaye
    • 2006-09-02

    James Cagney was the greatest actor ever to grace the screen. He played a good gangster, was a wonderful hoofer and played comedy every bit as well as he played tough and had a sex appeal that wouldn't quit. I have loved James Cagney acting ever since I was a little girl and his BEST movie without a doubt was "Yankee Doodle Dandy". As far as how he was off the screen I don't know but on the screen there was and never will be anyone better.

  • ALL THE GREAT LINES

    • JANEO
    • 2006-08-08

    JIMMY WAS TOUGH AND SEXY. HE WAS THE MASTER OF THE WISEGUY TALK. WHERE DID ALL THE GOOD GUYS GO? NO ONE COMES CLOSE TO HIS TALENT AND SCREEN PRESENTS. I CAN'T GET ENOUGH OF HIS ACTION. I WANT TO MARRY JAMES CAGNEY IN MY SECOND LIFE.

  • James Cagney

    • o.a.c.
    • 2006-07-26

    One of the finest actors of any generation.The toughness he portrayed on screen was him in real life,yet deep down he was a good soul.My greatest Cagney moment was seeing him horored by the A.F.I.

  • James Cagney

    • Nova
    • 2006-07-18

    Never will be another person to equal his talent. He is still and always will be AMAZING to watch on screen. Sexy, strong, and loveable. Yet seemed to be a great person off-camera. What a human being, talented, full of feelings. What a star!

  • James Cagney

    • Virginia Hammer
    • 2006-05-22

    The most wonderful actor there was. WHAT A GENTLE YET TOUGH SPIRIT. You said it, Mr. McConnell, the reviewer right before me. They do NOT make 'em like that anymore. FARAWAY FELLA JIMMY FOREVER!

  • ONE OF THE BEST

    • william mcconnell
    • 2006-04-23

    JIMMY WAS A MAN. HE WAS NOT LIKE THE PUSSY FOOTS OF TODAY. HE ACTED. TODAY THEY ARE JUST STANDINS FOR EXPLOSIONS..CAR CHASES...VIOLENCE. THAT MAKES THEM A STAR??? BRING BACK THE GOOD ONES.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.