skip navigation
Louise Brooks

Louise Brooks

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Sexy Lady

    • Baby Boomer
    • 2011-12-27

    Pandora's Box, a constant on my Tivo, is one of those classic cases of a director making love to his muse with a camera, and Louise deserved every moment of attention she received. What a startling beauty. Vincent Minnelli advised his daughter Liza to study Brooks in preparation for her role in Cabaret and while Liza did a great homage, no one could top the original.

  • what can you say

    • tom
    • 2011-02-09

    The camera loved Louise Brooks--I love her.

  • If Louise Brooks did nothing else . . .

    • MichelleGabrielle
    • 2011-02-01

    Well, of course, we have GW Pabst to thank. How he never wanted to remove the camera from Our Miss Brooks! On top of everything else, did you love the every-now-and-then slo-mo thing he gave us of her turning her head from side to side! Just a director in love with his muse, and thank God it showed! You could write reams on his photographing her, and she deserves it! She just gives and gives! Fabulous cinema, and a brilliant example of why the Silents are the Parthenon. Did you need dialogue last night? Nothing more could have spoiled the mood. And this from a writer! Silents are what cinema is all about: the visual. Let's see, is there anything like her in today's cinema? Hmmm, well, nothing pops up for me! Kind of tells you something about today's ho-hum movie passings. Thank you, TCM! Again!1968B2

  • Pandora's Box

    • William Hedge
    • 2011-01-31

    Thank you TCM --- I have discovered Louise Brooks!!!!! Brilliant, beguiling and beautiful!!!!! Everything a star of any period - especially today - could ever imagine or hope to be!! This was "Chicago" before Fosse had "Chicago"!!!! My deepest Gratitude - you are doing GREAT work!! William

  • A dear friend

    • Lin Fields
    • 2008-05-10

    I was blessed to know Louise when I lived in Rochester NY. She was such a dear person, and such a cantankerous "old broad - her words". One of my favorite memories of Louise was one day when I was visiting her - it was when she was being presented with an award at the Eastman House's Night of a Thousand Stars. She wasn't able to attend - her health was failing. She said - "they don't want to see this old broad anyhow!". She always had a joke and a smile, and one thing about Louise.. if you visited her, if you called her, she always made a note of it in a journal at her bedside. I'd had loved to see what she wrote about me! She was one of a kind, and I was blessed to know her. I do miss her.

  • Brooksie's the Best!

    • Tracey
    • 2007-05-05

    Louise Brooks has achieved what few silent screen stars have been capable of -that of remaining significant to this day. On the surface, her acting style appears to be one of "less-is-more," as she rarely displayed the exaggerated technique so common to the silent era. In truth, she was a master of subtlety, exhibiting with a single glance a depth of feeling and intensity that spoke volumes. To the viewer, she was a vision, with doe-like eyes and a hair style that, then as now, made her instantly recognizable. For a young woman who stood only 5'2" tall, she was larger than life on stage. That the camera loves her look has long been undisputed, but it is her heart and spirit that are just as apparent and appreciated on screen. What makes her even more beloved now is not only who she was, but also who she became: a clear-eyed witness to Hollywood and human nature; an gifted actress who evolved into a talented writer, all the while holding the truths of her life as sacred, exposing the bad times as freely as she did the good. The combination of her expressive gifts as an actress with her ability to survive the harsh realities of life after Hollywood are as much a rarity now as ever, and endear her to us even more. Where others hit bottom and stayed there after their careers faltered, Louise Brooks rallied and triumphed over what has always been a common end to many tinsletown stories. The reason for this, simply put, is that she was a life force no less in person than on screen, and it was this fierce will that not only made her unique in cinema, but also endeared her to her public then, and continues to do so now.

  • Louise Brooks

    • Willis
    • 2007-01-24

    Louise Brooks came to be appreciated long after she was "black listed" in Hollywood. She had a natural style of acting and great beauty. Her role as Lulu in Pandora's Box is one of the great performances of all time. Her Dutch bob hair style and tremendous sex appeal made her an icon of the Jazz Age. She was a sexually liberated woman who played very modern roles for the silent era.

  • WOW

    • Taylor
    • 2006-08-27

    The only Louise Brooks film I have seen is Pandora's Box, but that one film was enough to convince me that she is an amazing actress. I have also read Lulu in Hollywood. That book conviced me that she is a great writer too.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.