skip navigation
Walter Brennan

Walter Brennan

  • Wicked Woman, A (1934, July 31 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Meet John Doe (1941, August 05 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Riptide (1934, August 16 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • How the West Was Won (1962, August 20 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Bad Day At Black Rock (1955, August 23 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • One Of The Best Actors

    • Beth
    • 2013-03-06

    I watched him yesterday on TCM in "Goodbye My Lady" When I was a kid, my Family never missed "The Real McCoys" on T.V. I think he reminded me of my Grampa & later years of my Life...My Dad His acting came from wisdom & his heart. I plan on buying a couple of his DVD`s to share with my 2 sons. I`d like for them to watch his movies.

  • TV Series "The Tycoon"

    • Daniel
    • 2013-01-29

    I remember this series that only lasted for one season. I loved it as a kid, and would love to see it played on TCM sometime. Most people have never heard of it. Walter Brennan made even the simplest roles come to life. I love to watch any role he portrays.

  • Walter Brennan

    • william
    • 2012-04-06

    Tried to find out the name of the TV show that Walter was in. They lived on a farm and there was richard Creana was a costar

  • The best side-kick a guy could hope for

    • Rand Barron
    • 2011-01-29

    I have been enjoying the acting abilities of this man all of my life. My dad was also a fan, so I am sure that I was reared on a steady diet of his TV and movie performances. I was born in 1953 and back then there was only one television per household and the adults chose the programs that were watched. Since becoming a fanatical TCM viewer I have often made the choice of what to watch based on Walter Brennan being in the cast. I have never been disappointed by selecting the movies this way. Because of his skill I found his performances as a Bad Guy equally as good. My only wish is that I can one day say that I have seen all of the movies he was in, an to that end, I will continue to support & watch TCM!

  • Like an Old Friend

    • liz
    • 2010-08-28

    LOVE this actor! We just caught him in 'Rio Bravo' again. Hadn't seen him in awhile. Fourth time I've watched that movie. He was a great asset to the movie. I can't remember ever seeing a disappointing performance from him. He was always so real that it didn't seem like he was acting. In performances I've seen, he always played someone I could like. I appreciate actors who are careful about the roles they choose. We feel a fondness for Walter and always smile when we are lucky to find a movie with him in it. I hope TCM will have a month of showing all his many movies.

  • A bunch of Oscars

    • Scptt miller
    • 2010-06-02

    Jack Nicholson guest star on "The Guns of Will Sonnet." How many Oscars is that?

  • Wonderful Actor

    • Theresa Bretl
    • 2008-07-25

    I believe Walter Brennan was a wonderful character actor. He is so good in To Have and Have Not. There really isn't anything I've seen him in that he didn't add great demension to that movie. Thank you for spotlighting the usually forgotten or underrated actors to your programing.

  • American everyman

    • Jeanette
    • 2008-06-23

    I was viewing a movie from 1952 called Lure of the Wild with Walter Brennan, Jan Peters, and Jeffrey Hunter. It seemed very similar to another Walter Brennan movie called Swampwater which also starred Dana Andrews and Anne Baxter. Is this a remake? If so, why was Brennan cast in such a similar role? Any chance of showcasing some of Mr. Brennan's works in aviewer's choice day?

  • THE ABSOLUTE BEST

    • Susan
    • 2007-12-12

    At a very young age I became attached to Walter Brennan like a grandchild. I would get elated to see him appear on screen, tv or otherwise, as if he were my very own. I loved this man. His looks, his mannerisms, his genious at emotional evocation. He moved me, every time. I would like to see a day dedicated to Walter Brennan, including some of the Real McCoys, if possible. I'm getting older and would enjoy this so much.

  • Most Appearances

    • Margaret Borrecco
    • 2006-04-03

    Looking for an answer as to the actor who appeared in more films/shows/etc. My vote would go to Walter Brennan; from toothless pirate, new world settler; westerner; war veteran from War of Independence to Civil War, through about every war film to date,there has been a Walter Brennan in some part (small or large); many TV appearances as well as TV movies. On and On. It seems as thought at least 1 out of 5 films shown on TCM has at least a brief visit by Brennan. And I never tire of enjoying his performances.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.