skip navigation
Loretta Young

Loretta Young

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Elegance, Class, and Beauty

    • Jason M
    • 2013-12-27

    First let me state the obvious: Loretta Young was an extraordinarily beautiful woman. The dark hair, big beautiful eyes, sexy voice, patrician cheekbones, and lips and smile to die for. Simply exquisite. She definitely is in the same league as Hedy Lamarr, Linda Darnell, and Elizabeth Taylor. Like these aforementioned actresses, she put most of today's stars to shame. Even in her older years she was still stunningly beautiful, the very picture of aging gracefully. But it wasn't just her looks that I admire. She was a very stately, elegant woman who exuded maturity and class, a rare trait in today's Hollywood. Sure she had a fling with Clark Gable, but who didn't in those days when he was the King of Hollywood? And she was a pioneer for women on TV, having her own successful show. I am 34 and the Golden Age of Hollywood far precedes me, but I have recently been getting into classic movies. I just think that even though we have some decent films and stars today, we seem to be missing some the magic that existed up until the 70's. Maybe it's just me but when I see pictures of actresses then and now, the classic stars are more beautiful. Loretta Young was the epitome of elegance, class, and beauty not to mention she was a fine actress, underrated and underutilized in my opinion. She definitely should be remembered.

  • My role model!

    • Victoria
    • 2012-05-17

    Loretta Young is truly one of the greatest actresses of all time. No actress today can compare to her grace, poise, and elegance in film.

  • Legendary Lady

    • David Atkins
    • 2011-02-26

    Loretta Young may very well be the most glamorous woman ever to appear on the silver screen. Able actress, Ms. Young won the Oscar for her film The Farmer's Daughter. Loretta Young worked in a great career with stars such as Spencer Tracy, Susan Hayward, and Clark Gable with whom she had an affair and bore their child. Ms. Young retired from the silver screen in the 1950's and presented every week a TV show noted for fine drama and of course what she was wearing, every week a new ensemble! Active in Catholic causes, and life long friend of Irene Dunne, Rosalind Russell. Jane Wyman converted to Catholicism due to the example of Ms. Young. Wyman and Young in their later years would attend Mass together.

  • The Best Role Model

    • nanette
    • 2009-01-03

    When I was growing up, Loretta Young, was the one lady that helped me see that growing to be a woman is a wonderful experience when you shower love and kindness to everyone.

  • My Idol, yesterday, today & tomorrow

    • Camille
    • 2008-12-27

    Miss Young is my idol and will always be, yesterday, today and tomorrow. From the time I was a little girl I looked up to her and wished I could look like her or be like her. I wish I could be half the person she is. Miss Young is an excellent actress who emitted a sweetness on and off the screen. She is one of the all time favorites. Miss Young went from the movies to television where everyone was afraid to make the move. By doing so, she was able to have her own anthology series, play any roll that she wanted and did so beautifully, and it showed so well on the screen. Having her own TV show, she now won Emmy awards for her show and Oscar awards. She had many actors on her show and they loved working with her, they looked up too her, also. As far as I am concern, there will never be another actress that could take her place, past, present or future. Miss Loretta Young is a grand lady, and absolutely the best actress. She has this natural angelic beauty, that you don't see in any other actress. I love Miss Loretta Young and miss seeing her the screen. The world has lost the best in the entertainment business. May God Bless Her Always!!!!!

  • My Idol, Was and Always Will Be!!!

    • Camille
    • 2008-09-01

    Loretta Young is and always will be my all time favorite actress. She is so beautiful, has this natural angelic beauty about her, soft voice, and most of all she was extremely talented. She could play any roll and she would still catch your eye. Miss Young was truly elegant and captivating on or off the screen. I miss her anthology shows, and I wish more of her movies were seen on the tv screen. She deserves to be seen more than what it being shown. She was the first woman who left the movies to have her own televison show that lasted eight years and won awards for it also. I love her and miss her and I wish we could see more of her on the screen. Like I said earlier, she is my favorite actress in everything she did. She could do anything. I do believe there wasn't anything she couldn't do.

  • Love this Lady

    • Margie
    • 2008-04-21

    Loretta Young is one of my all time favorites. She is so beautiful and talented. I love her in any film she did. I just wish she had made more movies. She was a grand lady. I use to watch her on TV every week and wanted to be just like her.

  • ABSOLUTELY ONE OF THE VERY BEST!!!

    • Sergei Naramore
    • 2008-03-14

    Loretta Young is certainly one of the all time great actresses. One thing that stands out is of all the films and TV programs I have seen her perform, none of them are "clunkers". If she is in it, it is definitely worth watching. She had the beauty and talent to play any kind of role, yet she was not so proud as to select only roles that would glamorize herself; on the contrary, in many of her films she does just the opposite. She was truly elegant, beautiful, witty, and captivating on the screen. It is easy to view her films over and over.

  • My favorite actress.

    • Carri
    • 2008-02-24

    Loretta Young is my favorite actress because she was an excellent actress who emitted a sweetness and also spunkiness. Even my teen daughter is fond of her. Loretta had a graceful beauty.

  • A true beauty

    • Mary Melinda Kinnaird
    • 2008-01-30

    Loretta Young was a true beauty. I have a cousin partially named for this beautiful woman, and after seeing many of her films, I understand why. She had a natural, almost angelic beauty that you don't see in many actresses before or since. My favorites of her films are The Farmer's Daughter (for which she won a well-deserved Oscar) and The Bishop's Wife. She was a true beauty with a wonderful talent. I love her movies, and think they should be required viewing for a lot of "actresses" today.

  • just lovely!

    • theresa
    • 2007-04-10

    i love loretta young and all the rolls she plays. i have even seen lots of her television show, and i can tell you that she is definitely a golden girl of hollywood who will always be remembered.

  • Wonderful and Gracefull

    • Myrna
    • 2006-03-29

    Ms.Young could do everything and did everything. Her elegant features and sofe voice made it easy to watch and listen to her. She was a woman that others could look up to.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.