skip navigation
Warren William

Warren William

  • Gold Diggers Of 1933 (1933, September 05 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Mouthpiece, The (1932, September 09 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Arsene Lupin Returns (1938, September 11 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Skyscraper Souls (1932, September 19 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Mind Reader, The (1933, September 19 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Glad TCM is showing so many choice older movies

    • Gert
    • 2011-01-11

    Saw him in The Match King,outstanding performance as a cad,crook,seducer.Great actor,it's a shame so many Hollywood performers passed away so young,and seem virtually forgotten

  • The Philo Vance series

    • sandra
    • 2010-10-18

    Watching Philo Vance is fun. I would like to see the entire series :Casino Murder case, Grace Allen Murder Case, Dragon Murder Case, Philo Vance Gambles, etc. I think that there were 7 or more. Sandra

  • More Mr. William, please.

    • Marilyn
    • 2010-10-04

    There's someting about this man's presence within a film that makes the film above average to great. Would really be ecstatic if TCM would give him his own month.

  • The "Dude"

    • Lily
    • 2009-08-08

    I fell in love with Warren Willian when I saw him as Dude with Apple Annie. I refer to him as the "dude" when I am lucky enough to see he's films. What is the name of the movie where he plays a building owner and divorcing his wife. That night he hosts a big party on the penthouse floor tries hitting on a young lady. He was smooth operator, as Mike says lots of charisma

  • warners second string lead

    • john
    • 2008-05-06

    a solid dependable actor who could be a bit flambouyant in costume roles in the style of barrymore, whom he resembled. always good as lone wolf or private detective. had a sly quality you always suspected he was sleeping with his leading lady. i suspect he loved being a "movie star". i always enjoyed watching his work, which is the best compliment i know. there will never be another quite like him!

  • warren william

    • mike
    • 2008-05-01

    Great actor with lots of charisma. TCM should show more of these great old films of his.

  • error on last warren william rating

    • phil norton
    • 2008-03-20

    i hit 1's and 2's should be 10's please disregard my first one regarding legacy=he should be remembered along w/ william powell

  • warren william

    • phil norton
    • 2008-03-20

    play as many of his films as possible. thanks to tcm for showing some of his films. any book/bio on him?

  • Greatest pre-code con man

    • Tim
    • 2008-03-05

    Defines the pre-code anti-hero better than anyone. Akways up to no good,you're always pulling for him.

  • All-Around Great Actor

    • KM
    • 2007-12-04

    In his many dramatic and comedic performances, Warren William revealed an impressive level of versatility, sophistication and intelligence. Tall, dark, and handsome, William played long-suffering hubbies, avaricious baddies, and insouciant playboys with equal aplomb. And he made these stock characters breathe. No wonder he had such a long and varied career. What a pity he passed away so young. An interesting note: he was also an amateur inventor.

  • Much Overlooked

    • Amanda
    • 2007-11-08

    I absolutely love the William Warren Lone Wolf movies. He is a great actor, and I was surprised that I have never seen him before TCM started showing the Lone Wolf movies again. Very classy, suave, and entertaining I could watch the Lone Wolf movies a hundred times and never get bored.

  • Sophisticated and debonair

    • Paula Bryson
    • 2007-10-26

    I have seen quite a few of Mr. William's movies and find them all to be entertaining and him to be quite dashing. He is a very different Perry Mason. I never thought of that character as being a charming love interest. It also doesn't appear to be a stretch for him to portray a Musketeer. I especially like his "Lone Wolf" character. These are easy to watch and entertaining too.

  • warren william

    • jerry brown
    • 2007-10-13

    just checked out some formula "Lone Wolf" movies on TCM; and seeing William in "Skyscraper Souls" and "Man in the Iron Mask", I think he was a very enjoyable, watchable, and somewhat versatile actor. I guess his style of presentation(very upper-crust) may have led to his fairly rapid career decline. But, regardless, he seems cool to watch. I would like to seem his last three films; they sound interesting.

  • Great Actor

    • Deb
    • 2007-09-30

    Waren William was a great actor, I have probably seen all his movies. I thought he was English actor didn't know he was from MN. He is one of my favorite actors love his life reminds me of William Boyd's laugh. Sorry to read that he died in 9/48 before his 46th birthday in 12/02. I think he was a good an actor as good as Bogart, Flynn and Fairbanks.

  • great actor, warren wiliam

    • cindy
    • 2007-08-12

    would love to see more of him on tcm. perfect actor for the 30s.

  • one of thee greatest actors

    • joann r
    • 2007-05-08

    warren williams was awesome he was that great era of the 20s/30s/40s style manner looks wow one has not been found as of it well as they say only one comes along in a life time iam so glad for tcm without it i would have never even known he ever existed thank you tcm for giving me hrs of enjoyment and pleasure of seeing warren williams in any way shape or form thxs tcm . jr

  • LOVE!

    • Molly B.
    • 2007-02-21

    This guy rocked my socks in SKYSCRAPER SOULS! What a great movie, and I love, love, love Warren William! LOVE. HIM. Did I say love, already? LOVE HIM! Miss Molly

  • warren william

    • bre
    • 2007-02-07

    any where i can go to see most of his movies under 18 seemed hot

  • Forgotten rogue

    • KRECHFAN
    • 2006-08-21

    Warren William's pre code work was every bit the equal of John Barrymore and William Powell, to whom he is a stylistic cousin. He excelled at playing amoral, heartless businessmen, but was equally adept in light comedy and heavy character roles. In later years, he was consigned largely to B pictures, but at least 2 of his 9 Lone Wolf appearances (Lone Wolf Spy Hunt and Passport to Suez) are gems. By all accounts it was William's own lack of ambition that kept him from being a bigger star (and better remembered), but there seems to be a growing cult around the man who was a master of the penetrating leer, the sly innuendo and the underhanded deal.

  • Warren William ~ Mr. Suave

    • Jason S
    • 2006-08-15

    A superb, under-remembered actor who is suave, debonair and subtle in his acting, yet who has a strong presence and assuredness that is very mesmerising and enjoyable to watch. Wish he had done more. Rest in Peace, Mr. William, and thank you.

  • A Dreadful Ham

    • Pola
    • 2006-05-11

    what more can I add to that..he detracts from my viewing of Bette Davis, who is my favorite.

  • Sad he died SO YOUNG!

    • Betty Storti
    • 2006-04-22

    If this is the actor who was in "Apple Annie" which was later redone by Bette Davis? If so I think he is one of the GREATS. I wish more people knew about him and more information was written about his personal biography. Please tell us more about him TCM. Sincerely Blstortiny@aol.com

  • More Warren William!

    • sharronshughes
    • 2006-02-26

    So subtle and gentle when need be... otherwise Barrymore-esque!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.