skip navigation
Orson Welles

Orson Welles

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Orson Welles

    • John
    • 2013-08-06

    Range-5/5 Influence/Legacy-5/5 Well Regarded in Private Life-3/5 Comedic Ability-5/5 (anyone who doubts this hasn't seen Chimes at Midnight, F is for Fake or the outtakes from those frozen pea commercials) Risk Taker or Innovator-5/5

  • Where is Jane Eyre (spelling may be off)

    • Cheryl
    • 2009-05-14

    Why doesn't Orson Welles' biography on TCM.com not detail his performance in the making of Jane Eyre? Unusual....has the movie been destroyed by age...I cannot find it anywhere and I have this desire in my heart to watch it...much like a craving. where did it go? thank you, Cheryl

  • Orson Welles

    • Steve
    • 2008-12-06

    I just caught back up with The Magnificent Ambersons that you were showing the other night. Can you please tell me if and when they will ever put this "magnificent" film on dvd? Or will they every do the collectables series including this movie? I really want to see this movie again and share if with friends but I can't believe this isn't on DVD. It is by far kneck and kneck with Citizen Kane and needs more showings. If you can please let me and world know with this movie becomes available on DVD. Thank you very much.

  • Superb on all levels

    • Dale
    • 2008-09-14

    Orson Welles, what can you say about a man, who was so good in his field!! no less an actor, then Sir Laurence Olivier, said of him, that he wished that he used him, in a major part in Richard the 3rd, as he was better at acting in the part, that was given to Ralph Richardson!! And how right he was. I've seen his Othello, and frankly think it's the best bit of acting, that I've EVER SEEN. What made his film just so fantastic, was that he played the part of Othello, with such pity, quite unlike anyone else. And if ever an actor was born to do Shakespeare, then Orson Welles was, you only need to watch Chimes at midnight, to see that. In short there was never anyone like him, in any movie, he appeared in he just blow everyone else away. So in whatever he did Orson was the best.

  • Truly the Master!

    • Andrew K
    • 2008-06-18

    Orson Welles is the master of his craft. It's sad to see how America sees him today...

  • Happy Birthday!

    • Violet
    • 2008-05-06

    I am a big fan and even though no one takes notice, today is the legendary Orson Welles' Birthday and he would have been 93 years old. Happy Birthday to my obedient servant!

  • Redemption for Orson Welles!

    • Gary
    • 2008-05-01

    This coming week will be what would have been Orson Welles' 93rd Birthday. It is so sad to see that those who do not appreciate Welles as a person do not see the genius that he was - they only see the outrageous stories of him being a difficult person and a madman - but as many can tell you, that is far from the truth and there is more beyond that. He wanted to awe and inspire us - and with Citizen Kane, he did just that and his talent made him special(Do you really think a man of this talent would be ordinary?! That's a reason why he is admired by his fans.). As a big fan, I would like to say, thank you, Mr. Welles, for being anything but ordinary!

  • I LOVE HIM!!!

    • Carrie
    • 2008-04-19

    I love him so much! Such an innovator, such a great actor! He's my favorite now and forever - 'Nuff said!

  • Why,why, pick on Orson?

    • John D.
    • 2008-04-19

    What a creative genius. What an inventor! Orson Welles was a master of the craft, and it breaks my heart to see the way we see and have treated him even today (Yes, I am talking to YOU, Miss Pacios!). We should remember for everything he gave us...because it was brilliant. No other filmmaker or actor will ever equal Orson Welles in either person or entertainer.

  • Dear Orson...how do I love thee..?

    • Rosie
    • 2008-03-17

    Let me count thy ways! If I did, however, I'll go overboard... Orson Welles is my favorite actor/director! He was such a pioneer and everything he did wowed you. To view the best of Welles, see Citizen Kane and hear his War of the Worlds broadcast. View his movies and listen to his radio broadcasts when you can!

  • Oh. My. Orson!

    • Janine
    • 2008-03-12

    Orson Welles was indeed the master. His legendary vision has inspired many of today's filmmakers and film students look to his work for inspiration. America needs to treat him much better than we do (Eg, Get his face on a US Postage Stamp!. Everything he did was genius - he was a true artist and one of my favorite actors and directors - I love him so much! TCM, please make him the Star of the Month for May - the month that would've been his 93rd Birthday!

  • One of a Kind

    • Dale P.
    • 2008-03-09

    Unparalleled, multidimensional talent. In my opinion, there's never been anyone his equal. I have no idea about his private life and it doesn't matter in his case. In comedic ability: not funny (ha-ha) but ironically sarcastically funny (odd maybe)in a very entertaining way. Sex appeal: I never noticed. He's a character actor. Orson Welles will be remembered for his innovation, his superb acting, his directorial aplomb, his stories, and his overall contribution to the entire industry. He's most remembered for Citizen Kane but I never knew of his involvement in the magnificent Magnificent Ambersons, a critically aclaimed and wonderful movie as well. The only one of his movies I didn't love is Touch of Evil. I probably just didn't understand it. One doesn't need many words for Orson Welles. One of a kind.

  • Awesome Welles Indeed

    • SlagMaster
    • 2008-02-18

    Orson Welles was a master and pioneer in cinema, theater and radio. His acting was incredible and his voice was so powerful. He was charming and everything he did was a work of art – even if it was just acting, such as in “Tomorrow is forever” – a film which survives because of his phenomenal performance. Everything he did added magic to anything.

  • My Master!!!

    • Betty Lou
    • 2008-02-10

    Orson Welles was simply one the most influential entertainers of the classic Hollywood era. He was a genius, with talent and good looks to top it off! Even though his most famous film is Citizen Kane, the rest of them stand out on their own. Watch his movies when you can!

  • A true Hollywood Legend

    • MovieBuff99
    • 2007-12-16

    He was one of the most influential figures of Cinema history – and should be remembered and treated far better than he is today. His acting was one-of-a-kind and his directing was phenomenal, and he haunts you with that gaze and that wonderful voice. Orson Welles was one of the greatest legends of the Hollywood Golden Era – a true icon!

  • MY KING!

    • Mary Q
    • 2007-12-08

    If there should be such a title as “The King of Directing”, it belongs to Orson Welles! He was a genius! His acting is unlike anything you'll see even to this day. And his acting and directing - what an achievement – there is something special in all of his films, whether it was the ones where he directs himself or whether the ones where he was directed by others. He is one of the most influential figures of the 20th century and should be remembered MUCH MORE fondly than he is today (Whoever says he was not a beautiful man is simply not seeing the big picture - because he was HOT!). Love ya always, Orson – you were one of the greatest entertainers in film and radio history!

  • My Obedient Servant!

    • BerryCreamy
    • 2007-12-08

    Orson Welles is no doubt one of the greatest actors/directors to ever grace the silver screen. The magic he created in his films can only be called true genius, and his acting is just amazing – I am disappointed that he wasn’t nominated for any other Best Actor Oscars after “Citizen Kane”, but many will agree: Citizen Kane is the best American picture ever made and his performance as Charles Foster Kane is one of the best in Cinema history. Everything he did was genius - he just captivated you with his wonderful voice –and boy, was he handsome!

  • awesome welles

    • denis
    • 2007-05-20

    need more info on welles

  • The Best Film Has Ever Produced

    • Alex
    • 2007-04-26

    No man has helped or change the medium of film than this genius.

  • Orson the genius

    • ss5921
    • 2006-10-16

    no doubt about it

  • Great Director

    • Angela Michelle
    • 2006-10-11

    This director could have provided us with many more great films if he didn't have to waste his time raising money for his projects.

  • Orson Welles

    • Afroasianstyle
    • 2006-07-08

    One of the all-time legends of cinema

  • Orson Welles

    • silverkid
    • 2006-03-16

    Rosebud.

  • Genius

    • rsteiner
    • 2005-10-30

    Truly one of the greatest filmmakers of all time - see his films if you can.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.