skip navigation
Franchot Tone

Franchot Tone

  • Midnight Mary (1933, September 26 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Reckless (1935, October 09 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Unguarded Hour, The (1936, October 14 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Mutiny on the Bounty (1935, October 14 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Pilot #5 (1943, October 14 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Highly underrated

    • David Jackson
    • 2010-04-24

    I just discovered Franchot Tone last month when I saw "Dangerous" (1935), with Bette Davis, for the first time. Then I saw "Quality Street"(1937), in which he appeared with Katharine Hepburn. Today, for the first time, I saw "Five Graves to Cairo" (1943). In all three films, Mr. Tone gave a great performance! I'm looking forward to TCM showing his other films.

  • Mutiny on the Bounty

    • Lori Gibson
    • 2010-04-22

    The performance of Tone As " Byam" was exceptional , and earned a well-deserved nomination of Best supporting Actor . He was a talented accomplished actor that excelled in drama & moments of humor, working with Clark Gable and Charles Laughton as they sailed the Bounty amid an explosive globe of conflict ... Tone prevails as a strong character falsely accused of mutiny , facing certain death. The film ends with Tone receiving justice for his loyalty. A great performance!

  • FRANCHOT TONE IN A CLASS ALL IS OWN !

    • LINDS
    • 2008-05-22

    FRANCHONT TONE WAS IN A CLASS ALL IS OWN. HE WAS VERY SUAVE , DEBONAIR , AND VERY VERY SEXIE ~ HE WAS A CLASSY DRESSER ALWAYS , AND VERY UNDER-RATED AND UNDER-USED IN HOLLYWOOD. HE WAS VERY TYPE CAST AND THEREFORE WAS FORCED TO ACT IN AOT OF CRAP. HE WAS ALWAYS THE SECOND OR THIRD LEAD IN MOST MOTION PICTURES WHEN HE DESERVED MUCH BETTER. BUT STILL HE ACTED WITH A GREAT DEAL OF CLASS AND STYLE' HE DIED MUCH TOO YOUNG AND THEREFORE WE WERE DEPRIVED OF ALOT OF WONDERFUL YEARS OF FIRST RATE ACTING MEMORIES ~

  • Dreamy and extremely talented

    • AFF
    • 2008-04-22

    Fell inlove with him in "Dangerous". An excellent film. He's charming, quiet yet powerful. Bette Davis was a diva as always.

  • Handsome and charming

    • Anna
    • 2008-03-20

    I first noticed him in a couple of Jean Harlow movies, "Bombshell", "Reckless", and "Suzy". I fell in love with his style and charm, great with comedies, too. Even though he is mostly in supporting roles, he steals the show.

  • One of the best

    • Desiree
    • 2007-03-08

    I first saw Tone in "Here Comes the Groom", where although he plays a secondary role, his smile and his voice give him a sense of dignity and gentleness. I next saw him in "Three Comrades", and I just fell in love with his performance: tender, ironic and witty. He's one of the best.

  • Wonderful guy.

    • julie
    • 2006-10-25

    I love Franchot's smile. I think he was great in His Butler's sister and wonder why he didn't do more with Deanna Durbin. They bounce off each other perfectly. Julie.

  • wish he had got more chances

    • michael york
    • 2006-10-17

    played so many secondary roles that when he got a lead he was always good wish he had done more character roles in later years but his drinking seemed to have gotten in the way however his performance in advice and consent almost steals the whole picture and this in a film with a scene-stealing cast

  • What a smile!

    • Christine
    • 2006-08-28

    I watched The Lives of a Bengal Lancer because I adore Gary Cooper. But when Franchot appeared on-screen and smiled, he stole the show for me. I continued to watch, just to see him smile. Absolutely delightful!

  • A great actor

    • Chris
    • 2006-08-24

    I agree with Jo, on "a great actor". He had such vitality, dash, and aplomb. No wonder he was a member of Phi Beta Kappa, etc. I hope TCM airs as many of his films as are available. To my mind, he ranks alongside the quality of Mary Astor, who took many secondary roles but made them full of life and variance.

  • A great actor

    • Jo
    • 2006-08-06

    I love everything I see Mr.Tone in! He was a wonderful actor.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.