skip navigation
Shirley Temple

Shirley Temple

  • I'll Be Seeing You (1944, August 29 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Story Of Seabiscuit, The (1949, September 08 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Ambassador in Film and for Country

    • Judy
    • 2014-03-09

    I have deep admiration for this woman who served as a true good will ambassador in film and for the United States. Though I cannot find myself to watch some of the early films of Ms. Temple's youth, mainly due in part of the studio treatment of minorities during this time period, I have to say all of the film performances I have seen of Ms. Temple in her teenage years, always seem to be handled with the utmost respect & better than what is seen in the film industry today by both child & adult actors/actresses alike. She graced this country with her curls and charm, and her ability to put people at ease in whatever venue she approached. One of the true giants & of the film industry.

  • The best Childhood memories

    • Portia McRill
    • 2014-02-12

    I remember as a child when her movies were playing my Mother would be sewing and cooking homemade spaghetti. As a child I name my dog Mytyl from the Blue Bird. I have several of her movies now. I realized when I turned 50 that I pull out a movie and watch it on rainy days. I too am from Santa Monica Ca. So it was special to watch the movies on those days. Now it to bad she didn't make enough movies for every rainy day that we have in Portland. Then I caught myself listening to them as I did my sewing. She has always been on the top of my list of my favorite actresses. I wanted to be a pretty as she was as a child. Infact I insisted that my hair not be cut, so that my Mom put ringlets in my hair. I will make sure that I play her movies for my Grandchildren so that can see what happiness was. Her smile will live on in my heart forever. She will be missed but not forgotten Porita

  • The Best of The Best

    • Walter New
    • 2014-02-12

    Exceptional star who exceeded beyond any star ever exceeded. Amazing talent and always made me smile, laugh and cry depending on the movie. I have seen every movie she made and was always into her movies as if I was there with her. She was an exciting star and very sad to lose such a likable and personable talented star. Shirley, you will always be in my heart, thoughts and prayers. You are in a much better place now and how exciting the angels must be to see you now, forever and always. God Bless you and your family and for all your accomplishments while you were here on earth. I will miss you greatly and you always put a smile on my face and left warmth in my heart for every movie you made. Sweet Dreams forever Angel.

  • Shirley Temple Defines Greatness

    • Phillip E. Hardy
    • 2014-02-11

    One of my earliest childhood memories was watching Shirley Temple films broadcast weekly on our local LA channel. She was as talented as she was iconic and I loved movies like Heidi, Wee Willie Winkie and Susannah of the Mounties. These were films that transcended gender and were visual fairy tales for the delight of all ages. Greatness is defined by "the quality of being great, distinguished, or eminent." In that realm, Shirley was a giant.

  • Shirley Temple Defines Greatness

    • Phillip E. Hary
    • 2014-02-11

    One of my earliest childhood memories was watching Shirley Temple films broadcast weekly on our local LA channel. She was as talented as she was iconic and I loved movies like Heidi, Wee Willie Winkie and Susannah of the Mounties. These were films that transcended gender and were visual fairy tales for the delight of all ages. Greatness is defined by "the quality of being great, distinguished, or eminent." In that realm, Shirley was a giant.

  • Best child actress of all time

    • Kelly bergstrom
    • 2014-02-11

    Mrs, Shirley Temple Black, thank you for giving the world your childhood and your inncredible work as our ambassador in Africa. You made us smile and remember the positive things when our nation seemingly slipped into a black hole. And ever since then, you have continued to bless us all with your beautiful soul. Thank you to you and your family for being gracious people, God bless you as you fly with the angels.

  • fan since i was a child growing up

    • charlene johnson
    • 2014-01-16

    Mrs Shirley Temple Black I thank you for all u did and do. I loved get up Sunday mornings just to watch u on TV. I am African American and yes a fan . A great actress indeed ,well worth my Sunday mornings . Every chance I get to see Ur movies to this day I still enjoy. I am a caregiver and enjoy watching with my clients who understand my love of Ur movies. I soon as I get the funds plan to get Ur collection of movies. I hope life is going well for u as we don't hear much of a classic woman u are . Kids today will never understand acting of times past. Yes as a African American we have come along ways able to be free to grow our self's. Acting and more, for me as a caregiver I learn a lot from my clients who still find it hard to understand blacks and there roles today because of there up beginning which I understand. My love for NY work and the love of God helps me with that. I treat them with respect something kids today don't do respect there elders. Mrs. Black again I love u and Ur movies and again I thank you! God bless u and Ur family. By the way u still look as beautiful as ever !

  • request

    • Kim Borgal
    • 2011-08-29

    I so enjoy Shirley Temple movies, as many people do. I am also familiar with her work she has done as a child in the movies. It is her work in pre-teen and teen that is not well known to very many people. The ones that are very rare, indeed, are "Kiss And Tell", "Honeymoon", and "Adventure In Baltimore", "Kathleen", and "That Hagen Girl". PLEASE! Would you play the first three listed movies!? I see that you are playing "That Hagen Girl" on September 22, 2011. I am ecstatic! PLEASE-PLEASE-PLEASE! Schedule the first three movies to be played, as well! I am 52 years old, and have never seen them, and would love to see them! Within the next couple or three months? Please?

  • Since You Went Away

    • Dennis Prather
    • 2010-11-13

    This movie was award winning in it's day and still is worthy today, Please find time to play this wonderful movie. Thank You

  • Kathleen

    • Kim Borgal
    • 2010-09-06

    I have loved her films, no matter what her age! However, I think that "Kathleen" showed that she could carry over with age, and is impossible to find, or to catch on tv. I wish that tcm would play more of it, and some of her other films, as well, such as "When You Went Away", "Honeymoon", "I'll Be Seeing You", "That Hagen Girl", "A Kiss For Corliss", "Kiss And Tell". My most favorite, however, is "Kathleen". PLEASE! Play it!

  • Shirley Temple

    • Yolanda Mejia
    • 2010-04-23

    Thanke you for showing Shirley Temple movies I would like to see more of her movies when she was a child, so my grand kids can enjoy her movies to I'm sure they will love her as I and my sisters and brothers did when we were growing up. Thank you again. YMejia

  • I like Shirley Temple

    • Twila Kleitz
    • 2009-07-06

    I have always liked the Shirley Temple movies and have since I was 5 years old. My mom was the one whoi gotme started watching her movies and I have been ever since Sincely Twila

  • Awesome actress, singer, dancer, etc.

    • Zoraida
    • 2009-05-05

    Her movies were excellent. I always looked forward to Sundays, because I knew her movies would air on that day. I would sit in front of the television and wonder which one of her films was playing. Yes, they were cutesy, but I wasn't they only one that enjoyed them. Occasionally, I would catch a glimpse at my brother and father to see their reactions. Yeah...they enjoyed them as much as I did!

  • She Was Great...

    • Keith J. Wilson
    • 2009-05-01

    As a child star she was amazing, but look at the movie with Cary Grant and Seabiscuit! She is young, vivacious, innocent and very hot! How did her success end I will never know? She was beautiful and charming to say the least and she she fizzled like a firecracker in a turrential downpour! I don't understand it at all!

  • Shirley Temple forever!

    • marilyn
    • 2008-07-28

    one can only hope they never stop showing her movies, ever! her movies are cutesy, yes, but sometimes we need that. she was a star that did not succumb under the pressures that most child stars did. her parents must have been phenomenol... plus, she became such an important political presence. not too many female actresses can be given that credit. she was and still is inspirational.

  • Love U Shirley

    • Donnita
    • 2008-07-02

    Shirley Temple is just the all time best entertainer ever!! I am a huge fan.

  • an example for our children

    • Carm
    • 2008-02-11

    I grew up with shirley temple movies. I loved each and every one of them. I wish you would show them. Our children need movies the raise their spirits not movies the show a lot of crime and violence,guns, drugs, etc. We have a moral obligation to them, and I hope you do too. Carm

  • More than a cute face of a child!

    • Tonya
    • 2008-01-31

    I Love Shirley Jane Temple Black! She's such an amazing and talented person. Most people only know her for her childhood films however I love her films as a Teenager & Young Adult as well. I have never seen a movie she participated in that I didn't like.

  • dream child

    • miriam shrewsbury
    • 2007-08-28

    Shirely is such a fasinating little actress, with alot of talent. I never get bored watching her movies wish they would show more of them.

  • A Great Actress!

    • Laura
    • 2007-05-15

    An amazing little girl. To act at that young age is asome! I have not seen all of her movies (and as we no she's made alot of them) but i'd have to say that The Little Prinesses in my favorite.

  • what a great role model, Our shirley temple

    • lana parnell
    • 2007-03-03

    Shirley is an inspiration to all little girls! she excells at all shes ever done. She is so loved and so admired that shes recognized anywhere. She is truly unforgettable. She made me want to dance and sing as a child, as I know many children have wanted to do so. She was a rare child and her looks were unmistakable. Shirley saved her studio at a time when there was the grapes of wrath or the dust bowl. I personally will always love shirley and I will cheerish every one of her musical films, her perky personality, her wit, her sweetness and her dedication to her craft. I love Shirley Temple so much.

  • Greatest Child Actress Ever!

    • Sean
    • 2006-11-16

    She is just a wonderful little actress. Such poise at a young age is amazing. It is too bad that she retired so young. The screen lost a bright star.

  • will never be another shirley

    • michael york
    • 2006-09-29

    she had amazing talent and was always refreshing still one of the top box office female stars of all time just a total deloght to behold

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.