skip navigation
Margaret Rutherford

Margaret Rutherford

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • My favorite actress

    • Carol Burton
    • 2012-04-15

    Please show more of Margaret's work. I adore her Miss Marple films. I would love to see Falstaff, Chimes at Midnight on TCM. She was a heartbreaking Mistress Quickly. How about showing Blithe Spirt and Importance of Being Earnest. There is no one like her today. I sincerely doubt there has ever been an actress that could put so much heart into a role.

  • Murder She Says

    • Jackie
    • 2011-02-10

    Margaret Rutherford is superb as Miss Marple, please show this film.

  • Miss Marple series

    • Darrell
    • 2011-02-09

    Please show the Miss Marple series staring Margaret Rutherford. Thanks

  • Agatha Christie Movies

    • George
    • 2011-02-04

    Margaret Rutherford is the best Miss Marple ever. Please show the Margaret Rutherford Miss Marple films.

  • Miss Marple series

    • Jonathan
    • 2011-02-03

    Margaret Rutherford performed wonderfully in the Agatha Christie movies. Please show the series. The most popular seem to be Murder at the Gallop and Murder She Said. Thank you

  • Miss Marple

    • Marc
    • 2011-01-28

    Please run Margaret Rutherford in Murder She Said and Murder at the Gallop.

  • Delightful!

    • Dorie
    • 2010-02-01

    I just watched Margaret Rutherford in one of Agatha Christie's stories. TCM this Sunday, I taped to watch later in day. I was so plesently suprised, she is very funny, and I laughed out loud! Margaret is a suttle humorous actor, and I just love that about older actors, kinda like Myrna Loy in the Thin Man series. Thanks for showing her movie, please show more!

  • Margaret Rutherford and Charlie Chan films

    • L. Nadolny
    • 2010-01-24

    Please run their movies. Margaret Rutherford is a wonderful actor - expert in her character portrayals. The gentleman that played Charlie Chan was great. His part was done with excellence, yet careful not to make fun of the Chinese traditions. Just wonderful family entertainment.

  • Special Run of Margaret Rutherford films.

    • Rosemarie Jackson
    • 2009-11-09

    I enjoy Margaret Rutherford's acting. She is like watching your favorite aunt who appears a bit out of touch yet who is more in touch with what is going on-- in other words she gets it. I especially enjoy the Miss Marple series. I have been an Agatha Christie fan before my teen years;thanks to my mom. And Dame Rutherford is my favorite Miss Marple. By all means if possible it would be a joy to watch a special run of her films. I agree with others that have expressed this wish. Thanks R Jackson

  • Margaret Rutherford

    • KathyBrekke
    • 2009-11-08

    wish TCM would do a special run of all her films, all 29.

  • Margaret Rutherford

    • MJ Young
    • 2009-09-17

    Would love to see more of Margaret Rutherford and more English movies.

  • love her

    • vicky
    • 2009-04-12

    wish tcm would play more of Dame Mararet's movies

  • Love that Margaret Rutherford

    • lindsay moulton
    • 2008-04-17

    Thank you TCM for showing some of Margaret's films over the years. She is truly a gifted actress and a lovable comedienne. Please show more of her work.

  • Great Comic Talent

    • Richard Cote
    • 2008-01-30

    Margraret Rutherford was one of the greatest comic actors to come out of England. Most of her films are little seen today, which is a shame as so many people who have never seen her work before would become an instant fan.

  • Miss Marple

    • Agapios Kalaitzidis
    • 2006-11-25

    The best Miss Marple i ever see

  • One of the greatest murder mystery actress

    • elaine pulcher
    • 2006-06-05

    One of the greatest murder mystery actress was Margaret Rutherford, I hope her films are shown forever,special effects sells movie's today,but Margaret Rutherford sold art,she could make you feel her films,esp... her muder mystery's,She ranks up there with the thin man and sherlock holmes, a true actress that actor's today could learn from.

  • What a Character!

    • Linda Nesbitt
    • 2006-05-08

    I just viewed "Murder She Said" (for the 4th or 5th time) on TCM and wanted to say how very much I enjoyed Margaret Rutherford's performance as Jane Marple. For me, a tremedous Agatha Christie fan, her portrayal of Miss Marple is right on the money. I always enjoy seeing Margaret Rutherford in any film - she is fabulous in all she does. Sometimes you wish you had had an opportunity to sit down and converse with someone of note. That's how I feel about Miss Rutherford. She epitomizes the "cozy English mystery" for me. Thank you TCM for showing her movies. Linda Nesbitt

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.