skip navigation
Edward G. Robinson

Edward G. Robinson

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • WHY WAS HE NEVER NOMINATED FOR AN ACADEMY AWARD?

    • MARLENE RANTZ
    • 2013-07-26

    I have seen several movies with Edward G. Robinson, and he always gave a very good performance. Why, then, was he never nominated for an Academy Award? Surely, some of his performances rated a nomination-Little Caesar and Double Indemnity, definitely. Like John Barrymore(see my comment on his page), a very neglected actor!

  • Sea Wolf

    • Timothy A. Mey
    • 2013-04-28

    A majestic work with a cast of stars that mesh well on screen to tell the tale of "Jack London's" novel. Robinson's performance and portrayal of "Wolf Larson" commands attention of viewers throughout the film. This is truly a classic from the outset. Wonderful film-making.

  • One Of the Best

    • Judith
    • 2011-08-15

    I very seldom watch TV now since most of the Talented have passed. Edward G Robinson had a gift for acting. I have watched hours of his films on end and never feel bored. One of my very favorite is Scarlet Street. He looked like a very mean guy but was just the apposite. What a great guy.

  • Such a presence!

    • Todd M.
    • 2009-11-03

    E.G.R. takes charge of every picture I ever saw him in, and that's now getting to be quite a few! He is my favorite gangster actor, as I feel he is the one who most personifies on screen, what I think a gangster should act like, although I really enjoy Cagney as well! The power of Edward G.Robinson, when he really wants to show it, is too me, downright frightening! And the man could play more than tough, he was, in my opinion, just as good at showing emotion, real emotion, that made you feel the same way! All in all, he's one of my favorite actors of all time!

  • My Favorite Tough Guy

    • Bruce Reber
    • 2009-03-17

    I'm a Bogart and Cagney fan and I know they both had a tough guy image, but EGR is to me the greatest movie tough guy of all time. Although he played dramatic and comedy roles (particularly spoofing his gangster characters), I loved him when he was just being what he did best, playing gangsters, tough guys and total SOBs. My favorite EGR films are Little Caesar, Key Largo and any other of his gangster films. I also like most of his non-gangster films. There will never be another one like him. I watch his films on TCM whenever I can. Please have another EGR SOTM tribute soon TCM. The last one was in May 2002. Long live EGR!

  • What can I add!

    • Darren A. Rogers
    • 2007-10-01

    What hasn't been said about Edward. I feel like calling him Ed so that's what I'm going to do! Since starting to watch TCM I've become a huge fan of Ed's work. Previous to my TCM days I knew him only as the Little Caesar and one of Moses' disciples in The Ten Commandments - who many think he was miscast in this role, I'm not one of them. My yardstick of how good an actor is is RANGE - of which Ed was loaded! He could do it all even though - because of the production quality of many of his 30's films - many times it was difficult to see or here those subtle nuances which are hallmarks of portrayal of range. And how could you not love the way this guy spoke, particularily when he was playing characters a little rough around the edges! You still here people borrowing his snearing nasal tones even though many don't know why they are! (they havent had the opportunity to see his work, they're relying on a hand-me-down delivery from one generation to the next. What a legacy!) A few modern day actors - several of whom I hold in nearly as high a regard as Ed - have done well borrowing bits and pieces of Ed, but the originals are always the best. I look forward to the day someone comes along with an original quality that grabs me like Ed. T'il then I'll just have to make due, and if another Ed never comes along, Ed will have to do!

  • THE BEST AND I MEAN ONE OF THE VERY BEST

    • curtis lee
    • 2007-02-19

    THE KNOW HE DID IT RIGHT THE BEST IN WHAT HE DID KOVE TO WATCH HIS MOVIES

  • Remarkable Actor

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 2006-12-12

    One of the great things about TCM is that people can really see the body of work of an actor like Edward G.Robinson. What a great actor! He could play a cold blooded killer, a loving father, and a smart insurance investigator and be convincing in each part. He should have been at least nominated for his part as Keyes in Double Indemnity. Thank you TCM for showing Edward G Robinson movies and all the other performances of some truly great actors.

  • a true legend

    • michael york
    • 2006-10-16

    what a terrific actor!!! criminally ignored by the academy he turned in one amzing performance after another and he could play just about any kind of role for sheer diversity watch five star final the whole towns talking dr. ehlichs magic bullet our vines have tender grapes key largo the cincinnati kid and so many others he was also a well-known art collector also one of my all-time favorites wish i didnt have to vote on his sex appeal though

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.