skip navigation
Thelma Ritter

Thelma Ritter

  • Pillow Talk (1959, November 13 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Summer under the Stars - Thelma Ritter

    • kaybo
    • 2014-08-20

    I cannot thank you enough for finally giving Ms. Thelma Ritter her due. I was absolutely thrilled to see her listed as part of the honorees for the "summer under the stars" celebration. It was a huge effort for me to go to work today knowing that TCM was having a Thelma Ritter marathon showcasing some of her finest work. I chose to take comfort in knowing this is only the beginning of what I hope will be a beautiful relationship with many of her films being shown regularly on TCM. I hope my fellow viewers will grow to adore Ms. Ritter's talent as I have. No matter what she does it's a treasure and a pleasure to watch what she brings to the table. BRAVO TCM, BRAVO! Thank you.

  • I LOVE THELMA RITTER!

    • Maree Flores
    • 2008-09-13

    She made weighty contributions to every film she ever touched. Almost stole the films in fact - but in the end made every actor look better because she was in their film. It makes me feel real good to know that the actors I admire so much like Clark Gable, Doris Day, Jimmy Stewart recognized her contribution and let her be herself! She made every scene so real I really believed she was the mother of John Lund, the insurance nurse to Jimmy Stewart, and a maid/plus true friend friend Bette Davis. I can almost hear her wisecrack, "If you catch me "acting" just kick me in the behind!" She was a natural!!!

  • One Of A Kind Talent

    • Michael O'Farrell
    • 2008-08-17

    I recently watched "Pickup On South Street" on TCM and was bowled over by the acting genius of Thelma Ritter. I have seen Ritter in a few other films and she always added luster to even the most mediocre project. It is a crime that she didn't win at least one Oscar. Her performance in "South Street" is incredible.

  • super

    • lynn
    • 2008-04-19

    She was superb in every picture she was in. When I saw her name I new it was a good movie. We lost a real actress when she died. Be in peace Thelma your still adored.

  • Thelma Ritter- Film's Greatest Supporting Actress

    • Joe
    • 2008-02-08

    Without doubt the greatest suporting actress in film history. One of the great blemishes in the Academy's history is her failure to receive an Oscar in 6 nominations. She deserved it at least 5 of the six times she was nominated. Particularly for Pickup on South Street although her work in Birdman of Alcatraz was probably eclipsed by fellow nominee Lansbury. She deserved nominations for Rear Window, Hole in the Head, and THe Misfits among others. A posthumous honorary Oscar or definitive biography would be most appropriate.

  • one of the best

    • Kim Kimmel
    • 2007-05-13

    Thelma Ritter is arguably the finest deliverer of sarcastic, biting wit in the history of film. Yet her cynicism is tempered by a compassion deep within her for man and man's fate. That is what really makes her so compelling and her take no prisoners approach so believable---------sort of Mark Twain like. She has extremely few peers (George Sanders is one who comes to mind) and no superior that I know of. Any film is worth watching just because she's in it.

  • Thelma Ritter

    • Adele
    • 2007-01-31

    Thelma has a warmth and spontaneity which is delightful to see. She is honest, and a true professional. As a supporting actor she creates a positive environment for her star. She actually makes many of the actors she works with seem better than they are. She was, and always will be a star, a true disciple of the craft. When I am watching a movie and she pops up I am instantly engaged. Her personality is present, but the character is always first. It amazes me that so many young acting students do not even know her name. Someone previous to me suggested a Thelma Ritter Festival...let's go Robert Osborne. She is a gem and deserves to be celebrated. Although I have not seen Ms. Ritter dance or sing I know she could handle both disciplines ably. She was a true craftsman. Hurray for Thelma!!!

  • Thelma Ritter is a Hit!

    • Lisa Harris
    • 2006-10-20

    I too love Thelma Ritter. Any film that has her in the cast is a must to see. She becomes the real person in the plot and someone that we wish we could be, the fly on the wall so to speak. She keeps the film real. Her acting seems so carefree and natural and it's not a struggle to believe her character. I love her in Rear Window, Move Over Darling, The Model and the Marriage Broker just to name a few. She played a lot of roles that others might have thought was not 'big' enough. But she made several of those bigger stars shine brighter because of her contributions to the films. She is definetly on the top of my list. Let's have a marathon of Thelma Ritter movies soon.

  • I love Thelma Ritter too!

    • Melissa Keggett
    • 2006-04-29

    I love Thelma Ritter, I'v probably seen about five or six of her films, but my favorite is definatly as Stella in Rear Window. Of course I just love that movie all by itself, but she gives the movie momentum and keeps me laughing the whole time. I think she, Grace Kelly, and wheel-chair bound Stewart, are the mostly unlikely, and greatest detective "team" Hitchcock has ever produced. Hopefully others have seen her too and know what a great actress she is!

  • Ya Gotta'love Thelma Ritter!

    • Jeffery West
    • 2006-02-15

    Thelma Ritter, Keeps me laughing after all these years!! You may remember her very first screen role in "Miracle on 34th Street" as the shopper at Macy's looking for a must have Christmas gift for her son. She was incredulous as she was directed to the competition by the "Macy's store Santa" since Macy didn't carry them item. Her small but significant role set-up Macy's good will publicity campaign and saved Mr. Kringle's job. Her blue collar git, wit and humor won instant devotion from her many fans who like myself loved her in such roles as the spunky, tipsy and delightfully insubordinate housekeeper/matchmaker in "Pillow Talk". If You see her name in the credits, it is a sure bet the film is worth viewing!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.