skip navigation
Donna Reed

Donna Reed

  • Thousands Cheer (1943, October 03 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Calling Dr. Gillespie (1942, November 01 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Dr. Gillespie's Criminal Case (1943, November 15 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • From Here To Eternity (1953, December 07 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Donna Reed Film Festival

    • MARY
    • 2012-04-30

    The Orpheum Theater Center just held the first DONNA REED FILM FESTIVAL April 27-29. Daughter Mary Owen wa here to interact with the guests. Five of Donna's top rated movies showed, a play was developed by Director Rod Kaspers based upon 300 letters Donna recieved from our men in the service during WWII. Eight young talented performers presented this 45 minute play 4 times throughout the weekend. The inaugural production was presented for our veterans from the Iowa Veterans Home as well as others from the commuity and surrounding areas. Several directors from the Donna Reed Foundation spent the weekend here enjoying the event as well. Pip Gordon director of the Orpheum Theater Center is credited for the development of the event, bringing in Mary Owen, Donna Reed's youngest daughter and the development of the entire production. Plans are to have the 2nd annual Donna Reed Film Festiva in April 2013.

  • She was so pretty!

    • Chrsitine
    • 2010-10-07

    I agree that Donna Reed was an underrated actress. She was also as beautiful as any actress in Hollywood, including Liz Taylor and Ava Gardner, just a little more the All American girl next door type. Hey nothing wrong with that. I really was happy when TCM honored her as SOTM in May. Robert Osborne totally loves Donna Reed, (and interviewed her youngest daughter) and if she's good enough for Mr. Osborne, then she's good enough for me. Loved her in From Here to Eternity and Green Dolphin Street. I've never seen It's A Wonderful Life all the way through. Yes, I know how ridiculous that sounds. I've never heard the story about Jimmy Stewart and Donna before. Did he not want to act with her because he thought she would overshadow him? That's too bad if that is true, because he could have helped her career take off more then it did. I'm surprised at him. Anyway, Miss Donna Reed was beautiful, and seemed like a very nice person.

  • Classy, talented, a natural beauty & underrated.

    • Susan
    • 2009-09-11

    I am glad she got an Oscar for "From Here to Eternity", as she was a fine performer - "against type" - in that role. Still, it showed a natural class she had. Green Dolphin Street is also one where her acting ability is overshadowed by Lana Turner. I think the roles could have been switched and Ms. Reed would have done well as either sister. I just don't think she was given the opportunity. I agree with the prior comments on "It's a Wonderful Life", so I need not go on. Even as John Wayne's Love Interest, she played well against him as an army nurse in "They Were Expendable", she was up to the role. And, with Dana Andrews in "Three Hours to Kill", she did a great job in a western. Can't forget her role with Hurd Harfield in "The Picture of Dorian Grey", either. Then, as Liz Taylor's sister (when Liz was young, and VERY pretty), Reed held her own - and was believable as her sister, even when "it" was discovered at the end. And in the original "Ransom", great job with Glenn Ford. As for "The Donna Reed Show"? Well, I was born in 1959, but do remember it as one of my fsvorite shows. Perhaps it was my youth or naievity - but I always remembered her as "The pergect mom", rather than like 'June Cleaver' in "Leave it to Beaver" - most often referred to as the perfect mom in those shows (like Fred McMurray as the perfect Dad in "My Three Sons". If only MY children had those shows to have watched when they were young (who, though now both at college - became TCM fana, also - and were/are Donna Reed fans, as well)! I only wish she were given more of sn opportunity; however, perhaps it was because she didn't have 'stardust' in her eyes while at college, rather looked to be a Steno-Sec'y instead. Luckily - HW found her and we still have her wonderful self on the silver screen. Plus, many thanks to TCM for showing hers as well as all of their great movies!

  • Very Underrated

    • David SeguraJr
    • 2008-11-04

    Ms Reed was the prettiest actress, on screen., she could play any part. She brought life to the part she played.

  • Hollywood's most beautiful actress!

    • Gary
    • 2006-12-22

    Donna Reed is one of the most gorgeous women ever to grace the siver screen. She is so charming and sweet in "It's a Wonderful Life"--in fact, I think she, perhaps even more than Jimmy Stewart, is a large part of what makes the movie such a classic.

  • "Life" wouldn't be the same with out Donna's Mary!

    • Dan
    • 2006-12-20

    The more I see "It's a Wonderful LIfe", the more firmly I believe that Donna Reed very quietly makes a major contribution to the ongoing attraction of this film. In fact, almost all of the scenes that I find most compelling are the ones she is in. She is so hot in this film, the "romantic" tension she creates with her eyes and lips alone in her scenes with Jimmy is priceless. I can't believe he could think that she could hurt him in later films, and deny such powerful chemistry they had together. It took her years to get past the hurt, and her career was never the same. That ain't no way to treat such a fine lady, Jimmy! Vote for her older movies around and before then and you will see what I mean. These will get you started: See Here, Private Hargrove They Were Expendable Faithful in My Fashion Green Dolphin Street Eyes in the Night

  • One of the Most Underrated Actresses

    • Laura Nicholson
    • 2006-12-17

    Donna Reed is one of my favorite actresses. It's a pity she's not better remembered. She was a wonderful actress, but also a pioneer for the employment of and liberation of women in film and on TV.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.