skip navigation
Luise Rainer

Luise Rainer

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Luise Rainer

    • alyson
    • 2011-01-13

    What an amazing interview. I was so impressed with her. The clarity of her memory even the details from over 74 years ago. What a beautiful woman. I had never watched the Good Earth but did so after seeing this interview.

  • The Good Earth

    • Angelia
    • 2010-12-28

    I have watched this movie in excess of a hundred time, I have owned this movie for years and is the reason I have bought so many more movies of the orient . I love Ms. Rainer, her personality in the movie touches me deeply. This movie is incredible! I would love to know how to write her a letter I was so happy to see her on TCM! Please if anyone can give me an address to write her, send info to Quatromgrl@aol.com Thank you.

  • Luise Rainier Fan Site???

    • Jill Cordell
    • 2010-05-01

    I am looking for a Luise Rainier Fan Site. Anyone know of one? I know a lady who would love to write to Ms. Rainier. This lady actually acted with Ms. Rainier in The Good Earth. I am only trying to do a good deed for an old lady. Any help or info would be very appreciated. Please contact me: nani2121@msn.com Thank you.

  • stunning

    • chuck z
    • 2009-01-13

    I recently saw "the big city" and was totally moved by Ms Ranier's very sincere and feeling performance. It did not come across as acting, but as a very vunerable real woman caught in a seemingly impossible situation. A Standing Ovation Performance!!! A great loss that she made so few movies, but great for her to have survived the ills of stardom and hollywood and found happiness.(sounds like a storyline for a movie).

  • Luise Rainer re:Proper Billing

    • Priscilla
    • 2009-01-13

    Jennifer, You are absolutely right. She should have recieved proper billing. I think she's a great actress, and she should have been given proper credit and billing for her role in that movie. She had major roles in movies in her time with other great actors and actresses. I don't know who that guy was, but he should have acknowledged her for who she is. That in itself was a disrespect for an actress of her statue.

  • Luise Rainer

    • Priscilla
    • 2009-01-13

    I lOVE her in the movies, The Good Earth and The Toy Wife, even though both end in a sad way. I watched them again on her birthday. I watch The Good Earth everytime it comes on. She's a great actress!!!! WOW 99 years old that's truly a blessing!!!! Happy Birthday Many Happy Returns!!!!!

  • Luise Rainer

    • Jennifer
    • 2009-01-12

    She is one of my very favorite actors. She is brilliant at choosing roles, and performs them so flawlessly. The very LEAST this Karoly Makks could have done, and respectfully should have done, was give her proper billing. Makks knows what "proper" should have been to an actress of her magnitude and abilities. Who is this Makks not to try to return the Honor(in some small way)that Miss Rainer bestowed on Him/Her by even accepting.

  • great acctress

    • michael saunders
    • 2009-01-12

    great actresswith spunk. independence and morals. She can be very dramatic or liven up a comedy. I would have liked to have seen her in other films that rivals were in. She may be more of a real person than many other actors and actresses. thank you for running her films again.

  • A great film actress

    • John Klintworth
    • 2008-11-10

    Mostly forgotten today, Luise Rainer had a special quality on film. Even in lesser movies like Dramatic School (MGM's knock off of RKO's "Stage Door") she outshines the script, direction and co-stars. Sometimes she reminds one of Meryl Streep at her most vulnerable. Still kicking and almost 99 years old, her film performances though few, manage to maintain a magic after 70 odd years.

  • A Legend Remains

    • Heberto Rivera
    • 2008-06-03

    THE GOOD EARTH is an amazing film especially the work of Oscar-winner Luise Rainer as O-Lan. You actually feel the pain she suffers throughout the film. Her sincere performance is breathtaking and deserved her Oscar-win. She is an amazing actress that isn't as well known today. I discovered her work later in life, and I truly admire her style resembling Greta Garbo's. I wish MGM can release her other films- DRAMATIC SCHOOL, THE TOY WIFE, THE GREAT WALTZ, BIG CITY, etc.- as a box set. She needs to be seen and rediscovered again. And, at 98, she is the oldest Oscar-winner still with us. A legend indeed.

  • My favorite actor

    • Edith Bray
    • 2006-02-01

    The sincerity and pain is felt when you feel the teardrops that O Lan is shedding as she suffers through the life of The Good Earth. In the movie, Dramatic School, she discribes why she wants to be an actor and her words are the best I've ever heard to explain the love of ones craft. I just wish I could remember it verbatim.

  • Among the Best

    • Bob Galvin-Oliphant
    • 2006-01-20

    Luise Rainer gave an extraordinary and beautiful performance as O-Lan in "The Good Earth". For this heart-touching role alone, she stands among the greatest actors of our time.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.