skip navigation
Elvis Presley

Elvis Presley

  • That's Entertainment! III (1994, November 25 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • There Will Never Be Another

    • Lasher
    • 2014-03-09

    I often wonder what would have happened had Elvis fired Parker following his discharge in 1960. The "bad boy" image he wielded in the 50s was immediately discarded in 1960 with 'pop' being massaged into his music and more family friendly plots in his films (he played a babysitter in his first post-Army film). Then, four short years later, the lads from Liverpool invaded America, and Elvis was relegated to the object of joke-making Hollywood elites and being spoken of in the past tense, while still in his 30s, by the revolutionaries of popular music and pop culture in general. With the exception of two ground breaking television specials in 1968 and 1973, the phenomenon known as "The King" was no more. Yet in those five short years from his first recordings in 1954 (excluding a couple from 1953) until his final recordings of the 1950s while on leave in 1958, and the four films he had made up to that point (which showed a steady INCREASE of acting ability), there has never been, nor dare I say, ever will be, another superstar of his caliber. Nearly 40 years after his death, he is still missed by millions of us who grew up with him. Yes, I wonder what would have happened had Elvis fired Parker following his discharge in 1960.

  • Amazingly Beautiful!!!!!:)

    • Andrea
    • 2012-06-09

    I haven't been a fan of Mr Elvis Presley for very long but, OH MY GOODNESS!!!!! He is amazing!!! His Acting, Singing, & Dancing!!!! So Amazing!

  • Kissing cousin

    • Ms Sally Bishop
    • 2011-01-08

    I love all Elvis Presely /moveies But I am a Little upset that you only played two Movies of his on his Birth Day. Sinceraly,truely Blondie

  • Elvis: The Historic Rockabilly King

    • Anthony
    • 2010-01-30

    If you've ever luxuriated in the early sounds of rock and roll one cannot climb the mountain without touting the "King" -Elvis Presley. Steeped in gospel sprinkled liberally with rhythm & blues (some thought he was a black artist in early radio days in Memphis!) Elvis broke all the rules for music up to that point in time, pioneering the way for artists world-wide to take up the banner of ROCK. From tender ballads like "Young and Beautiful" to slap-bass rockers like "Jailhouse Rock" he drove young fans mad with those flushed feelings of love's first infatuation to downright toe-tapping energy hammered out by an irrestible backbeat (with Scotty Moore's electric rhythm) and a rich, powerful baritone voice carrying at least a couple of octaves. In a word he was "exciting". So much so he charmed even Ed Sullivan on who's show he was admired even by Mr. Sullivan himself with his sincere words of admiration on air for "this fine young man".

  • Elvis is a great performer!

    • Michael
    • 2010-01-13

    I did an in depth research paper in college on Elvis and his movies. Several of the directors on his movies stated that he would have been a much better actor if Paramount was not trying to produce so many films each year! Most actors get 5 to 10 takes, sometimes all the way up to 40 or 50 for each scene! That is why most actors come across so good, Elvis usually got one maybe two if he was lucky! With the pressure he was under and the limited amount of time they had to push out movies I believe he did a great job! Just proves how talented he really was, as an Elvis fan his movies in my opinion are great! In reality they are okay but with more direction and time Elvis could have become an exceptional actor along with his wonderful singing career!!

  • Elvis - The King Forever!!!

    • Bruce Reber
    • 2009-08-17

    Elvis Presley was without question the absolute greatest Rock and Roll singer that ever lived. When Elvis came on the music scene in the 1950's his singing style and persona had an immediate impact on popular culture. He had every teenage girl screaming and swooning, and every teenage boy wanted to be just like him. His early hit songs such as "Heartbreak Hotel", "Jailhouse Rock" and "Hound Dog" sold millions, and it was only a matter of time before he would become an equally big silver screen sensation. The plots of his films were very formulaic (loving the ladies, beating up the bad guys, and his singing and dancing), but most of his films were box office hits. If he had been given a few really good scripts, Elvis could have proven he was a serious actor and not just a handsome song and dance man. My five favorite Elvis films are "Jailhouse Rock", "King Creole", "Blue Hawaii", "Viva Las Vegas" and "Spinout". January 8, 2010 will mark his 75th birthday, and I would like to see TCM commemorate the occasion by having a Star of The Month tribute to Elvis, and showing all of his great films. What better way to pay tribute to a Memphis truck driver who became the greatest rock star of all time and an icon that will last forever. LONG LIVE THE KING!!!!

  • elvis presley: rock star/movie star

    • robert beatty
    • 2009-05-26

    elvis presley the king of rock and roll who proved he was a capable good actor in drama and comedy with such wonderful films as "jailhouse rock", "king creole", "flaming star", "blue hawaii", "kid galahad", "viva las vegas" and "girl happy". he seems underrated for his acting, but when you look back at some of his films, he was actually pretty good. a handsome talented singer and actor who had great sex appeal. along with frank sinatra, the greatest and most popular entertainer of all time!

  • I LOVE ELVIS PRESLEY

    • tammy
    • 2009-03-27

    Iam a big elvis presley fan. I grew up listening to his music because my father was a big fan. I have all his movies but 1. Loving you I wish tcm would play this movie. I've been to graceland once and Iam going again this year can't wait.

  • Truly, the "King Of Rock And Roll!"

    • David
    • 2008-10-27

    This man created and started the Rock and Roll era. Without his music, many other stars would of not arrived on the scene. His movies are top-notch. The all-time classic movie, from 1958, is "King Creole".

  • ADORING FAN

    • V.J
    • 2008-07-27

    OMG HE IS THE ULTIMATE HANDSOME MAN. IS VOICE IS THE MOST ROMANTIC, SENSUAL SPINE-THRILLING VOICE. I HAVE BEEN A FAN SINCE WAS A LITTLE GIRL. HE WAS AND ALWAYS WILL BE THE KING.

  • Favorite

    • Tana
    • 2008-06-17

    He Is My Favorite Actor/Singer I'VE lOVED hIM sINCE i wAS itty Bitty!!!!!!!!

  • ELVIS THE GREATEST FOREVER AND EVER!

    • ISABEL B HUBER
    • 2007-08-28

    WHAT CAN I SAY BUT THAT HE WAS UNIQUE! HE WAS A GIFT FROM HEAVEN AND NOT EVERYBODY UNDERSTOOD THAT. MOST OF PEOPLE LOVED HIM BUT SOME PEOPLE WERE JEALOUS OF HIM. HE WAS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE.

  • Evis - THE GREATEST ENTERTAINER OF ALL TIME.

    • Jeanne Pfadenhauer
    • 2007-07-12

    Elvis was undoubtedly the King of Music. There will never be another performer with his raw talent, stage present, charisma and compassion for fellow man. He was the best of the best, and will always be The King.

  • No One Like Elvis!

    • Wanda
    • 2007-03-21

    Elvis showed a lot of acting ability when given a chance. His films were generally entertaining and fun. His voice was phenomenal, and he was absolutely stunning to look at! Elvis fans have to be the most loyal of any group. Out of sight, but never out of mind. His legacy in movies and music will continue for a LONG time to come. He is much loved and missed.

  • Once in a Century Talent

    • Richard Nevins
    • 2006-11-19

    The movies were fun, the plots were thin, the actor got bored as time went on and plots and songs got sillier and less challenging. But Elvis at his worst was better than most at their best. It was that he presented a complete package never witnessed before with his amazing musical range, his sexy dance moves, his comedic timing and his godly good looks. For his best acting, see Flaming Star and King Creole. For best comedy,see Follow That Dream, and for best concert, see Elvis-That's The Way It Is.

  • Long Live The King!

    • mack pedro
    • 2006-09-29

    There once was a man who shook the world that man was elvis presley. His existance is one of the greatest and wonderous event in not only our history but also our future. The world without him is depressing if you were to really think about it i mean he left not only his music but also his spirit and his soul.

  • Elvis #1

    • kay bailey
    • 2006-09-26

    In my oppinion Elvis Presley has the most beautiful voice I have ever heard. no one can compare to him he slaso he also has the sexiest smile his physique is absoutly exquiste. I would be proud to call him my friend.When God made Elvis Presley he threw the mold away. I prefere to listen to Elvis sing than any other. I seen him in person on the 13 th of september 1970 atthe Curtis Hixon convention center in tampa fl. I was in 2nd row from stage and W O W!

  • where are the movies

    • Lisa Tomes
    • 2006-08-16

    where are all of his movies at always in Aug. there is his movies on t.v. i make my day around his movies in Aug.

  • the king

    • kayla
    • 2006-07-20

    one of the best entertainers of all time

  • elvis is the bomb!

    • kayla
    • 2006-07-03

    Elvis is a very talented man. He is a great person,and is cute! Everything I see of him I have to have it. I have almost all of his songs on my mp3 player, and I have seven of his movies and wanting to get more. Everyone should love elvis and respect him because he did nothing to you, for you to make fun of him and disrespect him. He is a nice man and very talented!

  • elvis is the best

    • kayla lafontaine
    • 2006-04-09

    elvis.....man he is just the best singer and actor there ever was and ever will be. he will always be known as the king of rock and roll. because he is the best in the world you couldnt ask for a more loving, talented, funny, good looking guy!

  • Elvis Presley

    • Diana
    • 2006-03-31

    This man was "THE" entertainer of all time. He touched so many lives and was truly a wonderful man. While some of his movies weren't oscar winners, you can't take away from the millions of fans who adore him. Elvis Presley was God's gift in my opinion. If Elvis sang it I had to hear it, if he was in a movie, I had to see it. Elvis fans are very loyal.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.