skip navigation
Tyrone Power

Tyrone Power

  • Black Swan, The (1942, September 21 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Rawhide (1951, November 04 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Salute to a Great Star

    • Fangirl
    • 2014-05-05

    Remembering the extraordinary Tyrone Power, on May 5th 2014, the 100th anniversary of his birth. He was an actor of great talent and grace and left a fine body of work on film that fans will continue to enjoy for many years to come. Tyrone Power was and will always be one of Hollywood's legendary superstars.

  • Gone Too Soon

    • AJ
    • 2014-04-09

    Handsome and dashing he surely was. But Tyrone Power had major acting skills too. With some inner restraint he used his magical eyes and elegant carriage to reflect and amplify all that his characters spoke and also to reveal something of the person he himself was. Tyrone the man may have lived a glamorous and turbulent life. But while he was about it, fortunately for all of us, he left 45 or more memorable performances on film. I just watched his last complete movie, Witness for the Prosecution, and all I can say is, Wow! We lost this gifted and beautiful actor way too soon.

  • Stardust

    • Fan
    • 2014-01-25

    Tyrone Power was one of our greatest stars. Seemingly born to be in the movies, he exuded grace and charm along with unsurpassed good looks. Its hard to measure today the impact that stars like Power had on the movie going public of the day, both in the USA and around the world. They trailed an air of glamour -- Stardust -- the like of which may never be seen again. Wherever he went, Power was mobbed by adoring fans--see books by companion, actress Mai Zetterling and Bob Buck, a pilot friend who traveled with Power to SA, Africa and Europe for an insight into the extent of his popularity in remote corners of the globe even into the late 1940s and 1950s when his popularity was allegedly on the wane. Despite the adoration that might have turned his head, Power worked hard to develop a career that would take him beyond his Hollywood image. He fought for good parts in films, did amazingly forward thinking stage work, for which he garnered some wonderful reviews, was frequently on radio, and did a couple of spoken word recordings that are just beautiful to listen to. He chose to continue to challange himself and the public perception of him as a matinee idol, by starring in offbeat material such as Abandon Ship, the movie his production company financed. He just didn't live long enough. I wish I were a few decades older so that I might have seen him on stage in John Brown 's Body or The Devil 's Disciple or in Lillom with his wife, Annabella. Stardusted!

  • Ty the Terrific

    • dcb
    • 2013-07-26

    Ive been a fan of Tyrone Power for many years. I first saw his movies on late night TV in the 1960s. His warmth and good looks combined with his naturalness always seemed to me to be very modern. His poetry readings are glorious, too, and work on the stage was garnnering great reviews when his life was cut short. Love Tyrone in most all of his movies. Personal favorites are Zorro, Black Swan, Long Gray Line, Luck of the Irish and Nightmare Alley. One of the great glamorous stars and a true movie icon from Hollywood's Golden Age.

  • Tyrone Power

    • pattyh
    • 2012-08-27

    I fell in love with his movies at a young age...Rose of Washington Square is one of my favs. He is so young, handsome, and breathtaking to watch. He never won an academy award, but I think he deserved at least a nomination for Witness for the Prosecution. Thanks for the movies this month.....I taped a few and will watch and watch and watch..

  • Appreciation for Tyrone

    • Maria
    • 2012-01-28

    For those seeking a "Tyrone Power Appreciation Society," you can look at tyrone-power.com and also support efforts to help him get a postage stamp in his centenary year of 2014. Info is available on the site.

  • ty power

    • bobbie
    • 2011-10-26

    I only wish I could have seen him on stage

  • Why

    • brenda sellers
    • 2009-09-14

    Have been searching for many years for a Tyrone Power appreciation society without success.As one of the most outstanding stars of the 30's 40's 50's why is this? Every trail I have followed has come to a dead end.I could go on and cover the 2,000 words,but please,there must be someone somewhere,and young enough,to take on this very worthwhile task,Ty deserves this. Brenda Sellers.

  • Tyrone Power

    • edna pike
    • 2009-06-23

    I thought that I would find more info on one of the most outstanding actors of the 30's 40's 50's ect. Give us a full bio. PLEASE!

  • tyrone power: 20th century fox star

    • robert beatty
    • 2009-06-21

    tyrone power was one of 20th century fox's biggest stars. handsome, talented and versatile. among his best films are "jesse james", "the mark of zorro", "blood and sand", "crash dive", "the razor's edge", "nightmare alley", "american guerrilla in the philippines" and "witness for the prosecution". tyrone power a golden age movie star.

  • wonderful tyrone

    • Laurabeth
    • 2009-02-14

    He was a terrific actor. I loved every movie he was in I just wish he had been allowed to do more. I agree with other reviewers why aren't his films on tv more?I remember a few years back when AMC had a weekend of his films they received an incredibal amt of fan mail. Please run more of his films!!!!

  • WHERE ARE ALL THE TYRONE POWER MOVIES?

    • maggie
    • 2009-01-06

    I want to see "Son of Fury", "Zorro", and all the wonderful movies with this dashing star. Where are they, and who owns them. Are they holding them for ransom? M

  • Powerful Leading Man

    • QueenieBee
    • 2008-07-15

    A wonderful leading man in every sense of the word. His commanding presence on the screen pulls you in and keeps you interested and wanting more. He was one of the most handsome men in Hollywood. Other than Cary Grant I can't think of another that would even come close to this man. "Son of Fury" and "Marie Antoinette" are two of my favorites.

  • THE GREATEST

    • Jackie
    • 2008-02-26

    Wonderful actor, shame he didn't live longer. I loved him in everything he did, especially "Blood & Sand", "Zorro", "The Long Gray Line," "Eddy Duchin," too many to name. I thought he was really playing the piano in Duchin until someone told me otherwise. I play piano and I was convinced by his fingerings that he was. Great.

  • Luck of the Irish

    • zmeery
    • 2007-10-16

    A delightful light comedy about Ireland, love and little people.

  • Love Tyrone Power!!!

    • Pat Schabram
    • 2007-10-12

    I fell in love with Tyrone Power as a young girl. I'll never forget the first time I saw him at the local movie theatre in The Sun Also Rises. From then on I had to see every movie he ever made. One of my favorite movies was The Black Swan. What a magnificent hunk and that hat! I swoon every time I watch that movie. Two more of my favorites are The Mark of Zorro and The Mississippi Gambler. I could go on and on but I'm limited to 2000 words. Suffice to say Tyrone Power was my idol and he died much too soon. Such a tragedy!

  • Love me some Ty!

    • Francine
    • 2007-10-11

    I love this man. I always have. It's very disappointing to me that others who watch TCM don't know him as I do. Quelle hunk!

  • One of the greats!

    • Lyn
    • 2007-10-10

    Tyrone Power was one of the great romantic leading men of the golden era. He exuded warmth, charm, and grace. For years, he served as the top star for 20th Century-Fox.

  • I love him!

    • Brando4ever
    • 2007-08-11

    I agree what everybody else said about him!

  • Outstanding actor

    • Abby
    • 2007-02-04

    What a career, charisma, and charm this wonderful actor had. How young to die, and leave us wanting more. Kudo's to you, Tyrone, for your outstanding body of work and service to your country! They don't make them like you anymore.

  • Correction in Filmography

    • Richard R.
    • 2007-01-30

    You show that Tyrone Power's Last Screen Appearance was in "The Sun Also Rises". That film was released in 1957. "Witness for the Prosecution" was released in February 1958 and was his last screen appearance.

  • Tyrone the Magnificent

    • Maria
    • 2006-09-05

    A wonderful, unappreciated actor who was very versatile, appearing in musicals, comedies, dramas, costume dramas, adventure films, and also worked on the stage in London and on Broadway. Though he is best remembered for his swashbuckling films, he also gave marvelous performances outside the genre in "The Razor's Edge," "Nightmare Alley," "The Long Gray Line," "Lloyds of London," "The Mississippi Gambler," "The Eddy Duchin Story" and in his final film, "Witness for the Prosecution." Loved by all who knew him, he had a gentle personality, enormous charm, and a great sense of humor.

  • Tyrone Power-FUL hero

    • keith farlow
    • 2006-08-20

    Fantastic romantic hero of the Mark of Zorro, Captain from Castile, The Prince of Foxes, The Black Rose, and King of the Kyber Rifles.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.