skip navigation
Sidney Poitier

Sidney Poitier

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Measure of a Man audio

    • philip boutwell
    • 2012-12-16

    In Disc 5 of a wonderful audio by Sidney himself, he mentioned about property of his father" Reggie"had on Cat Island in the Bahamas. .I wonder if the authorities allowed he and his sister to retain possession.

  • Lillys of the Field

    • Adolfnnemarie Ru
    • 2011-12-11

    Why are so so many entries like : Statistical information doesn't exist - please update this feature. Just looked up Sidney Portier and this happen's a lot. Annemarie

  • Excellent Performer

    • Abdiel
    • 2010-03-30

    I have only seen 2 films from Mr. Poitier,(Paris Blues, Lilies of the field) but from those two i can tell he is an actor worth remembering. His humble nature seems to radiate through the screen. Mr. Poitier and only a handful of other actors have captured my attention like he does. Just an exceptional actor all around.

  • Mr. Poitier can't be topped!

    • Helen L Fry
    • 2010-01-18

    I was born in May, 1945, to give you an idea of my age and when I went to school. I'm Caucasian, also, so after seeing Mr. Poitier in "Blackboard Jungle" in 1955, and immediately falling in love with him, well, you can see my problem. This was not something you could talk about to your friends, at this time. I have watched this fabulous actor through the years, and he has done nothing but get more and more better. I know of no other actor that, in my opinion, has been able to play the roles he has, with the believability and sincerity he has shown each part.

  • Please read

    • Branch
    • 2009-05-08

    This information is helpless

  • As They Say In Hip-Hop,"HE KEPT IT REAL"!

    • Andre Jonathan
    • 2007-02-20

    2/19/07 To All/TCM Movie Fans who recognize and appreciate great Artists and their contribution(s)to the film industry,I as an 9th-10th generation Afro-American Filmmaker, would like to say THANK YOU TO SIR/MR. SIDNEY POITIER! I would like all mentioned above to watch at least 10 out of all his movies(acted/dir.), and you should give thanks too. There is nothing more I can say that probably hasn't already been expressed to describe his acclommades.However, there is one thing I know and can say about him;"He was True To The Game, and He Kept It Real"!! He is one(1) of my top 10 all time male actors. Again, I THANK YOU Sidney Poitier for your gift you shared with us. Respectively, Andre Jonathan

  • one of america's true gems

    • tamara harding
    • 2006-02-02

    Sidney Poitier ia one of my icons in the world of theatre. Even though I am in my twenties, the films I have seen with him inspire my as an African American to be the best I can be. He is very much inspiring, and anything he does i think it's worth watching

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.