skip navigation
Merle Oberon

Merle Oberon

  • Hotel (1967, September 03 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • That Uncertain Feeling (1941, September 17 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Berlin Express (1948, November 09 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Hotel (1967, November 20 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • One of a Kind

    • Taylor
    • 2012-07-29

    Merle was a one of a kind beauty and actress. Everytime she appears on screen I literally get overwhelmed by her beauty and grace. TCM needs to dedicate a month to her. She was execptional and desereves the reconigition for her wonderful work.

  • Legendary Beauty

    • David Atkins
    • 2011-02-27

    Merle Oberon is on everyone's list as one of the 10 greatest beauties of the silver screen. Her history is now known that instead of being born in Tasmania Ms. Oberon was born of partial Indian heritage along which accounted to her exotic look. Some called Merle Oberon's beauty so overwhelming that she was referered to as the 8th Wonder of the World. In a long career Oberon worked with William Wyler, Marlon Brando Laurence Olivier et al Fabulously rich, Ms. Oberon at ge 63 hired Daniel Mann to direct her in a film set in Mexico financed by her rich husband. What happened was Oberon divorced her husand and fell in love with hunky Robert wolders 25 years her junion. The movie Interval bombed but Oberon married Wolders and spent the last years of her life traveling with her husband. Oberon was a member of Cafe Society in NY, London, Paris. Truly lived life to the fullest as a real Movie Star Longtime friend of Cary Grant, Irene Dunne, Loretta Young.

  • Stunning Beauty

    • Larry Bradford
    • 2011-01-11

    Hopefully, TCM would compile her best films one month and devote it to her. It's hard to believe Merle with her stunning beauty cant be seen often on TCM. When she is scheduled I make it a point to watch her. Maybe TCM could set aside her birthday month and "treat" us to her films.

  • Um !

    • DeMi
    • 2010-07-03

    She was not born in Australia. That was a misconception. She was born in India and was 1/4 Indian.

  • More Of Merle!

    • Lori J
    • 2010-05-30

    Merle Oberon was one of the most luminious and and stunning women in the golden age of Hollywood! Her darkly exotic good looks were often overshadowed by her acting ability which too is not appreciated enough! In her films she portrayed a wide varity of characters from Wuthering Heights to Hotel with seemless grace and little effort! She carried herself with class and style! Please devote a month to the beautiful and glorious Merle Oberon!

  • Mysteriously Beautiful

    • Shonna M.
    • 2010-04-06

    It is simply a mystery! I grew up not knowing my Great Grand Mother because my Grand Mother grew up not knowing who her Biological Parent's are. Some where along the way she was told that Miss Merle Oberon was her Mother. If this is true it was and still is a well kept secret! HELP!!!

  • Exotic Beauty, She is top drawer!!!

    • David Lee
    • 2009-10-17

    We need a month for this wonderful woman. I want to see more of her, I'm a big fan of TCM and like other fans,you need to show us more from your library of great movies.

  • Exotic Beauty

    • Cale Gleknul
    • 2009-09-30

    Merle was a stunning beauty who had to hide her past in order to secure her future. The mystery that surrounded her only added to her sex appeal in my eyes.

  • Always Best Dressed...

    • LBiss
    • 2009-08-27

    Beautiful, enigmatic, possessor of exquisite taste, Ms. Oberon seemed to live the life she portrayed on the cinema. Her grace and poise were always evident in her presence on screen. Have just renewed my appreciation for the b/w feature gems of the 30s/40s: thank you TCM; Merle, Sirs Lawrence and Ralph, knew how to do slapstick.

  • The Trouble with Merle

    • Mary Ann
    • 2009-08-27

    Why not show the Australian documentary "The Trouble with Merle" (2002)? I'd like to know more about this mysterious and fascinating personality.

  • WE WANT A MONTH FOR MERLE!

    • Tara Kelly
    • 2009-04-09

    She always passed by. I know I am not the only person who wants to have her remembered.

  • Scarlet Pimpernel

    • chris
    • 2008-07-07

    Is it posseble to ever show this movie. and more of her work?

  • A MONTH FOR MERLE!

    • Lori.
    • 2008-03-27

    Merle Oberon is one of the most beautiful and talented actresses to ever grace the silver screen! Not enough tribute is paid to her body of work in films! It seems TCM should have a Merle Oberon Month! To pay homage to her divine beauty and unique talent! It is about time! I request this month not just for me but I am sure for all her fans! She deserves to be recognized and appreciated just as much as all of her contemporaries! She made many fine films and we her fans want to see them! Thank You!

  • More Meryle Oberon

    • Carol
    • 2007-12-30

    I always love her acting and feel she was very special in movie history. Please dedicate more time to her.

  • AMerle Oberon Month

    • Dr. John W.S.Howard
    • 2007-09-14

    I am still waiting for the announcement of a Merle Oberon month. As I have said once before, TCM constantly have a William Holden month,John Wayne, Betty Davis,Elvis Pressley month. I have never experienced seeing a Merle Oberon month. Why is this? Merle has starred in a great number of films on the silver screen. why can't we celebrate having a Merle Oberon month?

  • A Merle Oberon Month

    • Dr. John W.S. Howard
    • 2007-08-22

    Dear Sirs/Madams, I am writing to ask for a Merle Oberon Month as evidenced by the fact that we have had a Betty Davis month,Elvis Pressley month,Randolph Scott,etc. I don't believe we had a Merle Oberon month. I am a huge fan of TCM.I watch your station almost all the time.My wife thinks that TCM is the only station I know. Please notify me by email in terms of when will we have a Merle Oberon month.

  • Films starring Merle Oberon

    • Dr. John W.S. Howard
    • 2007-03-05

    I want to thank you for showing more of Merle Oberon films(recently). She is an incredible actress. I call upon you to play some of her films that the American public havn't seen. For instance "over the Moon,Affair in Monte Carlo,Til we meet again,etc." I say this because the American viewers such as my self see films starring " John Wayne,Betty Davis, Lucille Ball,Rock Hudson,Fred Astaire,Sylvester Stalone, katherine and Audrey Hepburn,Jimmy Stewart,etc." over and over and over again. Please show more of Merle Oberon and films Starring Laurence Olivia who is a great British Actor. Please accept my appreciation for implementing this matter. Regards, Dr. John W.S.Howard,Ph.D.

  • Classy, elegant, funny and beautiful

    • Elaine
    • 2006-12-22

    All of the above describe Merle Oberon to me. Every moveie I've seen her in I would watch again. There are other movies I've seen her in, this morning it was the Cowboy and the Lady. Another which has not been mentioned was The Divorce of Lady X in which she starred with Laurence Oliver - a comedy which was hilarious. I would love to see that again. She is certainly one of the great actresses of the Golden Age.

  • Merle is great to look at!!

    • randy
    • 2006-11-06

    There are many beautiful, dark-haired actresses from the Golden Age of Hollywood. Merle Oberon is near the top of that list. A really good actress in dramas and a natural beauty. TCM, please show more Oberon movies and make us all even happier with your channel.

  • More movies starring Merle Oberon

    • Dr. John W.S. Howard
    • 2006-10-09

    I have seen an many,many movies on TCM starring Betty Davis. However, I do not see hardly any movies starring Merle Oberon and she wa a big Star in the 1930's and 40's. Movies like the Wedding Rehearsal,Til we meet again,Affair in Monte Carlo,Over the Moon,to name a few. Please show more of Merle's Movies and I would like to be notified when you do. My e-mail address is johnhoward@drugfreenc.org. Thank You, Dr. John W.S.Howard,Ph.D.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.