skip navigation
Maureen O'Hara

Maureen O'Hara

  • Woman's Secret, A (1949, September 04 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Black Swan, The (1942, September 21 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Wings of Eagles, The (1957, November 11 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Unparalleled beauty and talent!

    • Angelica Goldstein
    • 2012-06-04

    If she were ever to write a book about how she's managed to retain her obviously healthy beautiful looks well into old age -- it would be an instant best seller. Perhaps she is just one of those rare creatures whom God and great genes have blessed! I fully expect to read about the celebration of her 100th year, and wish her much happiness in advance... in case I've passed into the next world...

  • A LIfetime of Pleasure

    • F. E . Pratt
    • 2012-03-31

    I wish to write my first fan letter, rather than a review -- but it is a review of sorts. Through her movies, I grew up with Maureen Fitz. O'Hara. Although 14 years younger than she, I was mesmerized by her beauty and vitality as a young boy. In my late teens and twenties she cast her spell upon me as a man. As the years moved along, maturity taught me her skill as an actress and a comedienne. When I read her autobiography a year or so ago, I realized how bumpy her road had been at times, as well as other talents she had needed as a young actress. And I learned of her singing, which I subsequently investigated to hear her beautiful lyrical voice, which I regret not having known of years before. (I now add her to my recalled singing loves -- K. Grayson, Jeannette McDonald, and others.) So my review is to commend this beautiful child, girl, and woman for her liftime role of bringing so much pleasure into my life and into the world. I only wish I could tell Her, as I truly regret not having told many others who likewise brought me pleasure but who have now slipped way.

  • Better actress than she is given credit for

    • Dar
    • 2012-01-19

    Maureen was so gorgeous that many people, unfortunately, overlooked her acting ability. She could do it all - act, sing, dance - in drama, musicals, swashbucklers, comedy. She, along with Olivia de Havilland, are the last of a golden era. They don't make 'em like that anymore!

  • Rhapsody in Red

    • V
    • 2011-10-25

    I am captivated by this actress, WORDS CAN`T DO HER JUSTICE, i like her starring with John Wayne, truly amazing woman with mesmerizing abilities in delivering flawless performance.

  • Maureen could act!

    • Dar
    • 2011-09-04

    I recently saw Maureen in "Only the Lonely" with John Candy and think it was one of her best performances ever. Not only was she gorgeous, the woman could really act when given a chance. Loved her autobiography, "'Tis Herself." She, along with Olivia de Havilland, is the last of the stars of the Golden Age of Hollywood. Too bad they don't make 'em like that anymore!

  • Beauty and the Beast

    • Mike Ligon
    • 2011-08-10

    I believe someone upstairs puts books and movies in my life at just the right time for specific reasons. It may sound weird but it's a feeling I've had for twenty years. It's led to publishing a book and many other interesting experiences. I just "happened" to be in the office on a Saturday evening and took a break to channel surf. I am just one of the millions of men who are passionately in love with Miss O'Hara. "The Hunchback of Notre Dame" was on TCM and I was hypnotized by Miss O'Hara's performance - as usual. I wished it were I rather than Charles Laughton sitting there telling her "I never knew how ugly I am until I saw how beautiful you are". The scene between Maureen and John Wayne sitting at dinner in his tent as a cavalry commander is chemistry so rarely achieved in life much less movies. And The Quiet Man in my opinion is just, well, ........perfect. I often lament to my children that I wished they had grown up on the movies that I did. I repeat Peter Bogdonavich's comment: "There are no 'old' movies. Just great movies you haven't seen yet." Thank you, Miss O'Hara for sharing your inner and outer beaty, your graciousness, and your life with us.

  • Queen of Technicolor

    • Matthew
    • 2011-07-08

    Maureen O'Hara was once dubbed The Queen of Technicolor, due to her photogenic green eyes, flaming red hair(natural), and her peaches and cream complexion.

  • put up your Dukes

    • tom
    • 2009-03-18

    After watching Maureen O'Hara in The Quiet Man, I would gladly fight the "DUKE" for the hand of this beautiful woman.

  • One of the best.

    • Linda
    • 2009-02-20

    Maureen O'Hara one of the best of all time. Love all her movies. The Rare Breed outstanding.....

  • Miss O'Hara's greatest performance.

    • MissG
    • 2008-11-18

    I think Maureen's performance in The Wings of Eagles is one of the greatest overlooked performances in all of movies. And one reason why is that she had to play most of her toughest scenes to no one but the camera (or perhaps to the director sitting, as he customarily did, just under or next to the camera). Ford so very interestingly places the actors and the camera in a way no one else would I'm sure of it. And he does so to tell us something about the characters of Spig Wead and his wife, Min. In most of Spig's scenes, he is not facing the camera (us---the audience), but slightly angled or in profile, on his stomach in the bed or even with his back to the camera. Min, in contrast, is often placed squarely in front of the lens, facing us---compelling us---directly. It's as if Ford is saying look at her, look at Min and pay attention. It also seems to say she is naked and honest about her emotions and Spig is hiding from them or denying them. It's extraordinary when I think of what if must have entailed for Maureen to pull what she had to out of herself and her ability to play such anguished emotions (there are several scenes like that) directly facing a machine and not being able to look at a human face (unless it was Ford's). That is TOUGH WORK in case y'all don't realise it. It's hard enough in a two-shot when you can feed off of your partner's response but when you are isolated--- and the positions also indicate isolation to me---it can be terrifying. And you can see her terror in her eyes, it works so perfectly for the character!! I don't think I ever truly esteemed her gifts as much as I should until I really looked hard at this film. Ford once announced before her and an astonished set during filming of The Long Grey Line that Maureen was the best damned actress in movies and The Wings of Eagles, even more than TLGL, goes far to justify that extravagent praise. I now don't think it so extravagent.

  • Marvelous Actress

    • Linda
    • 2008-09-03

    I have watch pretty much of all Maureen O'Hara movies, TV shows. I found her to be a very amazing actress. With her wise comments, her beautiful red hair, the intelligence that she possess. Really marvel at the way she handles herself, it is just out of this world. Will cherish your movies for the rest of my life. May God Bless you. A fan of yours,

  • Black Cherry Eyes

    • Erin
    • 2008-08-07

    Miss O'Hara is undoubtedly one of the most talented actresses to walk across the silver screen. She can do it all! Comedy, Drama, Western, the sky is the limit for her. To add, her heritige just adds to her beauty. The classic Irish lass. I don't even think there is a word for a person with so much talent!

  • Maureen O'Hara

    • Vivian
    • 2008-07-10

    One of the most amazing actresses ever. I have never seen her be anything but exceptional. Her charm and charisma are contagious. I could watch her for hours. She has many sides to her but you leave feeling like you truly know the real person, not just the actress.

  • dominating preformer

    • gary
    • 2008-04-26

    she is truly a class actor. she gives a strong preformance every time out. the expressions she gave in Mclintock and the quiet man were truly classic. one of, if not the best actresses to ever hit the screen...!!classic!!

  • fantastic actress the best

    • james
    • 2007-12-26

    loved the quiet man best film ever made

  • best actress of time

    • jayne
    • 2007-09-24

    maureen is the best actress ive ever come across. she is talented and has true beauty. when you watch her in her films you cant help but be taken in by her. i am a huge fan of hers and i thank her for making great watchable movies. she is a woman who knows how to act. some actress's would want to take a lesson from her.

  • Irish Rose

    • Tiffany
    • 2007-09-14

    In my Irish catholic family, we all love Maureen O'Hara. My father have both been in love with her for years! She is my idol! Such a strong beautiful lady. Today's starlettes could learn a thing or two from her!

  • beautiful

    • joann
    • 2007-07-28

    I saw her in California in the early 60's and she was beautiful.

  • Wonderful

    • Maria
    • 2007-06-21

    Maureen O'Hara was wonderful. I honestly think she is the most beautiful thing to ever hit the movies. She is underrated- I thought her performances were always great. She always had such grace and charm. I think she should have been more recognized for her efforts, but oh well, because people still love her.

  • My Favorite

    • Louann
    • 2007-04-13

    She is the best actress of the studio era...!!!!!!!! She is beautiful, strong, admirable and compassionate all in one!!!

  • Timeless Beauty - Best Actress of all Time

    • Rick Amick
    • 2007-03-03

    Miss O'Hara is the most gorgeous creature ever to inhabit planet earth, the best performing actress of all time, and the most classy actress ever! You will find your eyes glued to hers no matter which of her films you enjoy viewing.

  • Beautiful Lady!

    • Phyllis
    • 2007-01-04

    Maureen O'Hara is a wonderful actress as well as a beautiful lady! I love her with John Wayne!!! They are my favorites!!!

  • The best actress ever!!!

    • tunawap
    • 2006-11-08

    The best actress i have ever seen...funny and kind. Spunky Irish red head that worked her way up in a masculine world at the time. Never took crap from anyone...

  • One of a kind !!

    • Ashley
    • 2006-07-25

    The great Maureen O'Hara is a true gem, a pearl, a diamond amoung many. The red headed lass is truely the gueen of technicolor and one of my fav's.She's a person who knows what she wants and if you do as well you'll love her and her movies.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.