skip navigation
Donald O'Connor

Donald O'Connor

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Love this guy

    • Susie Velázquez
    • 2017-01-15

    Just watched Singing in the Rain on the big screen today. What a talent Donald O'Conner was. Plus, handsome with those blue blue eyes. I never felt he got the recognition he deserved. I am a big fan.

  • great hoofer

    • Larry
    • 2016-08-18

    Next to Astaire and Kelly, the finest dancer in America, both on screen and television. He is missed, his wit and prowess were rarely matched and never exceeded.

  • Donald O'Connor

    • HillaryLeigh
    • 2013-05-07

    I love this guy! We will never have another one like him - or like most of the entertainers from that time. All I have to do is watch an old movie with Judy Garland, Gene Kelly, Jimmy Stewart, etc. and then the only thing left to do is mourn. I am a teacher and I would love to get my kids interested in these old movies, but they won't watch anything in black and white, and since they have no attention spans anymore, if there is too much dialogue they can't follow it. It is such a shame and I feel sorry for them that they will never know the joy of watching so much talent - and more than that - the class!

  • I <3 Donald !!!

    • Kate Castillo
    • 2012-02-26

    He was such a wonderful actor, singer, dancer, producer, choreographer and he sure did make 'em laugh through out the years, we miss him a lot !! <3

  • TCM MOVIES

    • Nancy
    • 2012-01-28

    I loved all Donald O'Conner movies. The ones I really enjoyed as a kid were the ones with Francies. I wish TCM would show some of those movies. That's what I really remember him from, I think he was great in any thing he acted in. OK TCM lets see some movies of his and especially with Francis!!!

  • Made 'Em Laugh...

    • Lamia
    • 2010-05-05

    I am truly amazed how little recognition Donald O'Connor gets in today's movie world. One of the very few true triple threats out there. There was nothing he couldn't handle (except apparently ballet by his own admission). I was also surprised to see how skilled he was with dramatic roles as well. I saw him in an episode of Tales from the Crypt Keeper and it was a terrifying thing to watch, but very well acted by Mr. O'Connor. Everytime I watch him I smile and I can't be the only one. What a talent. I hope he gets the recognition he deserves in the future.

  • He's wonderful.

    • Cindy
    • 2009-12-29

    Brilliant combination of native talent, extremely hard work, and natural charisma. I would have been curious to see him try some straight drama - his comedy is so natural and nuanced.

  • GETTING THE BARS UP TO TEN

    • Lizzy
    • 2009-06-13

    Harder than it looks!

  • I've posted like 16 times...

    • Lizzy
    • 2009-06-12

    I'm trying to bet every bar up to ten.Bye!

  • cool

    • SGN
    • 2009-06-12

    not a fan of musicals but he's good

  • WOWWY WOW WOWWWWW

    • Lizzy
    • 2009-06-12

    My friend say I'm a great tap dancer.Know what i say?"Not as good as Donald O'Connor."SERIOUSLY,THIS GUUY HAD MANIAC TALENT!!!eight trillion out of ten!!!

  • Wow

    • Sarah
    • 2009-06-11

    Quite honestly,a great performer

  • BEST EVER!!!!

    • Lizzy
    • 2009-06-11

    In every category,this guy HONESTLY RULES!!

  • great dancer

    • jb
    • 2009-04-16

    Just viewed singin in the rain - Donald O'Connor is outstanding dancing with Gene Kelly -seemed like this guy didn't really get as much credit as he deserved.

  • Circus background

    • Sadie
    • 2008-05-26

    O'Connor never actually performed in a circus. The O'Connors had moved on to vaudeville by the time he was born in 1925. They probably adapted their circus act to the stage which included barrel jumping, acrobatics, balancing as well as signing and dancing. Arlene and then Donald, being the youngest and lightest would be hand balancers and top mounters. Both Arlene and Donald's father died in 1927. Although the older sons Jack and Billy continued with the acrobatics, the Family added more song, dance and comedy as Donald grew older. They were very protective of him and avoided having him do the heavy acrobatics his brother Jack was known for. Donald claimed that whenever he needed to learn an acrobatic stunt for the movies, he had his brother Jack teach him.

  • Wonders of Aladdin

    • maureen
    • 2006-12-16

    In response to Elaine - I'm not sure if this is the movie you were referring to --Donald O'Connor starred in The Wonders of Aladdin, made in 1961. He was not a teen or in his early 20's, in fact it was one of his last feature films and not one of his best. I have the poster from the moving hanging in my family room -- Vittorio De Sica played the genie.

  • misssing movie in biography

    • elaine
    • 2006-11-28

    When Donald Oconner was I believe either in his late teens or early twenties he did a movie I believed called " Aladdins Wonderful Lamp." I have been trying to find this movie. This is why I accessed this web site. If You have any information on this could you email me.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.