skip navigation
Paul Muni

Paul Muni

  • Life of Emile Zola, The (1937, September 23 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Scarface (1932, September 26 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Scarface (1932, October 05 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A GREAT ACTOR!

    • MARLENE RANTZ
    • 2011-10-01

    PAUL MUNI WAS A GREAT ACTOR WHO ALWAYS GAVE AN EXCELLENT PERFORMANCE. HIS SPEECH IN "THE LIFE OF EMILE ZOLA" WAS ONE OF THE GREAT MOMENTS IN MOTION PICTURES!

  • Paul Muni: Superb Actor

    • David Atkins
    • 2011-08-04

    One of the screen's greatest stars of the 1930's and WB greatest star had a terrific series of movie hits: Chain Gang, Scarface, The Story of Louis Pasteur, The Life of Emile Zola, Juarez and on loan out to MGM The Good Earth. Astonishing body of work. Bette Davis who worked with Muni in Bordertown and Juarez (Muni got first billing over Davis) noted that in person Paul Muni was very attractive and she bemoaned that he hid himself behind makeup. Hal Wallis noted Muni's quirks and permitted Muni wide birth at the Studio. Muni, not Davis, Bogart, Cagney, Flynn was considered Warners Bros. greatest star. After leaving WB Muni's star faded. Muni returned to the screen in the late 1950's in The Last Angry Man and retired.

  • Paul Muni Biography Overdue

    • Gloria McMillan
    • 2010-12-17

    We need a biography of the man who was once called "the new Lon Chaney" for his extraordinary ability for character acting. Please. Paul Muni is an inspiration to aspire. How about a nice video bio? Gloria

  • TCM needs to have him star of the month

    • Larry Bradford
    • 2010-10-03

    Many dont know much about Paul Muni but I have a VHS copy of him in "Scarface". It was a stunning performance. I was stunned to find some of the younger crowd hadn't heard of Paul or even Jean Harlow. TCM can fix this dilemma.

  • Angel on my Shoulder

    • Mark Hill
    • 2010-04-09

    Paul Muni's intensity and ablities of expresssion are what's missing in today's therater. He was one of the best of his gengeration and probably of the whole 20th Century. Versatility should have been his middle name.

  • Mr Muni

    • Elano
    • 2010-04-01

    Paul Muni is the best actor to ever live bar-none. Amazing actor and not enough known about him in todays world. His influence on method actors such as brando and de niro was phenomenal. He needs more recognition. I can't find any footage at all of Mr Muni of camera. That's not cool!

  • PAUL MUNI IS BEST VERSITILE ACTOR OF OUR TIME

    • Debbie
    • 2009-10-14

    Can't get enough of his movies. They can be watched over and over again and are still evolving. Our generation from the 50's on don't have enough knowledge of his extreme acting ability...and most of all who he is. He hadn't been heard of by my 68 year old husband. I want everyone to find out about him. Can I help? Since we have discovered Paul Muni, we want him to be ever present with at least one of his movies again every month or 6 weeks. I'll be buying ALL of his movies right away. He's like someone you'd like to have met and been friends with since the beginning.

  • Paul Muni Must Not Be Forgotten

    • Debbie O.
    • 2009-09-24

    The first picture I saw of Paul Muni was The Good Earth. With that rule he started my interest in all of his characters. He is mostlyunrewarded for his film roles and I would love to see him made known to all who watch TCM as well as others. His range is unsurpassed and I think one of the BEST actors I've ever watched.

  • Paul Muni unbelievable actor

    • rocky
    • 2008-09-22

    Paul Muni only did twenty four films. And each one, to me shows what versitile he had. A classic actor who keep you speelbound by his performance.

  • One of my all-time favorite actors

    • Sara Rhyne
    • 2008-04-05

    I only became acquainted with Paul Muni's movies a few years ago. The first one I saw was "The Good Earth". I found him to be fascinating. Since then I have seen nearly all of his films. He is unrecognizable from one film to the next. My favorite Muni performance is in "We Are Not Alone". I also love "The Story of Louis Pasteur", "Scarface" and "The Last Angry Man". "The Last Angry Man" was his last movie and he was brilliant in it.

  • One Of A Kind Actor

    • debbie crawford
    • 2007-03-21

    I love every thing Paul Muni ever played in especially The Good Earth, oh my goodness I have watched that movie probably 30 times since I purchased it on DVD. When he stands at Olans bedside and begs her to stay with him, and finally when he walks outside after she dies, grabs the tree she plants, looks up into the sky and says, "Olan, you are the Earth", I get the shivers everytime. I love him.

  • One Of A Kind

    • dan
    • 2007-03-06

    His talents will long be remembered by the movie audience .

  • history in the making

    • dina
    • 2007-02-27

    The story of Louis Pasture starring Paul Muni is not only a great piece of history but a grand performance by Paul Muni. I have always considered him a great actor,not a good actor but a great one. If you have not seen The Louis Pasture story or Emile Zola, you are missing out on a great piece of history. Teachers this would be a great lesson in history for your students. I do hope the Movie the story of Louis Pasture will become a dvd very soon. I cannot wait to see it again. Thanks, dina

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.