skip navigation
Ray Milland

Ray Milland

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Ray Milland needs a DVD box set!

    • Irene C
    • 2012-12-06

    He is a great underrated actor who was very charming and had the best comic timing and acting. First watched him Beau Geste and developed a crush from watching him act opposite Susan Hayward. One of a kind. Universal/TCM should consider a box set release of his films that haven't been put out on DVD such as Wise Girl, Arise My Love, The Well Groomed Bride, Skylark, and Kitty....needs to be seen and enjoyed by new viewers

  • "Premature Burial"

    • Jeinie O
    • 2011-04-12

    We are wondering if TCM has included the movie "Premature Burial" in this month's listings with Ray Milland as the protagonist with a family history of catalepsy. This nervous disorder is often misdiagnosed even with today's medical knowledge.

  • Tammys Test 2

    • Tammy
    • 2011-04-08

    An enormously likable and well-respected star since the early 1950s, James Garner was an Oscar-nominated American actor with a knack for playing lovable rogues in scores of films and television series. Though his rugged good looks made him a capable leading man in features like "The Great Escape" (1963), "The Americanization of Emily" (1964), and "Grand Prix" (1969), Garner found his greatest fame on the small screen; most notably in two popular series: the tongue-in-cheek Western, "Maverick" (ABC, 1957-1962) and the detective drama "The Rockford Files" (NBC, 1974-1980). Both programs made excellent use of Garner's folksy, underplayed delivery, earning him an Emmy (for "Rockford") and scores of nominations. Unlike many of his contemporaries, he remained exceptionally active in movies and television, as well as scores of commercials, well into his eighth decade. Born James Scott Bumgarner in Norman, OK on April 7, 1928, Garner was one of three sons born to Weldon Bumgarner, a carpet layer, and his wife Mildred, who died when Garner was three. The boys - who included brothers Charlie, who died in 1965, and Jack, who followed Garner into acting in the mid-1960s - were sent to live with relatives until 1934, when their father remarried. The stepmother was apparently cut from typical fairytale cloth; in interviews, Garner recalled receiving consistent beatings from the woman, which ended only when he physically attacked her and she split from his father.

  • A gifted actor.

    • Nancy
    • 2010-01-23

    In his early roles, he was so handsome and charming, but he showed his acting mettle in "The Lost Weekend", "Dial M for Murder", and "Alias Nick Beal". This actor could do it all, dashing hero or intriguing villian. The real fun of watching "Dial M for Murder" is Mr. Milland's portrayal of the scheming husband who frames Grace Kelley. He is so diabolically charming, I always find myself hoping he'll get away with it. I fell in love with him at age ten, and 45 years later, I still think I showed impeccable taste.

  • Great, yet underrated actor

    • Marquis
    • 2008-09-21

    yes, he was no gable or grant, but gable was no grant, and grant no gable, get it?? Anyway, he had just as much presence. That was what was important. He played many different roles and played them all to the hilt. He never missed the mark. My favorites are The Major and The Minor, The Golden Earrings, and Kitty. There are so many more. He WAS one of the greats.

  • Solid Actor

    • Riccardo
    • 2008-08-29

    Ray Milland was a solid actor...who I believe even won an Oscar....but he was not one of Hollywood's greatest actors...as the 9.67 rating seems to imply from the six reviewers. OK, we all have our favorites, but Ray wasn't a Clark Gable, or Cary Grant, or Jimmy Stewart....perhaps if one takes his directing into account, he should have a higher overall rating....but he's not a 9.67 as an actor. Sorry....but it ain't so.

  • I think

    • Marilyn
    • 2008-07-28

    he was just phenomenol. I love his voice. Even with age, his voice was still, well u know. His looks were right on, as well. His acting, whether you can belive it or not, even better. His presence was always known. No matter what kind of role.

  • ONE OF THE BEST !!!!!!!!!11

    • KATHY
    • 2008-01-03

    I'VE ALWAYS ENJOYED RAY MILLAND, UNFORTUNETLY I THINK PEOPLE VIEWED HIM AS AN UNDERRATED ACTOR, FORTUNETLY I DIDN'T, I ALWAYS TRY TO WATCH HIM ON TV WHENEVER POSSIBLE. I THOUGHT HE WAS GOOD IN COMEDY AS WELL AS DRAMA AND HE COULD PLAY GOOD GUY AS WELL AS A BAD GUY, HE WAS ALSO EASY ON THE EYES. I THINK I'VE SEEN EVERY MOVIE HE EVER MADE AND OF COURSE I HAVE MY FAVORITES. "THE MAJOR & THE MINOR", "GOLDEN EARRING" & "KITTY"--------WHAT A CAD HE WAS. IT'S ONLY ASHAME THAT ON HIS BIRTHDAY TCM DIDN'T HAVE SOME KIND OF MOVIE TRIBUTE TO HIM, MAYBE NEXT YEAR-------I'LL BE THERE. THANK YOU RAY MILLAND FOR YEARS OF PURE ENTERTAINMENT.

  • THE BEST ACTOR OF ALL YEARS

    • Monique Adger-LaCosta
    • 2007-10-18

    In 1963 I was 10 years old when I went to the Century Theatre in Philadelphia, Pa. on a saturday afternoon to see X-The Man With The X-Ray Eyes. From that moment on in my entire life my favorite actor of all time was Ray Milland. At 10 years old I looked up his credits in the library and I found gold. Here is a monumental actor who has lived 3 lifetimes of acting credits. Every Ray Milland film I treasure. My favorite is The Major and the Minor with Ginger Rogers. I love reading about his life and work. He is the most underrated classic actor in human history. I love reading his autobiography in his words. I love to find more interesting trivia about his personal life and film work. I love collecting as many Ray Milland DVD's as I can find. I am glad that there are other fans out there who feel the same as I. I thought I was alone. My friends and family think that I am a bit silly to run home to watch and tape a Ray Milland movie. They say I am way out of date. The classic never dies. I will be a Ray Milland fanatic forever.

  • Ray Milland Was The Best !!!!!

    • Sheila
    • 2007-08-17

    There's not much more for me to say other than I Love him. Every movie that I have ever seen with this man in it I like. It is not just because how handsome he was, but his acting ability that made me want to see more of him. My personal favorite is 'Kitty" with Paulette Goddard. She was such a beautiful lady and together they lit up the screen. Again, I love you Ray.

  • A True Star

    • David F.
    • 2007-04-28

    Even after winning an Academy Award Ray Milland remains one of the most sadly underrated actors of the first century of film. At the height of his stardom in the 40's he starred in such truly great films as Billy Wilder's "The Lost Weekend" for which he deservedly won his Oscar along with multiple other prestigious honors including the Golden Globe, the New York Film Critics Circle Award, and Best Actor at Cannes,...Fritz Lang's gripping "Ministry Of Fear", and Lewis Allen's brilliant ghost story "The Uninvited" still, quite possibly, the best ghost story on film. In the 50's he starred with Grace Kelly and Robert Cummings for Alfred Hitchcock in "Dial M For Murder". In the late 50's his star fell sharply, but he still managed greatness. Even though it was considered a great comedown in Hollywood, in the early 60's he began an association with the now legendary Roger Corman and American International Pictures starring in the only non-Vincent Price film in Corman's brilliant Poe cycle "The Premature Burial", directing his own "Panic In The Year Zero!", and starring in Corman's brilliant "X - The Man With The X-Ray Eyes" for which he should have received another Academy Award nomination. He returned to the mainstream in 1970 as Ryan O'Neal's uppercrust father in "Love Story" and repeated the role in the sequel "Oliver's Story", but, for these exceptions he finished his career in TV guest spots and things like "The Thing With Two Heads" and "Frogs" for AIP and the nadir, sadly his last film, the execrable "The Sea Serpent" in 1984 which featured an obscenely obvious hand puppet as the titular creature. He died in virtual obscurity, but he should be numbered among the the greats of cinema. His undeniable talent, his palpable charisma, his hypnotic eyes and velvet voice enlivened not only the classics in which he appeared, but everything he touched. He was truly great and, I believe, will surely someday be recognized as such.

  • Excellent Actor

    • Donna
    • 2007-03-17

    One of the most well known actors of the late 1930's, 1940's and 1950's, who needs to be more recognized for his roles. Always the consumate gentleman. Please release more of his films onto DVD!!!

  • Good actor.

    • Lizzy
    • 2007-01-04

    One of my favorites. Lovely voice.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.