skip navigation
Wallace Beery

Wallace Beery

  • Barbary Coast Gent (1944, September 29 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Barnacle Bill (1941, October 19 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Barnacle Bill (1941, November 13 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • China Seas (1935, November 16 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Champ, The (1931, November 22 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Relative

    • Sue-Dee Stephes
    • 2014-06-21

    I'm 87 and remember Wallace Berry because he was my father's first cousin. When I was 13 we drove back to Missouri and attended a Beri (that is the way the name wa spelled) family gathering. I was raised in San Jose, but always wanted to one day go to Hollywood and ring his doorbell. Sounds like he wasn't the type that would have welcomed an unknown relative.!!

  • the good old days.

    • Elias Smith
    • 2014-03-25

    Big beery was never funnier I could watch this over and over. sorry, rob, and drew this would be my movie on the iland. I hope they play this movie again very soon,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, jackass mail is just that!!!!!!!

  • Bad Bascomb.....will u ever show it again?

    • Harry Spady
    • 2013-01-15

    So many if us wish for this great family film to be shown again. Please consider

  • Barnacle Bill 1941

    • Lee Murphy
    • 2012-01-16

    Wallace Beery's BEST movie ever!! Why WON"T tcm show it thats all I want to know. thanks for your time... LM

  • I wish I had paid the two dollars

    • william
    • 2011-08-08

    Does anyone know how to find a short with Edward Arnold in which the refrain was I wish I had paid the two dollars

  • wallace beery

    • Henry
    • 2011-04-21

    BARNACLE BILL "1941" WOULD LOVE TO SEE THE MOIE AGAIN?

  • All of Mr. Berry's movies

    • Jerry Mabin
    • 2010-11-25

    I have been fan of mister Wallace for a long time. I guess it is because how the man acts. Not just acts but puts lifelike ways as to think he has had some personal experiences. He acts soo much it reminds me of my grandfather. A lovable person with a great talent. I am 66 and still love his acting. Thank you for letting me express myself.

  • Wallace Beery movies

    • M. BASTIEN
    • 2010-04-17

    My family, friends and I just love Wallace Beery and wish to see more of his movies, especially the comedies starring Beery and Majorie Main. We would love to see "Rationing", 'Big Jack', 'Bad Bascomb', 'Jackass Mail' and the 'Bugle Sounds' especially. Thank You, M. Bastien

  • wallace beery

    • richard palm
    • 2009-12-27

    wallace beery greatest actor that ever lived.

  • Wallace Beery - Needs to be remembered!

    • Peggy Jo Murphy
    • 2009-09-24

    We love the old Wallace Beery films especially Barnacle Bill! I wish you would show more of his old films he is a great old character actor! They are long gone!!

  • Wallace Beery

    • Marcia
    • 2007-10-06

    My family loves all of Wallace Beery's movies!!

  • Wallace Beery--A Forgotten Movie Star

    • Dan Bruckner
    • 2007-05-19

    I remember seeing my first Wallace Beery movie at 12 years of age (it was "Salute to the Marines"). School had been cancelled for the next day because of snow and we were allowed to stay up for the start of Beery's movie at 11:30 P.M. His over-the-top style of acting really impressed me along with his "common working man" looks! When I received a DVD recorder as a birthday gift in 2005, I began to record as many Wallace Beery films as I could from TCM. Yes, I recently recorded "Salute to the Marines" (surprise, it was in Technicolor--we had a b&w set when I was 12!). I'm happy to see that TCM is actually going to show some of Beery's films in prime time (8 P.M., etc.) this summer. Also, I was thrilled to view Beery's gangster epic, "The Secret Six" in May. It was obvious that Beery's character, "Louie Scorpio" was modelled after the real Al Capone! Beery's westerns such as "Bad Bascomb", "Wyoming", and "The Bad Man" are greatly underrated! Keep up the good work, TCM, in showing Wallace Beery films!

  • Wallace Beery - the Hollywood worth remembering

    • Paul Jacobson
    • 2007-05-15

    When I was a kid growing up in Pasadena, California (I'm 60) we watched Wallace Berry Theater every Sunday night on Channel 11. I popped the popcorn and Mom sliced apples and made home-made hot-chocolate from semi-sweet cooking bars. The movies were fun with good stories and some unusual settings: one, for example, had Beery is a blimp pilot and another was Twenty-mule Team. I remember when the twenty-mule team "rode" in the Rose Parade. Since then I have always enjoyed his films and watch them whenever they are on - I'll get up at 3am to catch one - maybe reliving a part of my childhood. My family has grown to enjoy them. I recommend them to friends for the pure love of old movies. I only wish there was a source to obtain Wallace Beery movies on VHS or DVD.

  • silent film of Wallace Berry

    • scottlord
    • 2006-08-07

    My wife is very fond of the film Treasure Island and I have a copy of The Sea Hawk with Wallace Berry. I didn't know that he was a director of silent film. Thanks. http://www.geocities.com/lord02141/scottlord2.html

  • Truly Great Actor of the 30's & 40's

    • Dave Puckett
    • 2006-07-07

    Wallace Beery is one of my all time favorite classic movie actors. He had a great comic touch and could be a real ham. TCM seems to be the only place to see any of his films and I wish the would show more of them. Titles I would love to see include rare ones like: The Good Old Soak, Old Hutch.

  • Wallace Beery

    • dallas cantrell
    • 2006-02-06

    Wallace Beery movies bring back all the good things of our youth for those of us in the 70-85 age bracket

  • Far Underated Actor

    • William Kercher
    • 2006-02-02

    I'd like to see some of Wallace Beery's old films saved and restored. Ones at the top of the list would be when he co-starred with Marjorie Main as in "Barnacle Bill". Maybe concidered "B" movies in the old days, but the humor and moralities are "A+". Willie

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.