skip navigation
James Mason

James Mason

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Odd Man Out and other Mason films

    • b stephens
    • 2014-01-01

    Odd Man Out was the greatest of Carol Reed's three masterpieces. Many prefer The Third Man, which is arguably more entertaining than OMO, but lacks the substance of the latter. Mason himself considered Johnny McQueen his finest performance. It is therefore puzzling to me that TCM never shows this classic film, yet frequently airs North by NorthWest, in which Mason appears for about 30 seconds - hardly a Mason film! Other classic Mason films include The Seventh Veil, The Man Between, They Were Sisters, The Night Has Eyes, The three Gainsborough films that made him a star in England, The Upturned Glass, etc., etc. Why are these movies never shown on TCM, which would seem to be the appropriate venue for them. "Classic" films didn't begin in the 1950s.

  • :"Couldnt be Better'

    • Michelle Tavakoli
    • 2013-09-22

    Right now I'm watching him "Jesus of Nazareth", as Joseph of Aramathia. Great performance esp, in the scences with Ann Bancroft and Robert Powell in "Simon's house and "Mary Magdeline meets Jesus for 1st time and James Mason before and after she arrives on the scene, the look on his face when Jesus is talking to "Mary" and esp. when he tells her to keep the ointment for his burial, the look on his face. So real you know he was putting himself as if he was there himself. This was easy im sure because of the great acting along side of him too. I just saw him in "Georgie Girl" the other day. I had totally had forgotten that movie and him being in it. The I like of him and Shelley Winters, Peter Sellers - He was sooooo good. I want to see all of his - but my DVD is not working right now and so hoping TCM will show some this season. LLLLLLLLLLLLoooooovvve his voice and accent. I have to add that I think he got more handsome as an older man, than when he was younger. I wish I could of met him in person. I think he had such class and suave on stage, I'm sure it rubbed off in real life- or the other way around.

  • James Mason

    • Isabella
    • 2012-12-03

    James Mason was handsome,chrismatic,charming,&sexy,with a beautiful speaking voice. I first saw him in the film,The7th veil when I was 11yrs old. I fell in love with him then. I am 74 now and still crazy about him. The film the 7th veil is a must see for any Mason fan.

  • mr mason

    • shamel
    • 2012-12-03

    hellos

  • James Mason

    • Melva Porter
    • 2012-03-25

    Mr.Mason in my opinion was one of the best actors of his generation. Along with dark good looks and that v-o-i-c-e which clearly made him sound oh so sexy. He made a lot of bad films due to a costly divorce, but he never gave a bad performance. Very underrated actor. Loved him in Georgy Girl, Lolita, and The Verdict.

  • Best Voice

    • Victoria
    • 2009-08-27

    He had such a distinguished voice, and such a great actor.

  • Best actor, with the best voice

    • Victoria
    • 2009-07-24

    He is the best actor ever. I first started watching his flims at the age of 12 or 13 and since then I have become an even bigger fan. He has a great voice and can play in just about every flim/movie, I think that he is way underrated and sould be on the list of the top 50 stars of all time.

  • ya know he gots to be good

    • kerry
    • 2009-07-16

    iam seventeen and James Mason is my favorite actor if some one from that long ago captures the heart of kids from my generation you know he gots to be good

  • Among the half-dozen best film actors

    • Ian Sutton
    • 2007-09-09

    Despite a checkered acting career in terms of the quality of some of his films, James Mason is regarded by both professionals and moviegoers who remember him as one of the finest actors the art of movie making has seen. He made about eight excellent films, the first being Carol Reed's Odd Man Out (1947) to his final role in 1985's The Shooting Party, released after his death. Mixed among his best films were many turkeys, but Mason's work in all of his roles was always top-notch.

  • A Very Great Actor!

    • Caroline
    • 2007-02-12

    James Mason is a great Actor. He has a great voice, great looks and can act in just about every flim out there. He May not be as big as Humphrey Bogart or Cary Graint but to me is a whole lot better.

  • always a good bet

    • ,ichael york
    • 2006-10-23

    mason was so dependable i never have seen him give a bad performance it might be easy to overlook his work next to garland in a star is born but he more than holds his own his is a complete portrait of the disintegration of a man he is also astounding in lolita bigger than life i also love him in the last of sheila

  • The Best Actor that ever Lived!!

    • HumphreyFan Mason
    • 2006-10-17

    James Mason is the Best actor What ever Aaron or John said is wrong. I think he is the best. He has good looks a great speaking voice. He played in some of the greatest movies out there. What ever any other people say about them there wrong so don't pay attention to them.James Mason rocks!!!

  • The Best Actor ever

    • Caroline
    • 2006-10-16

    I think James Mason is the best actor. He has a rich voice. He has great looks and he can play any character out there. I love him in A Star is Born, North By NorthWest, 20,000 Leauges Under the Sea, and Journey to the Center of the Earth.

  • An outstanding voice, outstanding actor

    • A.M. Gewin
    • 2006-08-03

    James Mason is an incredible actor who had an amazing speaking voice, dark good looks, and an increbile sense of humor.

  • James Mason

    • Angie
    • 2006-04-29

    James Mason is, in my opinion, one of the greatest actors I've had the pleasure to watch. His versatility, from villains (North By Northwest) to heroes (Odd Man Out) to comedic roles (Georgy Girl), I am continually impressed with his work.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.