skip navigation
Herbert Marshall

Herbert Marshall

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Most Loved Excellent Actor

    • Mary Ingram
    • 2011-01-24

    I always loved Herbert Marshall. I note he was married five times; I imagine it was very easy to fall in love with him. I miss fine actors like him. I wonder if we will ever come across anymore like him. Probably not and so sad.

  • The Good fairy

    • grace
    • 2010-12-18

    I love Herbert Marshall movies. I like to see more of his movies in TCM. He was so fun to watching with great voice of his. This movies was so warm and fun to watching it. I love the simple story of this movies. Everyone should see this movie. I love this movie as 'the shop around corner'.

  • Love, love Herbert Marshall!!

    • spunkylubbok
    • 2010-11-11

    I, too am a huge fan of Herbert Marshall. He enhanced any film he was ever in. I love him in Hitchcock's early thriller, Murder!(1930) & one of his later films, "Wicked As They Come"(1957) where he was seductress Arlene Dahl's victim. He was in the original pre-code "The Letter"(1929) as Leslie's lover, Geoffrey Hammond but I've never been able to see that version. His early leading ladies included Garbo & Dietrich & he got both of them in the end, didn't lose out to George Brent OR Cary Grant! In "Trouble in Paradise"(1932) he was the love interest of BOTH Kay Francis and Miriam Hopkins, both of them loved him & wanted hm! And in the second "Ladies Who Meet"(1941) he had both Greer Garson & Joan Crawford in love with him. There are too many films he was wonderful in to just have a Herbert Marshall Day. We need a Herbert Marshall Star of the Month event for Marshall. PLEASE, anyone else who loves Marshall as I do start deluging TCM on their "suggest a movie" link under the "fan community" heading. Request his films over & over. Go to his bio & find all his well known films & others that are rarely shown. Then maybe we can get some time dedicated to the wonderful Herbert Marshall! If TCM can have Mickey Rooney as the Star of the Month in December 2010, they can find a month for Herbert Marshall!

  • Herbert Marshall was a classic

    • Kelly
    • 2010-09-03

    I agree with the viewer who wants a Herbert Marshall day. His voice is like fine cognac, his "veddy, veddy" Englishness so cool. Love him as Somerset Maughm and as Marlene's hubby in Blonde Venus.

  • herbert marshall i love you!

    • sandi
    • 2010-08-14

    can we please have a herbert marshall day?!! the only channel in my house is tcm and herb is my main man. i genuinely have a crush on this guy and any movie he's in grabs my attention immediately and i go out of my way to dvr. how wonderful and ecclectic a day it would be if herbert was the center of attention!

  • Woman Against Woman

    • Gwen Atkins
    • 2010-05-01

    The first time I saw Herbert Marshall in "The Little Foxes", I wondered why I had never seen him before as my television is 'rarely' off TCM. Herbert Marshall has played opposite the most beautiful and talented actresses and held his own with ease. Everytime I receive my monthly schedule in my email, I put the date and movie on my calendar. Bravo TCM for being Number "1" in Canada.

  • I too am a Big Fan of TCM!

    • Sue
    • 2009-06-09

    There are no words to describe the talent of actor Herbert Marshall! From his BEAUTIFUL resonant English accent, to his Handsome face and Wonderful Acting Talent, I just can't get enough of him! "The Little Foxes," "The Letter," "The Enchanted Cottage," "The Secret Garden." Etc. Every movie he did shows his Magnificent Talent! I am a 46 yr old female and really do believe I should have been born at least 30 yrs. before I was!

  • The Movies Little Foxes & The Letter

    • Kaoko
    • 2009-06-08

    Awesome actors. I Love TCM. I watch this channel more than I watch HBO.any other channel. I finally got the chance to see Little Foxes,& The letter my eyes were glued to the suspense in both movies Mr.Marshall so handsome and his eyes the emotion he had while Ms Davis was saying to him while he was sitting in the wheelchair how much she had contempt for him what an explosive thing to say to someone. I just love to watch him act. The Letter Oh My God I've been a Huge Fan from early years when all that was available at the time was Black & White movies. Thanks TMC this station is the BEST!!!! Kaoko VA BCH,VA

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.