skip navigation
George Macready

George Macready

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Hey Gorgeous George From Providence

    • wellhello
    • 2016-12-01

    His grandson Oliver is also an actor,and grandson John an ex-Olympic athlete.Both look like grandfather in his high school yearbook-HANDSOME!Yes,I do mean that,and the scar from being ejected from a car crash thru the windscreen made him no less attractive.And to pursue an acting career when he had what would surely expose him to cruel remarks because of the scar,he deserves much credit!H'wood owes his family,as he departed this world in 1973,IMHO depriving the future generations of seeing a true great who never let down and never let up on acting to see dedication that's needed,not insipid one liners from superhero crap that makes millions,but says what?Crap is King?This man had class,talent,looks,drive to make it in professions as law,art,engineering/architecture,so many other fields,but shared his talent on stage/screen big and small.Thanks for all your hard work and dedication to your craft,Dear George.Look forward to seeing you again on 75th Pearl Harbor Day as Sec'y of State Hull in Tora,Tora,Tora,and seeing you on the other side of life.Love ya!

  • That Voice,That Face,That Man

    • sandpaperyvoice
    • 2016-11-23

    George would seem to have had a sure-fire short career if he didn't have a God-given talent for acting.He was denied a place in Drama Club at Brown,had a near disaster of an appearance when a harness snapped while lifting him above stage after having to deliver lines for his own character as well as his leading lady who blanked on stage-Jessie Bonstall was in the audience and was duly impressed with Macready and he became a member of her troupe-hence the perfect diction.He later was vacationing in Europe when he heard of a part in Macbeth and returned to join that production.He did Commandos Strike At Dawn,a WWII film in 1942,was in the process of divorce thru July 1943,opened an art gallery in LA with Vincent Price from 1943-1945,and then in 1944 when turning full attention to movies,his career went thru the stratosphere,playing wonderful villains.When TV dramas came along,he started tv appearances in 1948 and continued until late 1960s.He never ceased to impress me with his philosophy on acting and life.He seemed to be able to rise above adversity-I'm sure he was skewered when his marriage broke up,esp since there were 3 kids even though it seems his ex-wife remarried w/I short period of the final decree,IMHO-she was cheating (I think she really hurt him-in one of his Randy Scott Westerns he called his late wife "a hag",and he seemed quite bitter).Just hope he did find some happiness post-divorce,he deserved it!

  • George And The Creep Factor

    • ruthroman
    • 2016-11-23

    In a tv drama "Panic",Macready plays a man obsessed with a woman he tries to convince is his wife.Wouldn't have minded getting to know him in real life,as I see someone who had a great sense of humor and could be a great friend once he let his guard down,something New Englanders like me are well known for,and George was a Rhode Islander,so he's cool exterior and appears aloof.Add that he's a Virgo,and you have a super icy person.He was called cantankerous by Ruth Warrick,but maybe he didn't want to get involved with the backstage antics of Ryan O'Neal and his harem,and the overrated Mia Farrow.Now Ed Nelson,and Tim O'Connor,Frank Ferguson,Dan Duryea,he should've mixed with as well as our Ruth (Phoebe Tyler).She was right to go after him to lighten up and succeeded!Hilarious what she did,and what a beautiful picture of the 2 Hannah Cord/Martin Peyton from cast party mock wedding of Martin to Hannah.Just saw their "Son",Steven Cord,in Thunder Of Drums with Richard Boone on TCM yesterday-great actor James Douglas!

  • Daughter Of The Mind,TV Movie by 20th Century Fox

    • wemissgorgeousgeorge
    • 2016-11-23

    Watched this late career movie with George,good cast,Ed Asner,Don Murray,Gene Tierney,Ray Milland about a Professor working for the Pentagon on a weapon system whose daughter died and he has visions of her trying to contact him.Well worth viewing,IMHO!Also had John Carradine as an illusionist.Only a few hammy performances by the Big Mac,on tv series,but my opinion is he was far better in the long run than many other overhyped actors,like Brando and he was as consistent as his buddy Vince Price.I always bet on George!

  • Would Have Been An Ideal Role To Retire On

    • cordellhull
    • 2016-11-20

    His last great appearance with a very powerful final speech from Sec'y of State Hull.Was effective as narrator in Count Yorga,rather campy in Return Of Count Yorga as wacky Prof/occultist (without his upper dentures,as in his appearance in Night Gallery movie) Prof Rightstat also a rather heavy George (loved him nonetheless-he was great actor)who hopefully retired to enjoy what time he had left-would love to think he wasn't suffering too much with emphysema,but H'wood in its heyday seemed to feature chainsmoking in all films-must be why Kirk Douglas is still around,not too much of a smoker.What surprises me is as much of a smoker as Georgie was,his skin was in good shape in his sixties,even as crazy professor,his last role and what beautiful hands he always had!All the better to strangle his women with?So far as would any woman want that smoky voice in her ear,I for one think it a nice pleasant,YES!

  • George We Couldn't Get To Know You,But Why?

    • brownbearfan
    • 2016-11-20

    You hid behind a cold exterior,was it just because we New Englanders are considered so cold,or were there other hidden reasons?Yourcareer took off while your personal life suffered.You claimed you were calm and at heart a kind man,but your every action should show this.You played great villains,but your good guy roles were outstanding,too.I've become a dedicated fan,sometimes that perfect diction makes me want to be able to smack him,say talk in your real Rhodey accent,no wonder he was called pompous.Classically trained stage actor of mid-1920s-1940s,great in his 1st role in Commandos Strike At Dawn,then he was going thru divorce,which I'll bet was a very bitter one,judging by his being seemingly a cold fish.Denied even a single Oscar nomination,pivotal roles in Gilda,Knock On Any Door,Oaths Of Glory,Seven Days In May,many excellent TV performances-lovelovelove Martin Peyton,Scrooge-like patriarch of Peyton Place/New England town.Grandson of Scottish immigrants,art collector,fail to see why he isn't better acclaimed-is it because unlike a Cagney,you wouldn't let anyone see who you really were?A real enigma!

  • Precise Diction

    • providence
    • 2016-11-19

    The Great Race on 1/19/16 in am,The Green Glove on ThisTV at 6am 11/19/16 with George acting opposite "Johnny" from Gilda,Glenn Ford with Macready as art dealer/gangster,and appreciate every second he's on screen,he's cultured with a heart of a bad guy.George,you kept the real you hidden under an aloof exterior,as if you were afraid of being hurt.I sense not only a kind man,but one who needed love and understanding.Hope you found both in life,we miss you!Your dedicated new fans.

  • Martin Peyton

    • ruthwarwick
    • 2016-11-16

    Just read in "...Phoebe Tyler" how Ruth,as Mrs Cord in Peyton Place tried to get our George to crack up on set,how one time she dressed in a teddy,gave him his meds (he wouldn't laugh),then she climbed in bed with him and they were off to giggleland from there.Another time,her final appearance in PP,she sets the house of Peyton on fire,then dressed as a witch,chases George across the lawn,tackles him,then the two wrestle in the grass,and George prevails,both laughing with glee!So tell me he had no keen sense of humor.Very professional,maybe cantankerous as he was aging with severe health problems,COPD aka emphysema!Think he's deserving of a special day,esp his birthday,Aug 29 finally!

  • GEORGE Sanders or Macready

    • sanderson
    • 2016-11-12

    The 2 great Georges were great character actors,but to me,Macready is easier on the eyes and ears.Have heard and seen perfectly horrendous statements about his looks and his acting,calling him pompous (prob only when the role called for it),smirking-seemed to have a keen sense of humor and remarkably humble nature-see nothing uppity about him!Had so many great roles in 1940s and 50s,great tv appearances from 1948 in dramas.Think he deserves much praise for lasting until 1970 as an actor,esp with emphysema,and he was seemingly starting to sound like he had COPDby late 1950s,but kept on acting when others might've thrown in the towel.Just think he was so underappreciated,and would love to see that remedied while his kids are still around!Thanks for all your great acting,by George!Miss you,and hope to meet you in the great beyond when it's my turn!

  • Handsome Hunk,Facial Scar Intriguing

    • chattycathy
    • 2016-11-09

    Find this man very attractive,his voice kinda sexy,and the scar not so intimidating since getting to know much of his body of work.Very prolific TV career,seemed to have remarkable memory,managing to work thru 1971,then I'm sure forced to retire due to COPD.He really had many wonderful contributions to film,and seemed quite appreciative for any role,probably becoming a major villain in the absence of Basil Rathbone from 1947-1954.Think a biography needs to be published about him,as I find what's available about him in print to be fascinating-maybe his ex-wife found him boring and fooled around on him and decided the grass was greener,but I would've gone for him in a flash,as he was the whole picture,far more interesting than his art gallery partner,Vince Price.This guy deserves some sugar!

  • Well,Hello Good-looking

    • howya
    • 2016-11-07

    George Macready,the consummate villain.Cultured,fine diction,brilliant man,great judge of the finer things in life.What impresses me most about him is that he seemed actually humble about his acting talent.A deep scar on his right cheek extending under his jawline nixed a career as leading man,but he contributed so much to every film as either a villain or supporting character,and he was grateful for whatever praise he received.I recommend viewing tributes to him on FIND A GRAVE,and a grandchild of his contributed and appreciated all the love on the site for her grandfather.Time to give this man a richly deserved day-long birthday tribute during Summer Under The Stars on August 29th!He is class personified.

  • One Fantastic Actor

    • thebaz
    • 2016-11-04

    Cultured,well-educated New Englander,who debuted in 1942s Commandos Strike At Dawn as a Norwegian schoolteacher.Very impressive here,and went on to do many character roles,quite famously as Ballin Mundson and Gen Mireau,in Gilda and Paths of Glory,with many other strong performances.Some tv roles he could overdo it,in some Westerns,but he was bang on in movies,so he must have better directors in films.He was attractive,IMHO,don't care what anyone else thinks,far better looking than Paul Henreid,who I think he resembled.He acted Bogie & Derek off the screen in Knock On Any Door,as well as many other actors in other films!Let's give this man his due,finally.

  • My Favorite Actor

    • migrainefever
    • 2016-10-28

    Glad to see more of this actors films playing here.He really was a classic,gratefully accepted character roles and no complaints.Looks like a fun person once he let his guard down.Such sad eyes.

  • George Needs His Propers

    • bio
    • 2016-10-18

    This man needs to be properly saluted for his body of work.Feel he never was given adequate acknowledgement for any films.He often appeared smirking-he was suppressing laughter,IMHO!He seemed to have a great sense of humor,and could be heard laughing at times.He had a twinkle in those beautiful blue eyes.

  • Great Actor,Fine-looking Man

    • macuisle
    • 2016-10-14

    His noticeable scar from a car accident as a college student would seem to have doomed a Hollywood career,but he was a man with great discipline and a plan for success.He was a great villain,and he enlivened everything he was in,be it tv or films,would've loved to see him in a play,but it wasn't to be as I was too young.Too bad he retired in the early 1970s due to failing health.RIP,George and thanks for all your great acting and your courage.

  • A Chara

    • maureenmccreary
    • 2016-10-13

    Have to do a salute to this man,a wonderful person and actor.He was genuine in everything he did.And a true gentleman.He was ever gracious for the respect shown him during filming,always willing to help everyone.We thank you kindly for your dignity and grace!

  • His Son Should Write His Bio

    • biographybookform
    • 2016-10-13

    I can honestly say he is my favorite actor.Some may say otherwise,but he's totally honest in whatever he does.Tall,distinguished looking very cultured with a sandpapery voice,tho' he had a pleasant enough singing voice.He exploded on the screen as Ralph Hughes in My Name Is Julia Ross,a Sherlock Holmes type thriller based on The Woman In Red about 5th columnists,here about a cover up of Ralph's wife's murder for slapping him (a well deserved one,too).He plays with knives and his mother tries to keep him in check,with little success.He's great as a cabinet Sec'y in Seven Days In May'one of his last roles,as Sec'y Of State Cordell Hull is beautiful,a nice way to be remembered considering his failing health!Many Tv performances now available on dvd!He needs a day long salute for his birthday,TCM!

  • Tried And True Actor

    • nophonybaloney
    • 2016-10-12

    I wish to thank Mr Macready for his many dynamic acting roles over a 30 year film career,29 to be exact,the first Commandos Strike At Dawn,in which he was awesome.His final performance,sadly was in The Return Of Count Yorga,he was funny,but it was sad knowing he probably never knew how someone who was a preteen when he died has come to really respect his body of work.Someone needs to write a biography of him before I die!He's someone I just want to know more about,was he so seemingly aloof or just insecure or a typical New Englander?So far as those claiming he seemed so know-it-all,he obviously (to me,IMHO) had a tremendous sense of humor.He was cultured (listen to his describing St Elsior? in The Green Glove,talking about the Moors attempted conquest of France-they conquered my ancestors in Sicily,so I'm fascinated by George's speech to Gaby),and don't find him pompous,only those who criticize this wonderful actor.He needs a salute under the stars on his B'day!

  • TheOld Team Needs Ya George

    • brownbears
    • 2016-10-10

    Watched Paths Of Glory,and am amazed at his performance.He really showed chops,and looked extremely F-I-N-E! doing it-highlighted his facial scar from 1919 car accident.No wonder he seemed subject to bad headaches,judging from the neck massages he got in some tv/film roles.He could be menacing,but also he could do comedy,played a great art expert which he really was (interesting when he showed Gaby,the girlfriend in The Green Glove around the historic landmark,really enjoyed the history lesson!).Seemed a brilliant man,and maybe many felt threatened by that and diss him regularly.Too bad there aren't many more like our George!Such a gent!

  • Amazing Actor,Bright Light That Shone In H'wood

    • lovetaluvyababe
    • 2016-10-04

    Can't believe he was never nominated for Oscars or Emmys.Brilliant man and quite boffo actor.He needs to have a day dedicated to his films,maybe some of his Tv Playhouse performances.His escaped mental patient opposite Ida Lupino in House For Sale is chilling.A completely different character is his Count in A String Of Beads with him playing a joke,opposite Angela Lansbury,and they actually get her to crash society,marrying the Count in the end!Love him in all types of roles.He looked to be a man with purpose,who knew his own mind,improved the world for being in it,and about time he got his propers!Here's to you,blue eyed Scotsman!

  • You were an amazing actor,Cous

    • cousin
    • 2016-09-30

    Watched him at various stages of his career,from aging hippie in Return of Count Yorga,from his 1st feature role in Commandos Strike At Dawn.He was well known on NYC stage,coming to CA in 1942,and seemed to never look back,deserving well-earned praise for his acting.RIP,George,we miss you.Your turn as Martin Peyton was classic,our reason for watching that serial.You kept everyone on their toes,and there was never a soap villain to equal you,now or then.

  • Watched I Beheld His Glory

    • corneliussisterrose
    • 2016-09-27

    Wonderful performance he gave in this tv film.Roman centurion who becomes a true believer.

  • TV's Playhouse 90,Story of Dr Wassell

    • balenmename
    • 2016-09-23

    For those who harp on his overacting-see these dvds and become a believer how talented George was.Ordered tv movie version of In The Presence Of Mine Enemies to see Sir Charles Dance in Macready's role.The Playhouse version was from the final show of May 1960,and aslso starred Robert Redford in the part that Chad Lowe played opposite Sir Charles.Redford was definitely equal to Macready in this teleplay.In Dr Wassell,he had an uncredited role,but you could tell it was him,skinny,blond,fine-looking.Glad Te Story of Dr Wassell was well received,Cooper did very well,and I'm no fan of his.The many roles he was overly praised for,if Macready got half as much attention I'd be surprised.But at least his looks didn't fade so much as some of the overhyped pretty boys.George played it smart,spoke of gratitude for the character parts and villains and what came to him.

  • Brilliant Prosecutor Knock On Any Door

    • knockwurst
    • 2016-09-21

    After seeing him in Bogie's 1st producing effort,all I can ask was anyone else in that movie?He was awesome,fiery hot in his court representation of the state.Could use him in CT Court System.A must see actor!Hope you're hearing me up there,Mac!

  • Gotta Admit He's A Great Actor,Baddie Or Not

    • macreadied
    • 2016-09-15

    Riveting performer with bluest eyes I've seen in a while.Which makes it hard to see him always or nearly always a bad guy.Never boring,he's mesmerizing as he evolves as Martin Peyton in PEYTON PLACE.Once or twice in guest spots he's a little over-the-top,but we love ya George!

  • Deserved Oscar Nominations

    • knockonanydoor
    • 2016-09-13

    The more of this gentleman's TV/film appearances I see,the more I like him.Many scripts seemed rather drab,but he always seems to make them better.As he got older,the pickings got fewer,he was Martin Peyton for 3 years,and admit even that evil character I loved.Peter Ford made George himself sound ambiguous in Gilda,but it was Ballin who was.So,the character was gay,maybe Bi,he was great in the movie,and attractive!Paths Of Glory/Seven Days In May/Detective Story,he and Kirk were outstanding.Bring on more old Macready programming!Thanks TCM

  • Love My Cousin (we're his family from scotland)

    • johnandmaryloumcreadie
    • 2016-09-12

    George's grandparents emigrated from Scotland,in case anyone's wondering.Wife & I visiting from No.Ireland,orig from Scotland.He was a fine-looking man,and he showed the dedication to his craft,in the day when acting was frowned upon still.We're proud of the lad,he did some terrible creatur,scare me half to death inna some.And what's this Gilda being Macreadied?Unnerstand she had to be zippered inanout because of the bairn she'd just had.Georgie got off some good zingers in that movie.Proud to say he's a relation.

  • Attractive Villain

    • giorgioamati
    • 2016-09-08

    Was hoping his abortionist was actually going to roll out the back of the wagon in Detective Story,he's such an evil man.Have read so any reviews trashing his looks (he's very handsome IMHO!),his acting (once in a while he's a little close to being over-the-top.8/29/1899-7/2/1973,born Rhode Island,stage work until 1942,then mainly films.Scar on right cheel curving up under the right ear gave him a distinguished look (wonder if he had PTSD from going thru the windshield after the car hit an icy patch,and hit a telephone pole).Seemed very focused in his acting roles,I don't like just anyone,but something about his general demeanor seems open and honest.Married 1931-1943 to Elizabeth Dana Patterson,who remarried hubby 2 in July 1943.By late 1950s started to sound like COPD was creeping up,quit smoking after a medical leave from Peyton Place in 1967,and put on some weight.When he received a letter from an exec on Peyton,he quipped did anyone need him to play "Fatty Arbuckle-type role".I can respect someone like that who not only quit a serious addiction,but was so self-deprecating.Someone needs to write his BIO,esp while his kids are still around!

  • I LIKE THIS GUY!

    • rhodeyred
    • 2016-09-07

    Villain of the Clifton Webb/Waldo Lydecker class,only more attractive!And no gay vibe,like Webb/Price/Anderson from LAURA.Ballin's cane was a delightful prop,something an ex-Nazi in Gilda would employ.Watched him in The Golden Condor last night-evil villain who actually didn't get to die.Will continue to watch George in the coming few months,can't wait to catch The Great Race,and am thrilled TCM is playing some of his exceptional performances in next few months.Thanks TCM for being on air and giving the fans what they want!

  • Named After Him

    • georgie baver
    • 2016-09-06

    My parents were big fans of his,my father knowing never to talk whenever he was on screen.We all tried to talk so perfectly like him,but couldn't-we didn't have that raspy voice.He was quite an attractive person (no,I'm not gay) and really brought a light to the screen,not just from his cigarettes and I pick up on a kind vibe,like he liked to help other people.His family was blessed to have him.

  • 29 Year Career In Hollywood,Good Solid Actor

    • countyorga
    • 2016-09-05

    Many Tv appearances in 1950s & 1960s,did mainly villains on screen and many tv performances.Would love to see him get his day where Hollywood finally appreciates his body of work,while his kids are still with us.His goodness as a human being seems to come thru,even playing the most appalling villain,just as Basil Rathbone played a great evil character,and to a lesser degree,George Sanders,who IMHO couldn't hold a candle to Macready in looks or hiss worthy villainous roles.He just seemed to make many of his co-stars better than they would be.No wonder Vincent Price praised him when he wrote home to his folks after appearing on Broadway in his first NY stage role.

  • Most Underrated Actor From Days Gone By

    • georges
    • 2016-09-04

    His son actually had some acting & producing credits.Can't help but think that he was so neglected at Awards time for some of his finest performances,at least hope the fans let him know the love.Gilda was more than just Rita & Glenn,there wouldn't have been a chance of them meeting up again if not for ballin,nor would Johnny have survived his conning the sailors out of their money.Duffy Of San Quentin was his fine 15 minutes on screen that I enjoyed the most,not to mention De Kelley arresting his character for bribery.Paths Of Glory,his Gen Mireau & Kirk's Col Dax are best scenes of a fine movie.And several years earlier George was an abortionist that Kirk's detective goes after and gets,in a way,as he sends him to the hospital.I enjoyed the 2 Yankees together in Dead Ringer(Macready from Rhode Island,Davis from MA).Looked like fun.So many other great performances and good tv work.And HE WAS HANDSOME!Too many hacks have panned him as an actor,and it's time he was properly recognized!

  • Suave Sophisticated Dude

    • robtli
    • 2016-09-03

    Saw him so many years ago when he terrorized everyone of us as Martin Peyton,and thought who did he think he was.Well,he was George Macready being one of his iconic devils with little regard to who was hurt.And when he left the series,I can't believe he & Ruth Warrick didn't leave about the same time,esp since his breathing was sodifficult,I was so sad to see him go.Now,more of his movies are becoming accessible,THISTV had Paths Of Glory on twice in past few weeks,and he was EXCELLENT as a general-what was reason for his not getting an Oscar for that role,and who actually won that year?And was he nominated at least for Knock On Any Door-Dean Jagger won for Twelve O'clock High,great movie,but that role wasn't that great!Some day,as Walter Brennan winning twice over Basil Rathbone,the Academy will realize their choices stink-Basil deserved a nomination & AWARD for The Dawn Patrol in 1938-Brennan was a stinking racist!George,there are many of us who loved you throughout your career,and you live on in our memories,may you RIP!See you when I get there,too!

  • Excellent Character Actor

    • brownthompson
    • 2016-09-03

    Glad to see he has a few good movies playing here this next few months.Have to admit he is a pleasure to watch.He could be a little over the top,but who could forget some of his greatest roles as Ballin in Gilda,Gen Mireau in Paths Of Glory,Redijerk in Tarzan's Peril (he made watching Tarzan bearable-not a Tarzan fan!).Love his ultra scummy convicted innocent man who exacts revenge in The Missing Juror (or his covered almost from head-to-toe in steamroom scene with Jim Bannon practically letting it all hang out,or his looking ready to purr while Mazurki rubs his neck).Basil Rathbone used to be my fav villain,but just love watching Georgie in action.Musta been fun to work opposite him!

  • The Perfect Villain

    • rhodeislandmyhometoo
    • 2016-09-01

    Suave,sophisticated,well-educated,attractive with a dynamite scar used to perfection.The fact that he loved to play bad characters is probably why he had such a long career.Some of his TV performances are just so perfect!And Martin Peyton was the granddaddy of all his evil villains!Definitely worth watching anything he was in.We miss you,George,you were grace and dignity all the way,even as a reprobate in Gunsmoke's The Lynching Man!

  • Class And Grace

    • betterballin
    • 2016-08-31

    He's the paternal grandfather of Olympic gymnast John Macready.He was a good character actor,though many pick at his roles.To me,he is riveting!The blue eyes,the hair,the aristo bearing.So,he looks like he's smirking.Maybe he was easily amused and had to suppress a smile at ridiculous dialogue.I'd say he was fun on a film set.I also thought he was a fine looking man right up to the end,suffering with COPD from at least 1967,necessitating a medical leave from Peyton Place,tempoarily replaced by another great,Wilfred Hyde-White,which I haven't watched any of those episodes as yet,but soon will!He also has a grandson,Oliver who is an actor,and also very attractive!

  • Did Alright In The Great Race

    • generalkuhster
    • 2016-08-29

    Happy Birthday,and miss all your great bad guys.This was a fun movie,The Great Race,and could see shades of Gen Mireau from Paths Of Glory.I've been watching this man in Peyton Place,and am amazed at his dedication to the show.Even as he struggles to get his breath in and the words out,he's impressive.Relieved to see him walking under his own power in Fame Is The Name Of The Game a few years after Peyton Place.If ever I would've volunteered to be a private nurse to anyone in H'wood,it would've been for Mr Macready-I like the underlying person,behind all the creeps and killers.Think he was very honest,someone who'd help a co-star anytime,and was just the genuine article!Miss you!

  • Happy Birthday To A Great Underappreciated Actor

    • happytiger
    • 2016-08-29

    Emphysema and heart failure claimed him in 1973 just shy of his 74th birthday.You created so many memorable characters,usually villains.When you played what you actually were for a time,an art gallery owner,you didn't resort to an effeminate portrayal.You had class and grace and as you aged,great dignity.I respect your work,and have been enjoying much of your movies on dvd which fortunately a lot of them are readily available.Not saluting you with champers,but raising a glass of iced tea to George Macready!

  • 8/29 George's Birthday

    • itsyourbirthday
    • 2016-08-28

    It's your birthday,so get up and dance.Thanks for being a great villain,sometimes a great regular guy.Makes me LOL seeing him in Gunsmoke's The Lynching Man trying to wrap himself around cowboy vernacular-he looks like he tried not to laugh.He was robbed at Academy Award time for Paths Of Glory and Knock On Any Door (was John Derek actually in the same movie with this man?)Derek being referred to as Pretty Boy,and Macready rubbing his scar,that incredibly interesting addition to a very attractive face,IMHO!One needs just look at his college yearbook photos to see what I mean-he's gorgeous!And Dead Ringer with Bette Davis,really liked him in that.

  • Birthday 8/29

    • happy
    • 2016-08-28

    A very Happy Birthday to someone I consider very underappreciated.Even the powers that be on Peyton Place realized what a gem they had in Mr Macready as conniver Martin Peyton.He was apparently quite touched when one of the execs wrote him while he was recovering from a health scare,temporarily replaced by Wilfred Hyde-White,and he wrote back he was feeling sorry for himself.I would too if I had emphysema and my every breath was an ordeal while spewing lines on a 2-3 times per week night time soap which produced so much talent.He & Phoebe Tyler herself,Ruth Warrick were quite the team.I have respect for someone who went on for 3 years as the old tyrant Peyton and earned the respect of everyone involved for his acting,esp an exec who said he never cared for Macready's movies.I love every single one I've had the pleasure to find!Thanks for all your characters and what you've given in entertainment with or without tongue-in-check,or making me LOL with your antics in Tarzan's Peril.Tarzan may've had the loincloth,but Mr Macready MADE that picture for me.All that was missing was him eating a banana as well as scarfing down Jane's dinner!

  • Marvelous Actor

    • greatevilvillainsheplayed
    • 2016-08-28

    Being from Southern New England,I was surprised to discover thia amazing actor was a neighbor from Rhode Island.Had to start watching his work.Admit I'm now a dyed-in-the-wool fan!Some may be less than impressed by his acting talent,but Richard Boleslawski recognized his,and I'm glad,he would've been wasted in an office.Handsome with one heckuva sexy scar from an auto accident in his late teens.He was the epitome of grace and dignity,IMHO!So,I'm going to enjoy my George Mac dvds and photos,and hope he's in Heaven and knows that I'm a loyal fan!

  • Great Actor,Worth Watching

    • birthdaycomingMonday
    • 2016-08-26

    Have to admit he's become an absolute favorite of mine.Many of his villains easily rival Basil Rathbone in pure evil.Wouldn't have minded running my hands through Ballin Mundson's hair when he sat up waiting for Gilda to come home from "swimming".Or rubbing his neck in The Missing Juror.Tall,blue-eyed,usually with a twinkle in his eye with precise diction,I suspect some of the gravelly quality of his voice from the scarlet fever he contracted from the veterinarian who stitched his face after that 1919 car accident (unsanitary hands led to scarlet fever for George),though some say it was a heavy smoking habit which later caused emphysema.He really deserved an Oscar for Gen Mireau in Paths Of Glory,as did Kirk Douglas,their scenes together are amazing!

  • George Mac

    • greatactoryalovetohate
    • 2016-08-15

    He rarely plays a good character,but is a great villain.Said he preferred bad guys,always seems to have a twinkle in his eye.The Missing Juror he was a vengeful man after the jurors who wrongfully convicted him.He was a hoot in Monster V Ape serial,absolute husband from hell in Gilda (would gladly trade places with Gilda-she deserved whiny Johnny),gangster Joe Mannion in Down To Earth-had little to do but looked handsome doing it,good turns in Westerns both bad and good guy roles.My new favorite villain!

  • Best Part In Gilda Is Ballin Mundson

    • stagescreenactor
    • 2016-08-08

    Love this actor so much,,have gone out and bought as many dvds of his movies that I can find.Never really watched Gilda for the Johnny-Gilda story.But once I first saw Ballin,I was mesmerized!Who was this character?Not that much is explained about him,except he has some dealings with some ex-Nazis,and an arrangement with a man who sells tungsten that Ballin fronts.I suppose his salt-and-pepper hair helps give Ballin a Nazi-like appearance,but so far as the love triangle,Ballin wins in my book (or at least George Macready does in looks!).He was scary in My Name Is Julia Ross and I Love A Mystery,The Missing Juror,Westerns-he was a good guy in Doolins Of Oklahoma,Duffy Of San Quentin he was a crooked prosecutor,can't wait to get dvd of Knock On Any Door-when John Derek's Nick keeps being called "Pretty Boy",Macready touches his scarred cheek.Anyone with any doubts of his being smart as well as handsome,see his Brown Univ Yearbook photos.And sounds like he was a very nice man,too!

  • Very Memorable Actor

    • tvstageandmovies
    • 2016-08-06

    The only film I ever saw that he was underused was Down To Earth.He was a gangster,and died in a violent way.The publicity photo of him is an absolute classic,tall,distinguished,handsome.He was great in TV Western roles,movie Western roles,mysteries.Just love watching him.Have discovered many classics he acted in,some I'm sure TCM have played in the past.Doolins Of Oklahoma he's a lawman,Coroner Creek a nasty rancher who's cruel to his wife and is a killer.He almost gets what is promised to him in the great Duffy Of San Quentin.Gilda,you can have Johnny (love the way he says the name),Ballin is smoking hot!The Alligator People he was phenomenal!

  • The Suave Villain,Also Sympathetic Character Actor

    • quiteagoodactor
    • 2016-07-31

    Think that too many are down on Mr Macready.Seen some of his acting hooted at.He really brings something to every role.He'll probably be best known for GILDA,but Paths Of Glory was Oscar worthy!The Seventh Cross,he really was sympathetic,just a scared countryman afraid of the SS-who wouldn't have been?Saw a few Westerns he did with Randy Scott-he was excellent!

  • Never Seen George Give A Bad Performance

    • doolinsofoklahoma
    • 2016-07-31

    Watched The Doolins Of Oklahoma,He was both narrator and a U.S. Marshall.Wonderful in what could've been sshlocky Alligator People,and he was very empathetic to his patient,and have to love that swamp buggy he pulls up to the Hawthorne place in.He always looked good tooling down the road in a convertible.He's rather fine looking!And pure evil in My Name Is Julia Ross,based on Anthony Gilbert's The Woman In Red.Makes ya want to hide your overnight bag,as well as the knives!He turned out to be a decent character in The Seventh Cross.

  • Enjoyed His Movies & TV Appearances

    • greatactor
    • 2016-07-29

    Anyone who thinks Macready as overacting doesn't take time to savor his roles.Just watch ALLIGATOR PEOPLE to see a sensitive performance.To see pure evil,My Name Is Julia Ross is tops.Could easily see the future Ballin Mundson as Jerry in Now Voyager (similar voices,some similar features),but Paul Henreid deserved acclaim in that film (he and George were in The Conspirators,showing Aug 10,so I'll see for myself).His appearance in Four Star Theater "House For Sale" he was menacing Ida Lupino.The Green Glove again opposite Glenn Ford he was Nazi collaborator.

  • Great Actor

    • thegeorgebeforeclooney
    • 2016-07-25

    He has something about him that glues my eyes to him.Gilda,Detective Story,The Seventh Cross,Tora Tora Tora,the last at the end of his prolific career.Thanks for showing his films,TCM!

  • Incredible Voice!

    • gorgeousgeorge
    • 2016-07-25

    My eyes strictly on George in any scene-such menace and poise!Gilda is really Ballin & Johnny,not Gilda,Gilda Gilda!She hardly registers to me.Add Calleia,Geray,Mohr,such a good bundle of men in the clinch.What that vet did to his face,really gave George something special.Those eyes,that hair (full head of hair thru his career) even when it was gray.Just an all-around solid actor.

  • Distinguished Actor

    • handsome
    • 2016-07-25

    Never knew he was a fellow New Englander.While in college,was in a car accident,giving him the distinguishing scar.I think it only adds to his allure.That voice belongs on recordings of great classic literature.One of his last films,Tora Tora Tora,he was quite good as Sec'y Of State under FDR.As Ballin,in Gilda,he was incredibly sexy.Saw him in TV shows,brilliant as always.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.