skip navigation
Harold Lloyd

Harold Lloyd

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Hooray for Harold!

    • Randy England
    • 2013-04-15

    I have always been a devotee of silent film comedy but was never able to see much of Harold's work due to the way he protected it and refused to let it be shown on television very often. Now that his films are getting to be more accessible he has become my favorite silent screen comedian! I think he is funnier by far than Chaplin or Keaton, and his movies are aging much more gracefully than the movies of either of those other two. My wife (who is not a silent film fan) watched a Chaplin film with me the other night but found his tramp costume and make-up and his exaggerated mannerisms weird, tedious and not all that funny. On the other hand, she LOVES "The Freshman" and "Safety Last". She has even taken our Harold Lloyd DVD and shown parts of these two films to her seventh-grade classes (she is a teacher). Her seventh-graders love Harold, too! Harold still seems so much like one of us, whereas Keaton's onscreen persona seems more eccentric and bizarre as the years go by and Chaplins films from the 1920s on are often so maudlin and "artistic" that Harold has been a breath of fresh air and beats those other two hands down in my opinion!

  • Unique Personality

    • Aida Sonia
    • 2012-11-29

    There is no one that can do so many things and create images like him. Excelent and explendid

  • absolutely the funniest

    • jose
    • 2011-04-20

    This is the first time that I seen his movies. I have to say he is the most funniest comedian I have ever seen. Thanks for the laughs.

  • Harold Lloyd your my favorite actor

    • Dylon
    • 2010-10-12

    Harold Lloyd is my most favorite actor im 15 and i watch silent movies. i have most of his films at home i collect alot of them

  • H.L.

    • LuckyPenny
    • 2010-05-15

    SIMPLY THE BEST, and one of the best human's that ever lived, next to Michael Jackson.

  • Okay,I guess I'll share him with you

    • Mary
    • 2009-05-24

    It's wonderful that first Newline,with help and consent from H.L.'s grandaughter,has made us "aware" of Harold Lloyd,and now tcm is putting in their helping hands.Thanks to all. I totally love Harold Lloyd...so I guess I'll try to be more like those people I mentioned and share him with everybody. If you don't know who he is,find out!You won't regret it.

  • Harold Rocks!!

    • thom taylor
    • 2009-04-20

    Happy Birthday, Mr. Lloyd.

  • He is the greatest, so cute!

    • Diana
    • 2008-12-27

    He is so cute. I can't imagine a world without him. HE is just wonderful comedian and actor and person.

  • Hooray for Harold Lloyd!!

    • Cara
    • 2008-09-21

    He is the greatest. I love him and every movie he ever did! His characters are always endearing and his films hilarious. I would have never seen Harold if it hadn't been for TCM, so thanks and PLEASE show more!! :)

  • I'm so in love with Harold Lloyd

    • Mary
    • 2008-08-22

    I just discovered Harold Lloyd a few years ago.I bought one of those 50 mixed titles boxed sets and after having worked my way through some mostly so-so movies,one night I sat down to a film called "The Milky Way" and I was hooked! To my surprise,Harold Lloyd had some even funnier stuff just waiting for me to buy.I only wish that there was more available because,yes,he's just that damned good!

  • Simply Amazing

    • Kadie
    • 2008-03-16

    I am infatuated with Harold LLoyd. His performances are sweet and timeless. Heartwarming and hysterical. He is an amazing entertainer. He is simply amazing.

  • First time for me

    • Jacqueline McCoy
    • 2007-09-28

    I have to say that silent movies we pretty much avoided, until the other night I seen "The Freshmen" it was on late so I couldn't finish it and it has stuck with me. I keep thinking about it and really enjoyed it. I keep telling my husband about diffrent parts of it and now I got his interest. I hope to see it in its entirety.

  • discover him

    • michael york
    • 2006-10-13

    his shorts are so out loud funny better than chaplins or keatons they were all so physically awesome but lloyd to me seems to be the best actor of the three and movie crazy and the milky way are funnier than the others talkies and do not miss amoing those present

  • I Heart Harold Lloyd

    • Mary
    • 2006-03-21

    My favorite silent comedian--never ceases to be funny!

  • So Funny

    • SwingDancingRed
    • 2006-02-14

    Great comedian--unforgettable moments.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.