skip navigation
Alan Ladd

Alan Ladd

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Deserves More Respect

    • Denise
    • 2013-01-19

    Alan Ladd deserves more respect than he gets! It is so difficult to find his films, you are able to find Wayne movies every where..boxed sets in mass. The movies are good but Alan Ladd by far was far superior. The movies I have been able to find I am able to watch over and over. The world of film was cheated by his early death and we are cheated out of seeing many of his movies. So many people still love you Laddie.

  • Great Actor

    • Maggie Ganoni
    • 2012-10-25

    I truly love watching every movie I can,his great look's sure help to keep your eye's close to the T.V.He was he super.I wish we had him today!!

  • Gary Cooper vs. Alan Ladd

    • Wanda Watkins
    • 2012-07-14

    I am so very tired of everyone talking about High Noon being the best western. The truth is (for me) the continuing of the theme song being sung all through the movie drives me crazy and I just can't watch it. Also its just okay. On the other hand Shane stands alone as the best. If it was shown every day I would watch it every day. All of the performances are flawless...all of them. I would love to see more Alan Ladd movies on TCM such as Captain Carey, U.S.A. where the song Mona Lisa came from. If you want to show one of the best movies Gary Cooper ever made show Ten North Fredrick. I don't understand why that movie is ignored.

  • alan ladd's early movies

    • bob legory
    • 2011-10-05

    what happened to all the world war movies alan ladd was featured in? I would like to see more of these movies on this channel. Seems they show the same ones over and over, which are very good. He made a lot of movies that they don't show. He probably could outrun all other movie stars, he was fast on his feet. haha Thnks TCM, for showing all the good movies that you do show, keep up the good work.

  • good actor

    • h952
    • 2010-05-09

    i watch shane almost every day and never tire of it. Ladd was also great in this gun for hire and i can see why he became an overnight star. i do believe he would have lived a longer and happier life if Sue Carol gsve him the divorce he sought so he could be with allyson. She was good for him. It's a shame he never got a series as a private eye or a singing cowboy as a second career in later life. He would have been so good.

  • good actor

    • h952
    • 2010-05-09

    i watch shane almost every day and never tire of it. Ladd was also great in this gun for hire and i can see why he became an overnight star. i do believe he would have lived a longer and happier life if Sue Carol gsve him the divorce he sought so he could be with allyson. She was good for him. It's a shame he never got a series as a privae eye or a singing cowboy as a second career in later life. He would have been so good.

  • Alan Ladd

    • Trace
    • 2009-09-24

    A little guy with lots of charisma. Great presence on screen. I've enjoyed every movie he's been in.

  • Best actor

    • Netasha
    • 2009-04-27

    I think he performed really well in "the Blue Dhalia". Very soft spoken, but has a lot of strength behind his image.

  • teddy bear

    • Brando4ever
    • 2007-08-13

    He's as cute and adorable as a teddy bear just like William Holden. Great actor who will always be known for his wonderful trademark film "Shane".

  • Pure Magic

    • Bob Schuller
    • 2007-03-11

    Shane never ceases to amaze me. It is one of the few movies I can watch over and over again without growing tired of.It is one of the best directed movies ever. Along with it's great cast, it is a true classic.George Stevens pacing, editing, locations, are a stroke of pure artistry.Alan Ladds performance is one of the best by any actor,and sadly was overlooked for an Oscar. The best adapted book to film without a doubt.One of the greatest films ever made.

  • UNDER RATED.

    • al miller
    • 2007-02-23

    Alan Ladd was at the top of masculine beauty, had a magnetic personality on screen, and was not appreciated for being as good an actor as he was. His performance in "The Great Gatsby" was better than Redford's, in my opinion, as was the entire production. Not so overdone as the later one.

  • Alan Ladd films

    • Barry Melvin
    • 2007-02-01

    Would like to see more Alan Ladd films in the future. I know there are many old Paramount films which he made at this studio during the 40's and early 50's which are never shown e.g Saigon, Great Gatsby, Chicago Deadline, Captain Carey USA, Appointment with Danger, etc... I've been a great fan of his. I'm glad his SHANE is getting on TCM...Maybe more of his films like Iron Mistress, Hell on Frisco Bay, etc will get on tcm and get the recognition he deserves. I'm looking forward to Robert Osbourne, that excellent man of old, vintage films, to start looking into this kind of forgotten Alan Ladd actor and his movies.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.