skip navigation
Veronica Lake

Veronica Lake

  • Sullivan's Travels (1942, November 28 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Timeless Beauty

    • RJ
    • 2013-03-17

    Ms. Lake is one of my all-time favorite actresses.I wish TCM would show more of her movies, on a regular basis.Her talent was underrated,and her beauty was stunning and one of a kind.I wish there were more books written about her, and maybe someday a movie of her life story. It is heartbreaking that she never got the help and treatment she needed, to control her condition, and battle her demons.It is sad that many of her contemporaries disliked her.From what I have read about her, it probably came from her mental problems and basic insecurities.She drank as a coping device, which I'm sure didn't help.Underneath it all she was a good and decent person.There will never be anyone like her again.

  • Veronica Lake

    • Tracy Wright Fritch
    • 2012-10-28

    Veronica Lake was certainly her own person! I have read others' opinions and deemed her as problematic--the cause of her misfortune. However, I read some Doherty quotes and discovered that she had the ability to be somewhat self-actualized. Lake had the understanding of the Hollywood game, her talents and limitations, and the guts to own her role in life. As a therapist, I understand her complicated life battling mental illness, and thus self-medicating with alcohol. Society can be cruel and have a lust for tearing down a successful beautiful person. Lake seemed to understand that, too, which demonstrates a person able to rise above lofty challenges. Lake was a strong soul in a wee body. Her mind may have been muddled from time-to-time, but after all, she was a human being! All of us have struggles due to our imperfections. I am an avid fan of TCM as my mother and I spent most of our time watching old movies in Detroit. Tom Kennedy hosted old movies locally there and I learned facts from him as well. I spew odd unknowns when viewing films, which grates the nerves of my family, but they endur me, thank goodness! (Also, there is a type in Lake's bio.... The word written is "metal" versus "mental" regarding her illness.)

  • I Married a Witch

    • Ike Johnston
    • 2012-06-26

    Veronica Lake was a beautiful lady with a gifted acting ability.

  • a uniquely beautiful woman

    • jack
    • 2011-08-04

    beautiful hair, bedroom eyes, every expression and movement exuded sensuality, lovely little figure, the perfect voice to match it all. lots of beautiful actresses during the 1940s, but veronica had a look all her own, she is so special.

  • Happy 91st Birthday Veronica!

    • Todd Novy
    • 2010-11-14

    Veronica's 91st birthday today...wish TCM had enough films for a day long tribute...I will have to celebrate on 12/3 when they show Blue Dahia. Here is my favorites for a dream line up for a day long tribute: I Wanted Wings Sullivan's Travels This Gun For Hire The Glass Key I Married A Witch So Proudly We Hail The Blue Dahlia Saigon I hope Miss Lake knows there is still much love for her and films.

  • i married a witch

    • carol stanton
    • 2008-11-24

    one of my favorite movies as a kid....

  • A Beautiful Mixed Bag

    • Jorge
    • 2008-02-12

    Veronica was stunning and smoldering in 1942, especially opposite Alan Ladd in "This Gun For Hire" and "The Glass Key". She was weaker opposite Joel McRae in "Sullivan's Travels", but still quite good, and terrible opposite Frederick Marsh in "I Married A Witch". In her most serious role, as a suicide bomber nurse in "So Proudly They Hail", she was quite good. Veronica alienated most people she worked with, rather quickly. She had a great year in 1942 and then flamed out, mostly because of her nasty character and drink addiction. I think she had serious emotional problems, including a lack of depth, and so she tended to just reflect the person off whom she played. Ironically, although Alan Ladd was no heavyweight, her pairing his noir characters brought out the best in her. Even slightly bloated and already deep into the bottle by 1946, her "Blue Dahlia" opposite Ladd was the best thing -- indeed, the only good thing -- since the two films with him in 1942. She died penniless, alchoholic, of hepititis.

  • Veronica is great!

    • randy
    • 2008-01-07

    Veronica Lake photographed like a dream. She was very good in film noir. She had the most beautiful head of hair. A complex woman and one of my favorites; great glamour star.

  • "I MARRIED A WITCH" EXCELLANT MOVIE

    • carol
    • 2008-01-05

    I HAVE LOVED THIS MOVIE SINCE I WAS 8 YEARS OLD, I AM NOW 64. IT IS A GREAT MOVIE. LOVE IT.

  • Veronica was a wonderful actress!

    • Kim
    • 2007-04-09

    I love Veronica Lake! She was very beautiful and talented. I enjoyed all of her films, but my favorites are Sullivan's Travels, This Gun for Hire, So Proudly we Hail!, and The Blue Dahlia! I wish she did more films, but I still think she is a great actress and she is one of my favorites!

  • Veronica Lake is Awesome!

    • Tara
    • 2006-05-24

    Veronica Lake has to be my most favorite actress ever. People just saw her as the sexy Film Noir Siren, but she was REALLY good at comedy, with movies such as Sullivan's Travels and I Married A Witch. She is truly my idol. Veronica Lake you are Awesome!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.