skip navigation
Lionel Barrymore

Lionel Barrymore

  • Lady Be Good (1941, July 23 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Mata Hari (1931, July 25 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Navy Blue And Gold (1937, August 07 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Malaya (1949, August 07 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Secret Heart, The (1946, August 18 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • the movie I think the title was Death up the Tree

    • LEO A. AGUILERA
    • 2012-06-08

    I REMEMBER WATCHING A MOVIE WITH LIONEL BARRYMORE, HE WAS IN A WHEEL CHAIR AND DEATH(A MAN WHO WAS DEATH) WAS GOING TO TAKE HIM, HE SAID HE WAS WANTED A APPLE FROM HIM APPLE TREE AS HIS LAST WISH SO DEATH CLIMBED INTO THE TREE BUT ONCE HE WAS UP THE TREE HE TOLD HIM HE COULDN'T GET DOWN AND DEATH TRIED ALL COULD NOT GET DOWN. THEN HIS GRANDSON ASKED HIS GRANDPA ONCE HE SAW HIM WHO THAT MAN WAS IN THE TREE. THE BOY WAS ABOUT 9-10 YEARS OLD. HE CALLED HIM BY HIS NICKNAME. HE SAID YOU CAN SEE HIM TOO? WELL TIME WENT ON PEOPLE WEREN'T DYING BUT A LOT WERE IN INCREDILBLE PAIN. DEATH TOLD HIM HE CAN'T DO HIS JOB IF HE ISN'T ALLOWED TO GET DOWN. THEN HIS GRANDSON HAD A TERRIBLE ACCIDENT NO CURE, ONLY PAIN, DEATH SAID WITH THE ACCIDENT HE WAS IN IT SHOULD HAVE TAKEN HIM. HE WILL CONTINUALLY BE IN PAIN UNTIL YOU LET ME DOWN FROM THE TREE. GRANDPA PLEADED WITH HIM TO CURE HIM PAIN, DEATH SAID LET ME DOWN, FINALLY HE DID, HE DIED, HIS GRANDSON DIED AND BOTH THE GRANDFATHER AND GRANDSON ARE WALKING, GRANDSON ASKED WHERE WE GOING GRANDPA, HE SAYS WHERE THE WIND CHIMES, CHIME AND ...... PLEASE TELL ME THE NAME OF MOVIE OR IS THE ONE I GUESSED CORRECT

  • Scrooge

    • Steve Edwards
    • 2011-01-02

    There are several Vintage movies played today and available in CD, VHS that many people watch with Lionel Barrymore. However, the role he is most famous for to many people today is the Radio adaption of "A Christmas Carol". This is the best radio theater performance I have ever heard and I have a lot of these different performances which I listen to with my family as a Christmas tradition every year. The firt time I heard his live radio performance was about !951 as my sister and I listened to our family radio Christmas Eve. I was almost 5 years old at the time and I remember being a bit scared when the 3 ghosts visited Scrooge on Christmas Eve. Little did I know I would have this same radio threater production in 2010. I have listened to this same production year after year since I first taped it from the radio in the mid 70's. It is amazing how something like Charles Dickens story of an old miser continues to live on in our hearts and minds. Merry Christmas!!!!

  • On Borrowed Time

    • John Allison
    • 2011-01-01

    Greetings: Once again to my delight a Lionel Barrymore performance. Over 30 years ago, ( my first screening) in Captains Couragous Lionel was scene for scene in step or beyond my favorite actor's performance of Manuel by Spencer Tracy. This past year my father passed and everytime since when a Lionel Barrymore movie comes on TCM I watch almost has a child wondering how my Dad felt viewing the same picture 50 years afore. Lionel Barrymore had the craft down pat and in my opinion the best and most underrated actor of all time. Thank You TCM for permitting me the chance to re-live some of my beloved father's childood. Americam history truly remembered through the reel told better than through any of the many many history books. Sincerely, and Happy new Year 2011 John Lars Allison

  • The irascible Barrymore

    • dennis novick
    • 2009-03-10

    He usually played a lovable but crothety old man.In It's a Wonderful life he was far from lovable.Inearlier films he can be seen standing and walking upright.Later on rheumatism necessitated his being usually seen in a wheelchair.I particularly liked him in Key Largo when he gets up toassault Edward G.Robinson and falls down in a heap.All the Barrymores were good but I think he was by far the best actor of the three Barrymores.

  • One of the truely greatest actors ever.

    • Jackie
    • 2008-07-16

    I have always been a lover of classic Hollywood movies and this man is one of the main reasons why. He has moved me from laughter to tears in many of his performances and I eagerly await every time one of his movies comes on. I wish I could collect all of his movies but that is impossible since very few are on dvd, but I record them on my dvd whenever possible. He has a charm, a grace, a humility, passion and fierceness on screen that is lacking in most actors today. I'm sure he was never paid what he was truly worth for his work and I wish I could have a conversation with him today. I wasn't even born when he passed away but oh what I wouldn't give to have met him! There will never be another!!

  • What a voice!

    • Tom Body
    • 2008-05-15

    I have loved Lionel Barrymore ever since I was a kid. Like most people over the years, my first exposure to Lionel Barrymore was in the classic "Its A Wonderful Life." That scowl, that body posture, that glare, and oh that voice. He could use that voice as effectively as any master painter could use a brush and paints. How about the grandfather role in "You Can't Take It With You." No matter what role he is playing, Barrymore is always fun to watch. That doesn't necessarily mean that the movies themselves were always spectacular, but he always gave a great performance. What always fascinated me about Barrymore was how he was able to make his crutches, and later his wheelchair, into part of his character. I definitely feel that he was one of the more underrated character actors in Hollywood. So next time you come across a Lionel Barrymore movie, take the time to enjoy one of the greatest character actors in film.

  • BEST ACTOR EVER

    • christine
    • 2006-03-26

    Lionel Barrymore was one of,if not the greatest character actor born. Along with his brother John they can pull you right into their scene to the point that you forget where you are. They can take on the craziest characters to the more serious ones in a blink of the eye. At times, their eyes tell the story for you. I wish we had more actors like the Barrymore brothers.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.